Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
RDP Motorsport
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2009, 03:38 PM   #1
camarossrs2150
gfx installed
 
camarossrs2150's Avatar
 
Drives: abm2ssrs
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: still out of my mind
Posts: 2,059
trunk button on door delay before opening

when i use the button on my door to open trunk i have to hold the button for a few seconds before it opens and alot of clicking going on . anybody have simular problem not sure if written about yet .but the guy that wrote the poem mentioned something that he hopes the trunk latch opens thanks
__________________
[SIGPIC]
camarossrs2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 04:01 PM   #2
aberg
 
Drives: 2LT/RS
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 206
I would have it checked out. Mine opens right away and no noise except the trunk opening.
aberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 04:37 PM   #3
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,526
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by aberg View Post
I would have it checked out. Mine opens right away and no noise except the trunk opening.
+1
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:11 PM   #4
fastball
White 'n Nerdy
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,634
Better make sure Shunt wasn't knawing on your solenoid or wiring.
__________________
fastball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:18 PM   #5
camarossrs2150
gfx installed
 
camarossrs2150's Avatar
 
Drives: abm2ssrs
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: still out of my mind
Posts: 2,059
just tried it again works with the beeper right away .then when i push button on door it sounds like it shortning out then it opens .then i tried again would not open.back to the dealer again .and he will tell me we have no clue on how to fix because the car is to new .oh well
__________________
[SIGPIC]
camarossrs2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 07:24 PM   #6
stratman2SSRS

 
stratman2SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: Lingenfelter Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,467
mine opens right away. Sounds like you need it fixed.
stratman2SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 08:49 PM   #7
trudawg660

 
Drives: 2006 Dodge Charger / 2SS IOM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,642
well this is another problem i have also and there is someone that said something about it a couple weeks ago.
trudawg660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 08:50 PM   #8
trudawg660

 
Drives: 2006 Dodge Charger / 2SS IOM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,642
what is your VIN mine is 7072, i bet its close to mine
trudawg660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 08:53 PM   #9
camarossrs2150
gfx installed
 
camarossrs2150's Avatar
 
Drives: abm2ssrs
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: still out of my mind
Posts: 2,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by trudawg660 View Post
what is your VIN mine is 7072, i bet its close to mine
7895 it has a mind of its own works one minute then it dont this is my third problem but if you want to look good dont take anybody out with luggage
__________________
[SIGPIC]

Last edited by camarossrs2150; 06-13-2009 at 09:04 PM.
camarossrs2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 08:57 PM   #10
KJS
'15 C7 W/ROUND LIGHTS
 
KJS's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 in RJT; 95 Vette
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cut Throat, NY
Posts: 1,597
About 3 weeks ago when I first go the car I was having the clicking sound and the trunk not opening using both the release on the door and the remote. I posted it here.
I sprayed silcone spray around the locking mechanism in the trunk and have not had any problems since then. VIN# 7085.
I've been trying it a couple of times a day since then, no problem....
__________________
"As ye sow, so shall ye reap" - Me

Mine at sunset
KJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 08:58 PM   #11
trudawg660

 
Drives: 2006 Dodge Charger / 2SS IOM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,642
i need to take it to the dealership but i just really dont want to take it to them.i treat this car like a kid, always need to be somewhere i can see it. i go to my friends house and i dont like to go into his house because i cant see it, someone might try to park beside me.
trudawg660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 09:11 PM   #12
Camaro509

 
Camaro509's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Black
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,087
It might be because you're holding it, just press and release it.
__________________
Understeer, Oversteer, Wheel Alignment (Camber etc), Torque, Horsepower, Camaro

Fold for team 11108 to help find a cure!
Folding@home Stanford's Research DC Program.
Camaro509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 12:02 AM   #13
2010 SS!!
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS,1987 Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mineral Ridge, Ohio
Posts: 22
I too have been having this problem.....I need to push down on the trunk lid to get it to open after it clicks...then you have to push the button again and then close the trunk to get it to latch shut....it is going back to dealer this week...paid too much money to have this problem.
2010 SS!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 09:22 AM   #14
Scourage
Syntax Error
 
Scourage's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 513
Same problem here, only pops the lid open about half the time. When it doesn't work, I have to pull up on it when I press the button. I let the dealer know yesterday that I want to bring it in this week to have it checked out.
Scourage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 09:23 AM   #15
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,128
That's so you don't open it on accident. Like the brand new 2010 Mustang.

