Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
BORLA
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2012, 11:51 PM   #15
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,732
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by yotaman96 View Post
No tune needed. I don't think anyone has found the max limit yet. I have one with a BAP and its fine at 630 rwhp. Hoping for around 670 next time.
So it regulates on it's own? How does it keep the 60lbs.?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 11:54 PM   #16
yotaman96


 
yotaman96's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, 2000 Trans Am WS6
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Portland, TN
Posts: 2,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
So it regulates on it's own? How does it keep the 60lbs.?
The fuel pressure regulator isn't on the pump, so pressure should stay the same. The ZL1 pump just allows more volume if needed.

Here's what I just found.

Pulse-width modulated, eliminates need for conventional pressure regulator
__________________
2010 IOM Camaro 2SS/RS manual trans
Magnacharged 2000 Trans Am WS6 manual trans
2015 Ram Crew Cab Cummins
yotaman96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 11:54 PM   #17
KRich2587
 
KRich2587's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Summit White 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Temple, TX
Posts: 432
Pulse width modulation computer sends a duty cycle to the pump that's how the pressure is controlled


Posted from Camaro5.com App for Android
KRich2587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 12:01 AM   #18
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,732
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by yotaman96 View Post
The fuel pressure regulator isn't on the pump, so pressure should stay the same. The ZL1 pump just allows more volume if needed.
So what tells the pump to up the power to keep the pressure up at WOT?

Must be a default setting that isn't changed in a tune.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 12:02 AM   #19
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,732
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRich2587 View Post
Pulse width modulation computer sends a duty cycle to the pump that's how the pressure is controlled


Posted from Camaro5.com App for Android
Ok. So it's a standard and unchanging process.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 12:08 AM   #20
yotaman96


 
yotaman96's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, 2000 Trans Am WS6
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Portland, TN
Posts: 2,701
I'm not sure exactly how it works, I just know it does. lol Keeping all things the same except for swapping to the ZL1 pump, no tune would be needed.
__________________
2010 IOM Camaro 2SS/RS manual trans
Magnacharged 2000 Trans Am WS6 manual trans
2015 Ram Crew Cab Cummins
yotaman96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 02:25 AM   #21
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,506
I am just a hair under 650rwhp now and I'm just running the ZL1 pump, no BAP. Fuel pressure is perfect and the new injectors aren't even having to work for it. I think they were at 53% duty cycle or something crazy like that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
UNDER CONSTRUCTION. ETA 2016 ish...
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 05:36 AM   #22
usmcjlp

 
Drives: 2SS/RS LS3 RJT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 755
I have a whipple, cam and headers with 4.11 gears. I was looking at the aeromotive fuel pump. If I am going to pay the labor to install the pump, would it be better to go ahead and pay a little more to get a stronger pump? Or is the OEM set up more than enough and better quality?

Should I also swap my fuel injectors? I have the injectors that came with the kit. Thanks in advance.
usmcjlp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 06:22 AM   #23
Jayrcr3

 
Jayrcr3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
So what tells the pump to up the power to keep the pressure up at WOT?

Must be a default setting that isn't changed in a tune.
You add the ZR1 MAP sensor and it tells the ECM when you are in boost which increases the PW to the pump. I have the BAP also.
__________________
American Racing 1 7/8" Headers and Hi-Flow Cats, CAI cold air intake, Flowmaster AT exhaust, Vengeance Racing Stage 2 cam, VMax ported throttle body, TEA valve springs and titanium retainers, Trick Flow hardened pushrods, 180* T-stat, Comp Trunion kit, ZL1 Fuel Pump, ADM Fuel Pump Control Module, 20% window tint, Whipple Supercharger. Tuned by Mike Norris Motorsports. 656rwhp/584rwtq @10 PSI.
Jayrcr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 07:40 AM   #24
MANNYS2SS/RS

 
MANNYS2SS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS,LS3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,164
I am at 665 rwhp with the ZL-1 fuel pump and the BAP off. Fuel pressure is perfect. I am also glad I installed an access door under the rear seat. If I ever have a problem or want to up grade my fuel pump it will only take 15 minutes.
__________________

LS-3, ProCharger D1SC
665. rwhp /562. rwtq @ 9.3 psi
MANNYS2SS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 08:43 AM   #25
AngelSpeedFreak
Most hated in NM....
 
AngelSpeedFreak's Avatar
 
Drives: Sold the 6POINT2, went to a 50THZ06
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by MANNYS2SS/RS View Post
I am at 665 rwhp with the ZL-1 fuel pump and the BAP off. Fuel pressure is perfect. I am also glad I installed an access door under the rear seat. If I ever have a problem or want to up grade my fuel pump it will only take 15 minutes.
Would you be able to take a few pics of the access door? After changing out my tank twice, I would gladly cut the hole for easier access. Make a 5-6 hour project into 15 minutes sounds great....

Thanks.
__________________
AngelSpeedFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:22 AM   #26
MANNYS2SS/RS

 
MANNYS2SS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS,LS3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelSpeedFreak View Post
Would you be able to take a few pics of the access door? After changing out my tank twice, I would gladly cut the hole for easier access. Make a 5-6 hour project into 15 minutes sounds great....

Thanks.
Angel this is not for everyone, but I am so glad I did it to my car. With the tool it takes me 15 min to replace the pump.

Name:  IMG_1462.jpeg
Views: 3504
Size:  79.9 KB

Name:  IMG_0032.jpeg
Views: 3705
Size:  95.5 KB

Name:  IMG_1475.jpeg
Views: 3042
Size:  87.3 KB

Name:  IMG_0034.jpeg
Views: 2936
Size:  74.5 KB
__________________

LS-3, ProCharger D1SC
665. rwhp /562. rwtq @ 9.3 psi
MANNYS2SS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:34 AM   #27
epstein
Account Suspended
 
Drives: SS/RS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Transplanted from NYC..(ret. NYPD).Now in CT
Posts: 904
Send a message via AIM to epstein
hmmm with some spray foam after your done around the seam or sound deadner like most of us have done in our vehivles This is very conceivable
epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:54 AM   #28
MANNYS2SS/RS

 
MANNYS2SS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS,LS3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by epstein View Post
hmmm with some spray foam after your done around the seam or sound deadner like most of us have done in our vehivles This is very conceivable
I seal it with black latex caulk, once the seat is on you don't see or hear anything.
__________________

LS-3, ProCharger D1SC
665. rwhp /562. rwtq @ 9.3 psi
MANNYS2SS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.