Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2009, 02:32 PM   #1
1_2Many

 
1_2Many's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Suzuki SX4
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 785
Boston Subs that will DESTROY

I'm going with 2 of these in the trunk of my Camaro

http://mobile.bostonacoustics.com/ca...product_id=374

They are 12" subs with tuned passive radiators...each one puts out the power and db of a 15" sub. Two of these babies is going to be just ridiculous. I'll have 400 watts RMS per sub going to them for now and if that's not enough I'll upgrade.

I figure these are perfect for the Camaro considering the small trunk opening. I'll put one in at a time and position them in the best sounding spot.
__________________
We are the early orderers...we are GM's voluntary guinea pigs and their free source of feedback. How will we be thanked?
1_2Many is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 02:49 PM   #2
Embalmer
2G1FT1EWXA9103351
 
Embalmer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS RS, SIM, 6pd, 20"Alum
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canton, Michigan
Posts: 607
400 watts? Which amplifier?

You going to hook it up straight to the battery in the trunk or get a 2nd battery?
Embalmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 05:20 PM   #3
trudawg660

 
Drives: 2006 Dodge Charger / 2SS IOM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,642
I bought this one already i think i need only one though its the most powerful sub Boston acoustics are selling. 1000 watt rms at 2ohms

http://mobile.bostonacoustics.com/ca...product_id=373
trudawg660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 05:43 PM   #4
1_2Many

 
1_2Many's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Suzuki SX4
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 785
Yeah I looked at the SPG, but honestly in my experience those monster type subs require too much power to sound good. The D5 is much more efficient and besides I'll be sticking with the stock sound system inside the car so I don't want to overpower it too much anyhow.

And the amp I'm going to use is an Akai ACA-2104 http://www.akai.com/product_detail.a...id2=24&id3=161 This is a low price amp that puts out a good 800 watts RMS at 4 ohms in bridged 2 channel mode. I've seen reviews that put it on par with 1200 watt RMS Audiobahn amps. But still I'm not positive it will be enough for the D5's so if it doesn't hit hard or clean I'm going to man up and get a proper Earthquake amp.

I haven't decided if I'm going to go with a 2 fared capacitor or run a 2nd battery. I really hate adding a ton of weight so I'm leaning towards the cap....either that or get a lightweight battery for my primary and use the stock battery as the amp power. In fact I'm so concerned about adding weight I'm considering making my own custom enclosures from fiberglass instead of the mdf Boston boxes.
__________________
We are the early orderers...we are GM's voluntary guinea pigs and their free source of feedback. How will we be thanked?
1_2Many is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 06:35 PM   #5
trudawg660

 
Drives: 2006 Dodge Charger / 2SS IOM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,642
i have already matched it with an amp, its a little on the pricy side am not buying it from here though i know their items are way over priced

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_500PDX1...owAll=Y&tp=115

And i know its alot of extra weight but i doubt i will be racing too much......unless i see a mustang
trudawg660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 07:13 PM   #6
1_2Many

 
1_2Many's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Suzuki SX4
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 785
Nice amp...that'll do the trick. I used to rock this Earthquake D2 http://ampguts.realmofexcursion.com/Earthquake_PH-D2/ until I had a flat tire and let the speaker wires touch the trunk lid of my Lexus. POOF it went.
__________________
We are the early orderers...we are GM's voluntary guinea pigs and their free source of feedback. How will we be thanked?
1_2Many is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 11:52 PM   #7
trudawg660

 
Drives: 2006 Dodge Charger / 2SS IOM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,642
you have to be careful when buying a amp because they will advertise that you are getting 1000 watts and you are really getting 400 rms at 2 ohm and 150 rms at 4 ohm and you drive up to someone thinking you have the best shit in the world, and come to find out my tweeters are louder than your subwoofers.
trudawg660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 07:14 AM   #8
WildBeast15
 
Drives: 2002 mercury mountaineer
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Endicott
Posts: 41
look at ohm ratings when buying a amp if its 1000 at 1 ohm what is it at 2 or 4... it will decrease but will sound better in the long run...
__________________
WildBeast15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 08:49 AM   #9
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by trudawg660 View Post
i have already matched it with an amp, its a little on the pricy side am not buying it from here though i know their items are way over priced

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_500PDX1...owAll=Y&tp=115

And i know its alot of extra weight but i doubt i will be racing too much......unless i see a mustang
That's a really good amp. The nice thing about these, is if you plan on having two or three amps, you can stack these units on top of each other and save a LOT of space.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1_2Many View Post
Nice amp...that'll do the trick. I used to rock this Earthquake D2 http://ampguts.realmofexcursion.com/Earthquake_PH-D2/ until I had a flat tire and let the speaker wires touch the trunk lid of my Lexus. POOF it went.
That will definately do the trick. You sure you didn't just pop the fuse on the amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by trudawg660 View Post
you have to be careful when buying a amp because they will advertise that you are getting 1000 watts and you are really getting 400 rms at 2 ohm and 150 rms at 4 ohm and you drive up to someone thinking you have the best shit in the world, and come to find out my tweeters are louder than your subwoofers.
These days, when purchasing an amplifier just look for the tag that says "CEA-2006 Compliant." This tag indicates that the company adheres to this "voluntary" standard that advocates a uniform method for determining an amplifier's RMS power and signal-to-noise ratio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildBeast15 View Post
look at ohm ratings when buying a amp if its 1000 at 1 ohm what is it at 2 or 4... it will decrease but will sound better in the long run...
A lot of amps are that way. Most will be rated for 1000 watts x 1 at 2-ohms but go down to 500 watts x1 at 4-ohms. That Alpine somehow is rated for 1000 watts x1 at both 2 and 4 ohms, which is handy.
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 09:25 AM   #10
josh1147
Delivered 29June09
 
josh1147's Avatar
 
Drives: Early Order Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 411
You're on the right track here!!