On the Mustang forums people are complaining about the position of the button and that it opens while they are driving.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 09:41 AM   #16
BrianGriffin78

 
BrianGriffin78's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 GMC Yukon
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 920
Make sure you give the Trunk a good closing. The Camaro can handle it. If you don't the lock mechanism will be off track.
__________________
BrianGriffin78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 08:56 PM   #17
camarossrs2150
gfx installed
 
camarossrs2150's Avatar
 
Drives: abm2ssrs
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: still out of my mind
Posts: 2,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJS View Post
About 3 weeks ago when I first go the car I was having the clicking sound and the trunk not opening using both the release on the door and the remote. I posted it here.
I sprayed silcone spray around the locking mechanism in the trunk and have not had any problems since then. VIN# 7085.
I've been trying it a couple of times a day since then, no problem....
i tried wd40 today and im 6 for 6 opening the trunk thanks .let see if this works for everybody that has this problem please let us know after you do it
__________________
[SIGPIC]
camarossrs2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 11:57 PM   #18
Rockies4

 
Drives: PT Cruiser 02
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Maria, California
Posts: 791
Maybe the trunk monkey just needs more food.


Rockies4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 12:10 AM   #19
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,128
WD40 is probably to thin an oil for the latch. It should have a little heavy grease from the factory already.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 12:21 AM   #20
RonC
 
Drives: 2010 2SS - RS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarossrs2150 View Post
when i use the button on my door to open trunk i have to hold the button for a few seconds before it opens and alot of clicking going on . anybody have simular problem not sure if written about yet .but the guy that wrote the poem mentioned something that he hopes the trunk latch opens thanks

Same problem here too. Worked for the first 2 weeks and then started this.
RonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 12:25 AM   #21
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,128
Is there any adjusting screws for the latch loop or the hook mechanism? If so re-adjust.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 12:54 PM   #22
camarossrs2150
gfx installed
 
camarossrs2150's Avatar
 
Drives: abm2ssrs
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: still out of my mind
Posts: 2,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonC View Post
Same problem here too. Worked for the first 2 weeks and then started this.
try wd40 or lithium greese then write back
__________________
[SIGPIC]
camarossrs2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:08 PM   #23
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 22,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010 SS!! View Post
I too have been having this problem.....I need to push down on the trunk lid to get it to open after it clicks...then you have to push the button again and then close the trunk to get it to latch shut....it is going back to dealer this week...paid too much money to have this problem.
Trunk pops but doesn't open. Have to push down on it hard and pop it again.... and I am closing hard everytime too. Kind of a crap shoot whether it opens or not.

I'll try the lube job this evening... sounds like that may work...
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:17 PM   #24
camarossrs2150
gfx installed
 
camarossrs2150's Avatar
 
Drives: abm2ssrs
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: still out of my mind
Posts: 2,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarossrs2150 View Post
i tried wd40 today and im 6 for 6 opening the trunk thanks .let see if this works for everybody that has this problem please let us know after you do it
12 for 12 after wd40ing
__________________
[SIGPIC]
camarossrs2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 09:07 PM   #25
turleylox
 
turleylox's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Smiths Grove, KY
Posts: 189
I'm having the same problem here too. My vin # is 7232
turleylox is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exterior foglights don't work? Might be missing the button? Camaro007 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 62 05-23-2009 07:59 AM
push button start? Yeahyouknwit 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 40 01-28-2009 05:33 PM
Gap below trunk lid scorpio 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 8 09-24-2008 09:09 AM
Trunk or Hatchback? LSxcellent 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 18 06-02-2007 04:40 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.