Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Nickey Chicago
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2009, 05:40 PM   #1
Dentyneice
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2ss
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new Jersey
Posts: 252
Remote Start on Manual Transmission

Hey all. I put in an order of a 2SS manual and really want to put in a remote start / alarm system in it. I'm wondering since the camaro comes with Passkey III theft deterrent system, will I be able to install a remote start? I was aiming for the viper 5901 system since it actually says it can be installed in a manual plus it has nice accessories like remote window control. I wasn't sure I could get this since it sounds impossible to start the car w/o your own passkey III key in the ignition for the manuals.

__________________
Ordered: 2SS/RS, Manual, CGM, Sunroof

Future additions:

Tint
Viper 5901 Remote Start / Alarm
CAI
Exhaust
LT Headers
Cam Upgrade
Centrifugal Procharger (after car is paid off)

Last edited by Dentyneice; 04-25-2009 at 06:07 PM. Reason: added new sig
Dentyneice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 06:23 PM   #2
camaro5


 
camaro5's Avatar
 
Drives: Off Into The Sunset
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 4,430
Aftermarket installers can do it.

You get a spare uncut key with the chip programmed to your car.

They install it in a bypass box in the IP, that is connected to the remote start system.

They also - for legal reasons - demand installing a shifter sensor that inures the vehicle is in neutral.

More than $1000 installed, from what I found.
camaro5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 06:44 PM   #3
theholycow


 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Drives: '02 GMC Sierra, '80 Lesabre
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: RI
Posts: 2,699
Wouldn't a CAGS-equipped car already have a shifter position sensor? If it didn't, it couldn't lock you out of gears without taking the chance that it's locking you in to that gear.
__________________
Removing weight has surprisingly little effect on fuel economy
Engine break-in procedure | Gear ratios
2002 GMC Sierra 4x4 5.3 (190,000 miles and going strong)
1980 Buick Lesabre family heirloom with 36,000 miles
2008 Volkswagen Rabbit 2 door I5-2.5 5spd DD lease
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroSpike23 View Post
she really underestimates the damage i would do to her reproductive organs
http://allOffTopic.com is the place for all the naughty stuff you can't get away with on this forum...
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 09:22 PM   #4
camaro5


 
camaro5's Avatar
 
Drives: Off Into The Sunset
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 4,430
CAGS only looks at TPS, RPM, coolant temp, maybe a few other parameters, and then energizes the blocking solenoid to block 2nd and 3rd gears.

I'm not sure if the PCM knows what gear it's in, but even if it did, tapping into that data would be difficult or impossible.

An installer explained to me that they physically install a laser sensor in the shifter area to confirm neutral. That's why it's so expensive...

I've debated spending the money many times.


Of course, if we install it ourselves, we just leave mr. sensor out. But, that could turn into a nightmare...idk
camaro5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 10:36 PM   #5
edog


 
edog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS IOM
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: F'BURG VA
Posts: 3,544
Send a message via MSN to edog
I had one installed in a Maximia years ago. It did not have passIII. I thought it was funny when it would start in gear and lung forward.
__________________
LS3 Conversion 113/225/238 COMP CAM, 3200 Stall, Doug Thorley Tri-Y LT/HF cat, Xpipe, Ported TB, 160 therm, Tranny cooler, Halltech CAI, Pedders sways, endlinks, 1" Eibach Drop Springs, 3.45 rear gears. Tuned by John @Broadview Auto Service. 435HP/420TQ
edog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 11:05 PM   #6
New2010CamaroLover
 
New2010CamaroLover's Avatar
 
Drives: 2003 Honda Civic
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cali
Posts: 265
I'd be really interested in this, i don't wanna pay 1000 bucks though. I was wondering if you could either buy, or ask for the normal switchblade key for the camaro with the auto start button on it, and when you went aftermarket to get the auto start installed on your manual just have them use the same key...

