Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JDP Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2011, 03:37 PM   #18
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Maybe I should start smoking again and use a cigarrete?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 03:39 PM   #19
hypurone
I'm not totally useless..
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC LPO Rallies
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cali - NorthBay
Posts: 2,010
Send a message via AIM to hypurone Send a message via MSN to hypurone Send a message via Yahoo to hypurone
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
But the vacuum comes from that end. Wouldn't I need to do that from the other end? And how could I do it. I'd have to get behind the firewall right?
No, the vacuum is generated at the intake manifold/maggie and fed to the booster via the line. You want to crimp it shut at the manifold end to eliminate the booster, line and check valve. If that identifies the prob, then you can work your way down the line to see what component is the prob. Capiche?
__________________
"You were really flyin' when I passed you back there!" - Born on 10/05/09 MyCamaroBuildInfo
hypurone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 03:40 PM   #20
anthonyj9h
"First There"
 
anthonyj9h's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ss
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in a hole somewhere
Posts: 6,910
what he said sorry got a lil busy
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jewel25 View Post
No one wants to be like aytard. He is a douche for eggs.



it is written......
anthonyj9h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 03:42 PM   #21
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypurone View Post
No, the vacuum is generated at the intake manifold/maggie and fed to the booster via the line. You want to crimp it shut at the manifold end to eliminate the booster, line and check valve. If that identifies the prob, then you can work your way down the line to see what component is the prob. Capiche?
So, if there is no change when I do that. Then it's NOT the check valve at the brake booster?

I took the hose OFF of the valve at the brake booster and plugged the hose with my finger. It was still missing. So I guess that's the same thing.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 03:46 PM   #22
hypurone
I'm not totally useless..
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC LPO Rallies
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cali - NorthBay
Posts: 2,010
Send a message via AIM to hypurone Send a message via MSN to hypurone Send a message via Yahoo to hypurone
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
So, if there is no change when I do that. Then it's NOT the check valve at the brake booster?

I took the hose OFF of the valve at the brake booster and plugged the hose with my finger. It was still missing. So I guess that's the same thing.
Sort of, you were downstream of the check valve so technically it could still be the problem... Crimp it upstream of the valve or remove the valve and plug the line to be sure.
__________________
"You were really flyin' when I passed you back there!" - Born on 10/05/09 MyCamaroBuildInfo
hypurone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 03:52 PM   #23
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypurone View Post
Sort of, you were downstream of the check valve so technically it could still be the problem... Crimp it upstream of the valve or remove the valve and plug the line to be sure.
The L99 doesn't have the canister. Only the fitting that plugs straight into the firewall. I suppose I could pull it out and plugg it from there, with my finger. That would work, but since I still have the problem plugging the hose at the blower, I guess I'm ok?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 04:58 PM   #24
hypurone
I'm not totally useless..
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC LPO Rallies
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cali - NorthBay
Posts: 2,010
Send a message via AIM to hypurone Send a message via MSN to hypurone Send a message via Yahoo to hypurone
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
The L99 doesn't have the canister. Only the fitting that plugs straight into the firewall. I suppose I could pull it out and plugg it from there, with my finger. That would work, but since I still have the problem plugging the hose at the blower, I guess I'm ok?
Yeah, sorry. I misread your post. If you disconnected the hose on the intake side of the check valve you should be good at that area then...
__________________
"You were really flyin' when I passed you back there!" - Born on 10/05/09 MyCamaroBuildInfo
hypurone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 05:38 PM   #25
Speedy1975
FASTER!
 
Speedy1975's Avatar
 
Drives: Dodge Challenger, 370Z
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 1,442
Are you seeing any CEL codes? Typically with any VAC leak you'll get a CEL especially if it's bad enough to cause the engine to idle erratically.

Is it just a bad idle (erratic) or are you sure it's a true miss of the engine?

Did you post up video?
__________________
-Speedy
2009 Challenger R/T
- Arrington Forged 6.0L and Magnacharger Supercharger - 600RWHP 600RWTQ


Speedy1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 06:20 PM   #26
Ltdodge

 
Ltdodge's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Z06
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oviedo, Florida
Posts: 891
man this sucks Randy.....hope you figure it out

i think your new nickname is Schleprock from the flintstones... remember him?
Attached Images
 
__________________
Ltdodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 06:21 PM   #27
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy1975 View Post
Are you seeing any CEL codes? Typically with any VAC leak you'll get a CEL especially if it's bad enough to cause the engine to idle erratically.

