Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2010, 08:17 PM   #52
1FAST SS
 
1FAST SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 607
I have the 1ss without the usb connection. I want to use my ipod, so how do I accomplish this? Do I need to purchase the PDIM? I saw steering wheel controls on a website and was wondering how difficult this addition would be? Any help would be appreciated.
1FAST SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 08:51 PM   #53
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickeyroar View Post
I have the 1ss without the usb connection. I want to use my ipod, so how do I accomplish this? Do I need to purchase the PDIM? I saw steering wheel controls on a website and was wondering how difficult this addition would be? Any help would be appreciated.
Yes, you need to purchase the PDIM.

You have two options, either install the PDIM yourself or have the dealer do it.

In both cases the dealer will need to "program" your radio to recognize the PDIM.

Here is the DIY thread for installing the PDIM http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77662

Here is the thread for installing the steering wheel controls (which also need to be programed by the dealer) http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73511
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 08:45 AM   #54
ITGuy11
Burning up tires
 
ITGuy11's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Macomb Twp, MI
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDCamaro10 View Post
I just got word back this morning that NEW PDIM parts are available, and stock available at Service Parts. No service bulletin number was sent, but here is the part number for the new PDIM:

PDIM(Multi-Media Interface Module): 20985421

I'll see if I can do some searching around, maybe there is a service bulletin listed somewhere for it.
Can we purchase the new PDIM hardware and swap with the old unit. Or does the radio/bcm need to be updated as well?
__________________
Blower, cam, supporting mods 644RWHP 615RWTQ
My Build Thread COTW 11/19/12
Detroit 5th Gen Camaro Club
ITGuy11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 05:13 PM   #55
SDCamaro10

 
SDCamaro10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT RJT
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITGuy11 View Post
Can we purchase the new PDIM hardware and swap with the old unit. Or does the radio/bcm need to be updated as well?
I think the new unit may will need to be programmed. If you have problems with the PDIM(radio screen freezes, steering wheel controls lock up, ipod disconnects etc) take it to the dealership and have them replace it under warranty.
__________________
SDCamaro10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:41 AM   #56
Cyber Gray
Wind Rider
 
Cyber Gray's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS/RS 14; Jeep 5.7 GC 15
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Muscat
Posts: 2,047
Hi guys,

We have a common problem here with Onstar in the Middle East. Its not working so we cant use the hands free phone controls at all.

Is there a way to make it work, I mean GM has charged us for something that doesnt work !!
__________________
Im not Gray any more !!
Cyber Gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 11:57 AM   #57
camaro_in_EPT
 
camaro_in_EPT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT Cyber Gray
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TBD
Posts: 25
Help with MyTouch4G

I just got a new phone. It's the mytouch4g from t-mobile. At first, when I plugged it in through the USB port on my car it got stuck at USB indexing. Now it won't even come up when I plug it in. Any suggestions?

Please help
__________________
PICKED UP........................................10/20/09!!!!!
That's the only status that matters now
camaro_in_EPT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 10:41 PM   #58
camarokrazy
 
camarokrazy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro RS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1
need ipod help

Can someone help me? When I plug in my ipod my radio does not recognise it.
camarokrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:20 PM   #59
SS11
 
SS11's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 95
I recently had the pdim module installed on my 1SS. I now have a AUX option as I toggle through the source options but I can't get anything to work through the USB port. Should I have a USB option after AUX or are they one in the same? The USB port charges my phone, and lights up various flash drives and iPods I've plugged in but nothing different appears on the radio. Just Aux Input on the screen. Could the dealer have programmed it incorrectly?
SS11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:24 PM   #60
justonemic
@jbadd
 
justonemic's Avatar
 
Drives: Red 2016 Corvette Stingray 2LZ
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: new orleans
Posts: 40
damnnnn.tight
__________________
justonemic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 07:42 AM   #61
SWRocket
Z28TUNDR
 
SWRocket's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Z/28 White/AC #318
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vaughan, ON
Posts: 367
DOes anyone know if it possible to call handsfree to a contact on the phone? I can say "dial" and then the number, but I would like to say "home" and have it dial the number associated with that name in the phones (iPhone) address book.
SWRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:47 PM   #62
Briand069
 
Drives: 1997/1969 Camaro's
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vacaville, Ca
Posts: 98
Something I just discovered that would be useful in the FAQ's at the begining of this thread is that my USB stick wouldn't work formatted with NTFS. I reformatted to Fat32 and it worked. Hope this helps someone else.