Prolly not, but it'd be nice..
__________________
"The Golden Age of muscle cars was not 30 years ago, it's now, long live the Camaro!"
2SS/RS Black/Black LS3 Not so patiently waiting
New2010CamaroLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 07:33 AM   #7
theholycow


 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Drives: '02 GMC Sierra, '80 Lesabre
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: RI
Posts: 2,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro5 View Post
CAGS only looks at TPS, RPM, coolant temp, maybe a few other parameters, and then energizes the blocking solenoid to block 2nd and 3rd gears.
That was my first thought, and it's possible as long as someone who changes their gear ratios (say, putting in a shorter rear end) disables CAGS (which they surely would)...else they could get stuck in 2nd gear.

I wonder if CAGS also watches the clutch sensor, and you could avoid it by clutchlessly shifting or fooling the clutch sensor.

Quote:
I'm not sure if the PCM knows what gear it's in, but even if it did, tapping into that data would be difficult or impossible.
It would have to, or else you could get stuck in 2nd. What if you do a 2nd gear launch and CAGS engages the solenoid to prevent you from shifting into 2nd...

My thought was that if there was a shifter position sensor, you wouldn't tap into the computer's data; you would just tap the sensor itself. Don't forget, every sensor has to get its analog signal to the computer before it becomes digital data.

Quote:
Of course, if we install it ourselves, we just leave mr. sensor out. But, that could turn into a nightmare...idk
I suspect that an insurance claim would be denied if your negligent installation allowed the remote starter to move the car and damage something (or, God forbid, hurt someone). There is another way, though. I've heard of remote starters that won't start the car unless, when you exited the car, you left it running and remotely shut it off.
__________________
Removing weight has surprisingly little effect on fuel economy
Engine break-in procedure | Gear ratios
2002 GMC Sierra 4x4 5.3 (190,000 miles and going strong)
1980 Buick Lesabre family heirloom with 36,000 miles
2008 Volkswagen Rabbit 2 door I5-2.5 5spd DD lease
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroSpike23 View Post
she really underestimates the damage i would do to her reproductive organs
http://allOffTopic.com is the place for all the naughty stuff you can't get away with on this forum...
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 08:36 AM   #8
LosXC451

 
LosXC451's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS SIM w/ RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,222
It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it
LosXC451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 08:51 AM   #9
theholycow


 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Drives: '02 GMC Sierra, '80 Lesabre
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: RI
Posts: 2,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by LosXC451 View Post
It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it
Step 1: Park car in neutral
Step 2: Hook up remote start unit to clutch switch to bypass clutch switch
Step 3: Enjoy

It's far easier than bypassing anti-theft stuff.
__________________
Removing weight has surprisingly little effect on fuel economy
Engine break-in procedure | Gear ratios
2002 GMC Sierra 4x4 5.3 (190,000 miles and going strong)
1980 Buick Lesabre family heirloom with 36,000 miles
2008 Volkswagen Rabbit 2 door I5-2.5 5spd DD lease
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroSpike23 View Post
she really underestimates the damage i would do to her reproductive organs
http://allOffTopic.com is the place for all the naughty stuff you can't get away with on this forum...
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:50 AM   #10
LS/V6
 
LS/V6's Avatar
 
Drives: 1LT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Richmond-Texas
Posts: 138
As far as i know viper alarms comes with a bypass for the clutch. i could be wrong tho i usually am. My car now is a 5-speed and has remote start.
__________________
LS/V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 03:16 AM   #11
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,832
I've seen a car "remotely start" and drive through the front of a store in Virginia Beach. Most states make it "illegal" to install remote start systems in manual cars for this reason. It's a nice feature to have, but I wouldn't take that chance with my new $40k toy that I've been waiting on for over 2 years.
__________________
Powered by Cunningham MotorSports
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 03:49 PM   #12
Dentyneice
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2ss
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new Jersey
Posts: 252
There are remote starters already out that will not work unless you follow specific instructions. I think the basic idea is leave the engine running, have the clutch in neutral and push a button on the remote start for at least 3 seconds. This lets the remote start detect that the clutch is in Neutral and then the car will shut off itself.
__________________
2010 CGM/Black 2SS M6
20% Tint -:- Hurst 44% Short Throw Shifter -:- Viper 5901 Alarm/Remote start -:- High Gloss Black Painted Calipers + White Brembo Decal

Last edited by Dentyneice; 04-27-2009 at 09:07 PM.
Dentyneice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 06:47 AM   #13
edog


 
edog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS IOM
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: F'BURG VA
Posts: 3,544
Send a message via MSN to edog
Quote:
Originally Posted by LosXC451 View Post
It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it
It is NOT impossible. I had a viper alarm.