Is it just a bad idle (erratic) or are you sure it's a true miss of the engine?

Did you post up video?
I did post a video. Let me go get it and post it here.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ltdodge View Post
man this sucks Randy.....hope you figure it out

i think your new nickname is Schleprock from the flintstones... remember him?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 06:25 PM   #28
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 06:29 PM   #29
Devryn17
Suffers Fools Poorly
 
Devryn17's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS, CGM w/ Silver Stripes.
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Coolidge, AZ
Posts: 1,114
If you have an air leak, you should be able to hear it.

Stupid simple question: Have you checked for a fouled plug, or have you made sure you have the right gap/hot for your car with your supercharger?
__________________
2010 2SS/RS, CGM w/ silver stripes. Hurst Shifter, long tube headers, full exhaust, CAI, tune. SAE 407 RWHP/402 RWTQ

Momma didn't bronze my shoes, but when I turned 16 I inherited a lead foot.
Devryn17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 06:31 PM   #30
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy1975 View Post
Are you seeing any CEL codes? Typically with any VAC leak you'll get a CEL especially if it's bad enough to cause the engine to idle erratically.

Is it just a bad idle (erratic) or are you sure it's a true miss of the engine?

Did you post up video?
Oh, ya. I had gotten the random misfire code. P0300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devryn17 View Post
If you have an air leak, you should be able to hear it.

Stupid simple question: Have you checked for a fouled plug, or have you made sure you have the right gap/hot for your car with your supercharger?
Have changed all the plugs.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 06:33 PM   #31
Devryn17
Suffers Fools Poorly
 
Devryn17's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS, CGM w/ Silver Stripes.
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Coolidge, AZ
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Oh, ya. I had gotten the random misfire code. P0300

Have changed all the plugs.
You're certain they're the right plugs and that they're gapped right? You didn't drop one or bang one and mess up the gap? I've done this, and had a very similar problem.
__________________
2010 2SS/RS, CGM w/ silver stripes. Hurst Shifter, long tube headers, full exhaust, CAI, tune. SAE 407 RWHP/402 RWTQ

Momma didn't bronze my shoes, but when I turned 16 I inherited a lead foot.
Devryn17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 06:35 PM   #32
Whipped416

 
Whipped416's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO SS
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,517
i will tell u bro go get a smoke machine and do that u will find the leak if u have one... only way to go !!.. GOOD LUCK
Whipped416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 06:37 PM   #33
Ject
aka Patrick
 
Ject's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Camaro 2SS '04 Silverado
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Derby Kansas
Posts: 3,072
Send a message via Yahoo to Ject
Have the wife take a look and see if she can find anything?

You said Post it and you'd try it!
__________________
Current Modifications: Your average Bolt-ons & Suspension Upgrades
GForce Engineering: 9" Rear End, Strange Pro Iron Case w/Moser Nodular 3.70:1 Detroit locker, 3.5" Solid Drive Shaft
Ject is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 06:43 PM   #34
PoleCat2SSRS2010
R6P Marketing Lab Rat
 
PoleCat2SSRS2010's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SSRS for weekends mostly
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 328
Did this all start after installing the bloser?

Fuel quality? did you try bumping up the octane?

Misfires are sometimes the basics. check all the plugs plug wires and coils for proper condition, a cyinder leakdown test and compression test, bad valves and/or seats can cause the same misfire/surge effect.

Is this at low rpms or all rpms or mid to high rpms? High cyclinder pressure due to boost can require a hotter spark than the OEM can provide. High compression/pressure engines need hotter spark to keep the fire going on the plugs.

Just throwing out ideas but stay with the basics before eliminating the deeper harder to solve areas.
PoleCat2SSRS2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roto-Fab | Engine Covers - S/C | Fuse Relay Cover | Radiator Cover | Billet Oil Cap+ AutoAgenda Exterior Parts & Accessories 14 02-06-2013 09:43 PM
What do all the abbreviations mean? CrzyGamr2 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 77 12-07-2012 05:34 AM
g5cr cai system anybody install or looking at one "pics" camarossrs2150 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 41 07-14-2011 09:26 PM
Cold Air Intakes 2010 Camaro Blowout! K&N | AIRAID | SLP | Best Price Guaranteed! PM AutoAgenda V8 Bolt-Ons & Tunes 47 01-12-2011 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.