I'm running 2 of the SPG-555 in my 07 Avalanche. Each one has a dedicated PDX-1000 and the rest of the components(BA Pros) running on a PDX-4.150. The subs hit hard and everything is sonically correct. The amps get very hot, which is a concern, and they suck a LOT of power. I'm running 2 yellow tops with an isolator and I still have problems with lights dimming.
__________________
2SS/RS, VR, Blk hockeys, Blk leather, MN6, sunroof, GFX

Delivered: 29 June 09 !!!

Current:
'57 BelAir 2Dr Post
'07 Avalanche LTZ (daily driver)
'10 Traverse (wife's demo)
'99 Harley FLHTC
josh1147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 10:41 AM   #11
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by josh1147 View Post
You're on the right track here!!

I'm running 2 of the SPG-555 in my 07 Avalanche. Each one has a dedicated PDX-1000 and the rest of the components(BA Pros) running on a PDX-4.150. The subs hit hard and everything is sonically correct. The amps get very hot, which is a concern, and they suck a LOT of power. I'm running 2 yellow tops with an isolator and I still have problems with lights dimming.
Have you tried a capacitor? And where do you have the amps located?
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 10:54 AM   #12
trudawg660

 
Drives: 2006 Dodge Charger / 2SS IOM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by josh1147 View Post
You're on the right track here!!

I'm running 2 of the SPG-555 in my 07 Avalanche. Each one has a dedicated PDX-1000 and the rest of the components(BA Pros) running on a PDX-4.150. The subs hit hard and everything is sonically correct. The amps get very hot, which is a concern, and they suck a LOT of power. I'm running 2 yellow tops with an isolator and I still have problems with lights dimming.
sounds like you need a capacitor

a .5 Farad capacitor for systems up to 500 watts
a 1 Farad capacitor for systems up to 1,000 watts
a 2 Farad capacitor for systems up to 2,000 watts
trudawg660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 07:35 PM   #13
1_2Many

 
1_2Many's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Suzuki SX4
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 785
Yeah the yellow tops will only provide reserve power and rundown protection...they probably can't discharge as fast as a capacitor to prevent dimming.


I was thinking of maybe building a custom enclosure in the spare tire well. I saw some photos of that opening today and it's very large and deep and since I'm getting an SS it won't have a spare anyways....also the battery is right there so talk about easy hook up.

Would there be a downside to connecting the amp ground directly to the negative post of the battery?
__________________
We are the early orderers...we are GM's voluntary guinea pigs and their free source of feedback. How will we be thanked?
1_2Many is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 10:10 PM   #14
trudawg660

 
Drives: 2006 Dodge Charger / 2SS IOM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,642
how do you plan on connecting the amp ground to the battery post, seem like the mat wouldn't sit flush might be wrong though.
trudawg660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 11:27 PM   #15
WildBeast15
 
Drives: 2002 mercury mountaineer
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Endicott
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroSkooter View Post
Have you tried a capacitor? And where do you have the amps located?
A cap is completely garbage and a waste of time... better off buying a second battery and doing the big3.


AND NEVER EVER EVER connect the amps neg to the batt's neg all the way upfront.. thats asking for a fire... run a 150amp fuse from the power wire off the batt to the amp about 18 inchs from the batt. then ground off the amp as soon as possible to the body of the car.. sand down to bare metal..
http://www.kinetikaudio.com/default.asp
batts they will save you in the long run... caps are just a bandaid to the rest of your system..
__________________
WildBeast15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 11:38 PM   #16
My new Camaro
 
Drives: 2500 hd
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: AR
Posts: 297
best way to hook up a big system is to take it to pro
My new Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 11:42 PM   #17
WildBeast15
 
Drives: 2002 mercury mountaineer
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Endicott
Posts: 41
Or just really do your research as some shops do not do great work...
this is from a shop in IL


Big Steve strippn shit





Amps are held on the headliner by zip ties......lol

speakers punched thru


This pic really is not funny.... but what you don't realize is that the door has been made out of construction styrofoam and was even carved to make the speakers look like they are fiberglassed in. wow
__________________
WildBeast15 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are the Boston Acoustics & base head unit the same? hdhomer Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 34 01-19-2012 01:54 AM
BOSTON ACOUSTICS!!!!!! TAG UR IT Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 126 03-12-2010 02:04 AM
Press release: 2010 Camaro Audio by Visteon and Boston Acoustics Mike C Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 49 07-07-2009 03:11 PM
Subs XAnimal Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 25 02-27-2009 12:44 PM
Pics from the Boston Auto Show mmelson Camaro Photos | Spyshots | Video | Media Gallery 10 12-07-2008 03:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.