Brian
__________________
1969 Camaro LT1 4L60E
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS 6spd
Briand069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:57 PM   #63
Slick1
New Guy
 
Slick1's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2011 1SS.
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: DE
Posts: 519
I have to take my car back to get the USB installed but I have a question that the dealer couldn't answer for me. Is the PDIM just the module or is the USB part of the PDIM?

I really want the USB which I thought I was ordering when I told them to get me the PDIM but then I read a post on here last night that said the PDIM was just the module that allowed the steering wheel controls. If the USB is included then I'm in good shape but if the USB is something I'd need in addition I need to make a call . Thanks for any info
Slick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 12:17 AM   #64
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slick1 View Post
I have to take my car back to get the USB installed but I have a question that the dealer couldn't answer for me. Is the PDIM just the module or is the USB part of the PDIM?

I really want the USB which I thought I was ordering when I told them to get me the PDIM but then I read a post on here last night that said the PDIM was just the module that allowed the steering wheel controls. If the USB is included then I'm in good shape but if the USB is something I'd need in addition I need to make a call . Thanks for any info
The PDIM is a module that has a USB port and a Bluetooth radio for streaming audio. It is separate from the steering wheel controls.

Provided the dealer ordered the correct PDIM accessory kit, it will have all the parts needed to add the USB port in the center armrest console.
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 12:39 AM   #65
Slick1
New Guy
 
Slick1's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2011 1SS.
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: DE
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by slick rick View Post
The PDIM is a module that has a USB port and a Bluetooth radio for streaming audio. It is separate from the steering wheel controls.

Provided the dealer ordered the correct PDIM accessory kit, it will have all the parts needed to add the USB port in the center armrest console.
Awesome. That's exactly what I wanted. I really tried to do my homework and was 100% on that until I read about the steering wheel control BS on here yesterday. That and the fact that the dealer didn't even know what the PDIM was because he had never been asked for it on it's own (minus the connectivity package as a whole) made me nervous. Looks like I have a call to make tomorrow.

Thanks man
Slick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 09:12 PM   #66
Gone to the bowtie side
Former Ford man
 
Gone to the bowtie side's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro ABM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ATL
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciandrew View Post
DOes anyone know if it possible to call handsfree to a contact on the phone? I can say "dial" and then the number, but I would like to say "home" and have it dial the number associated with that name in the phones (iPhone) address book.
Press the phone button on the steering wheel, then say "bluetooth" then "voice" then after it says "accessing [phone name]" say "dial [contact name]". With mine you sometimes have to say "dial [contact name]" twice.
__________________
1100 - 8 Jun 09
reordered with new dealer - 31 Aug 09
2000 - 08 Sep 09
3300 - TPW 28 Sep 09
3400 - 28 Sep 09
3800 - VIN 2G1FT1EW9A9153318
5000 - 21 Oct 09
6000 - 22 Oct 09
Gone to the bowtie side is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 01:13 PM   #67
terry_b

 
terry_b's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS/RS 1LE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 870
Send a message via MSN to terry_b
Anybody know what the deal is with the PDIM lately? My zune worked fine, but after pulling it out to add/update music it continues to index - I left the car on acc for the afternoon and it never finished indexing... I have the 120G newer Zune. Is this what happens when there are too many songs?

Is the 2500 limit on actual songs, or folders i.e. artists/albums?
terry_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 02:18 PM   #68
backflash969
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LT/RS
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 124
So quick question. I ordered a 2012 camaro and the dealer said that its not boston acoustics anymore, they are bose speakers for the premium upgrade. can anyone confirm that?
backflash969 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestion: FAQ stick or thread [KRPT]ECP Site Related Announcements / Suggestions / Feedback / Questions 5 03-27-2009 01:23 AM
GM Supplier Pricing for Recent College Grads The_Stache Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 6 05-12-2008 09:43 AM
Camaro FAQ? AConn 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 19 09-22-2007 11:45 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.