I had it done through Best Buy install group when I worked there. You should leave it in neutral, but if not the car will start and it will start lunging forward.

Back in the 90's you were not required to push the clutch in to turn the engine over. It has been that long since I owned a manual. Not sure what it is like now.
__________________
LS3 Conversion 113/225/238 COMP CAM, 3200 Stall, Doug Thorley Tri-Y LT/HF cat, Xpipe, Ported TB, 160 therm, Tranny cooler, Halltech CAI, Pedders sways, endlinks, 1" Eibach Drop Springs, 3.45 rear gears. Tuned by John @Broadview Auto Service. 435HP/420TQ
edog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 09:02 AM   #14
Nexus6
More human than human
 
Nexus6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The mouth of hell
Posts: 1,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by LosXC451 View Post
It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it
with that kind of logic,shouldn't you need a robot to turn the key as well ?
__________________

1100 - 10/22/2008
3000 - 05/27/2009
3300 - 06/06/2009
3800 - 06/29/2009
4B00 - 06/29/2009

Warehouse 13 survivor

Blood stains,speed kills,fast cars,cheap thrills,rich women,fine wine,i lost my sense i lost control i lost my
mind.
Nexus6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 09:10 AM   #15
Nexus6
More human than human
 
Nexus6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The mouth of hell
Posts: 1,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by edog View Post
It is NOT impossible. I had a viper alarm.

I had it done through Best Buy install group when I worked there. You should leave it in neutral, but if not the car will start and it will start lunging forward.

Back in the 90's you were not required to push the clutch in to turn the engine over. It has been that long since I owned a manual. Not sure what it is like now.
uumm , my grandmother's 87 thunderbird turbo required the clutch be pushed in to start,what car in the 90's did not require that ? .

There are aftermarket alarms that work with manual transmissions.When you get to your destination,you have to get out of the car while it is still running.After everyone is out and all the doors are closed,you shut the car down with the remote (no robot required).If any doors are opened before the car is started with the remote,it will not start.you have to go through the shutdown sequence again to be able to start it with the remote.
__________________

1100 - 10/22/2008
3000 - 05/27/2009
3300 - 06/06/2009
3800 - 06/29/2009
4B00 - 06/29/2009

Warehouse 13 survivor

Blood stains,speed kills,fast cars,cheap thrills,rich women,fine wine,i lost my sense i lost control i lost my
mind.
Nexus6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 12:55 PM   #16
Edrock

 
Edrock's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Camaro 2SS LS3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jamestown, NC
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus6 View Post
uumm , my grandmother's 87 thunderbird turbo required the clutch be pushed in to start,what car in the 90's did not require that ? .
My 1991 Mustang requires the clutch to be pressed to the floor before it will even attempt to start.
__________________
DT Shorties, Solo hi-flow Cats, X-pipe, resonator delete, Flowmaster Super-44s, VMAX TB, Stronger MAF, C.A.I. Intake with race scoop, and JRE Tune!
WOT is my happy place!!
Edrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 08:48 PM   #17
Lieutenant
 
Drives: pagani zonda
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 22
Do you have to put the key in the ignition for the 2SS to start? (if you're already in it)
Lieutenant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 06:53 AM   #18
Gentry78
HOOK'EM
 
Gentry78's Avatar
 
Drives: 97 c1500/92 olds
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lieutenant View Post
Do you have to put the key in the ignition for the 2SS to start? (if you're already in it)
do you mean does it start by the remote if your in the car? if so yes
or do you mean is it like the challenger and you just keep the key i you pocket and push button start it? then no

but remember it doesn't matter how the car is started you still have to have the key in to unlock the steering wheel (or the gear select in a auto), also if you remote start it you should have a brake pedal sensor that will shut off the engine when you press the brake
Gentry78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 08:20 PM   #19
Nexus6
More human than human
 
Nexus6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The mouth of hell
Posts: 1,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lieutenant View Post
Do you have to put the key in the ignition for the 2SS to start? (if you're already in it)
you can have the robot do it
__________________

1100 - 10/22/2008
3000 - 05/27/2009
3300 - 06/06/2009
3800 - 06/29/2009
4B00 - 06/29/2009

Warehouse 13 survivor

Blood stains,speed kills,fast cars,cheap thrills,rich women,fine wine,i lost my sense i lost control i lost my
mind.
Nexus6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 12:56 AM   #20
Watchamacoolitt
KJ
 
Watchamacoolitt's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 2SS/RS,MT6 sunroof
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to Watchamacoolitt
In order to have a remote start they have to do a bypass.
__________________
“Living with a conscience is like driving a car with the brakes on”
Watchamacoolitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 03:02 AM   #21
Booster
 
Drives: 2010 Lincoln MKS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 75
Anyone have the Smartstart system on their Manual SS?
I want to get that...start your car with your phone. Cool!
Booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 10:32 AM   #22
Joeymc13
 
Drives: N/a
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1
Just stumbled onto this thread....

Hey guys, I know this thread was started a year ago, but I just thought I would clear up any questions that you may still have...

First- yes, the 5901 does have 6 auxillary output channels which can control add on devices, such as window control modules, however, the window control modules are not included with the 5901. It is seperate, and is part number 530t from directed electronics Inc, usually costs around $100, it controls two windows, up and down. I charge $60 a window to install this add on piece.

Second- no, you don't need a robot to push your clutch in for remote start, lol! We just wire up the clutch pedal switch to contact using a status output wire from the remote start, very simple.

Third- yes, newer remote start systems can be installed on manual transmissions, and a couple of you are correct, you just have to follow a shut down procedure when you exit your vehicle that will tell the remote start system your car is in neutral.

Fourth- yes, it is possible to bypass the passlock 3 system, even without losing your spare key fob. The part number is 1101t from xpresskit.com, this module will actually learn the resistance code from your vehicles immobilizer system, and send that resistance signal to your immobilizer (passlock 3) to allow your car to start without the key in the ignition.

I have been an mecp certified mobile electronics installer for 8 yrs, I don't own a camaro, wish I did though ! I hope my info helps someone who may stumble on this thread in the future!
Joeymc13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 04:39 PM   #23
TekkGuy
 
TekkGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS/A6/Sunroof
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 265
I just looked up the info on the 1101T Kit... It says that it does take 1 key to work...so you do end up Loosing one of your keys to this module... No? Talks about using a coin battery to keep your key charged.
__________________
TekkGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 11:03 PM   #24
Brownhornitt

 
Brownhornitt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 White Corvette Convertible
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010SSRSM6 View Post
I've seen a car "remotely start" and drive through the front of a store in Virginia Beach. Most states make it "illegal" to install remote start systems in manual cars for this reason. It's a nice feature to have, but I wouldn't take that chance with my new $40k toy that I've been waiting on for over 2 years.
I saw a dude remote start into a bowling alley. Funny stuff.
__________________
The Corvette is an animal.
Brownhornitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 05:29 PM   #25
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,433
Be careful or this can happen: http://jalopnik.com/5500228/dealersh...d-car-totalled
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tracking All Currently Known US VIN and Window Stickers - Order Tracking Thread UCF w00t Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 4242 02-17-2014 08:57 PM
Why aren't there any Aqua Blues yet? txcamarogirl 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 40 08-20-2009 10:05 AM
No remote start with Manual Transmission? 2Muchmark 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 26 03-30-2009 09:24 AM
Remote Start Available for the Manual Tranny? Rodrunner 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 36 12-30-2008 10:35 AM
Camaro Manual Transmission LSxcellent 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 17 08-01-2007 05:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.