Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Trunk Monkey Parts
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Specific Models / Packages > Camaro 1LE Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 11:13 PM   #1
Lio Martinez
SoCal HT5!!!!
 
Lio Martinez's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS RS 1LE IMO Turbo
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxnard. CA
Posts: 1,734
Check engine light codes.... help!!

So i got a pair of the OBX Long tubes racing headers with off road pipes instead of catalytics... A friend of me did the installation... We use etensions for the O2 sensors.. by the way I'm quite dissapointed with oshawa when we were taking if the 02 sensors the threading in two was just horrible like they put them wrong... We had to fix it with a file.

Anyways we did the install they sound great with the NPP and the AEM cold air intake.... Well after three Days I got a check engine light ..

My buddy has a Diablo tuberculosis so we connected to my car to read the codes and it gave us... " P015B" and " P015D" anyone know what they exactly mean ? And if I buy the new Diablo Sport intune if it will take it off ? Is it bad that im driving my 1LE with these codes ?
Lio Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:52 AM   #2
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,275
Did you get a custom tune after installing the headers?

P015B - O2 Sensor Delayed Response - Lean to Rich

P015D - O2 Sensor Delayed Response - Rich to Lean

You can buy the inTune, but it won't solve your problem. You either need to get a custom tune from Ted Jannetty or a dyno tune.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:55 AM   #3
shawn18
OWTATIME
 
shawn18's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 CaRaMo & Oranch ZL1
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stig View Post
Did you get a custom tune after installing the headers?

P015B - O2 Sensor Delayed Response - Lean to Rich

P015D - O2 Sensor Delayed Response - Rich to Lean

You can buy the inTune, but it won't solve your problem. You either need to get a custom tune from Ted Jannetty or a dyno tune.
^^ This ...When you put LT headers on you always throw codes until tuned. One thing you will get with the tune besides getting rid of the codes are maximum gains from your headers. Get it tuned and enjoy!
__________________
shawn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:01 AM   #4
FINALLYSATISFIED
Est.1775
 
FINALLYSATISFIED's Avatar
 
Drives: '15 Challenger Hellcat
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,498
Be aware your warranty goes "bye bye" after you get it tuned.
FINALLYSATISFIED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:20 AM   #5
tramtwo


 
tramtwo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1LE
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: N'Awlinz
Posts: 6,306
U can drive it no problem. Many have for years with codes and no tune. A tune helps a lot but it is not necessary to void warranty to run headers.

I used Ted @ JRE to tune my 2011 setup, he is the gold standard fir sure.

I want a vid of how it sounds now!!

tramtwo posted this on the go
__________________
tramtwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:54 AM   #6
Lio Martinez
SoCal HT5!!!!
 
Lio Martinez's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS RS 1LE IMO Turbo
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxnard. CA
Posts: 1,734
Ok guys Thanks for the help... And Yeah I haven't tuned it yet.. so will it still be a good idea to get the diablo sport intune or skip that and just take it to get it tune ?

And by dump tune u guys mean take it to a shop so that they can do a special tune for me ?

Ok ill try to upload a video of the sound this weekend since I'm stuck at work from Monday thru Friday

And how does Teds JRE tune works do u guys have a link to it ?
Lio Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:11 AM   #7
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lio Martinez View Post
Ok guys Thanks for the help... And Yeah I haven't tuned it yet.. so will it still be a good idea to get the diablo sport intune or skip that and just take it to get it tune ?

And by dump tune u guys mean take it to a shop so that they can do a special tune for me ?

Ok ill try to upload a video of the sound this weekend since I'm stuck at work from Monday thru Friday

And how does Teds JRE tune works do u guys have a link to it ?
- inTune would be a waste of money

- yes, by dyno tune we mean take it to a shop and they custom tune it for you

- Link to Ted's custom email tunes: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=225374
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 12:05 PM   #8
Lio Martinez
SoCal HT5!!!!
 
Lio Martinez's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS RS 1LE IMO Turbo
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxnard. CA
Posts: 1,734
Thanks the stig
Lio Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 10:41 AM   #9
LastGen5
Better Late Than Never!
 
LastGen5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 2SS/6M Vert, NPP, SC, Com. Ed.
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 69
One thing to keep in mind is that after you clear these codes, you will need to do a fuel table reset (famous #5 and #20 fuse pull) to reset to the 93 Octane table - otherwise you lose just a tiny bit of 'giddy up' on the better fuel.

I started getting these codes on a semi-regular basis after I installed my VAI throttle controller in conjunction with my CAI and Apex scoop. The newer 5th gens seem very touchy with minor air/intake throttle adjustments.

(No matter, getting long tubes installed Monday and will have these codes 'tuned out').
LastGen5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 10:46 AM   #10
paul84043

 
paul84043's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro 2SS RS 1LE
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lehi, Utah
Posts: 1,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lio Martinez View Post
So i got a pair of the OBX Long tubes racing headers with off road pipes instead of catalytics... A friend of me did the installation... We use etensions for the O2 sensors.. by the way I'm quite dissapointed with oshawa when we were taking if the 02 sensors the threading in two was just horrible like they put them wrong... We had to fix it with a file.

Anyways we did the install they sound great with the NPP and the AEM cold air intake.... Well after three Days I got a check engine light ..

My buddy has a Diablo tuberculosis so we connected to my car to read the codes and it gave us... " P015B" and " P015D" anyone know what they exactly mean ? And if I buy the new Diablo Sport intune if it will take it off ? Is it bad that im driving my 1LE with these codes ?
I'm sorry to hear about your friend with tuberculosis....

You're going to have to put a tune on it to clear the light. Depending on your dealer this may or may not cause problems..
paul84043 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 10:52 AM   #11
LastGen5
Better Late Than Never!
 
LastGen5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 2SS/6M Vert, NPP, SC, Com. Ed.
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 69
You can get a cheap code reader/code clearer from Amazon (I think mine was ~$45). For me, the code is intermittent and I can clear it on my own. To paul84043's point, the dealer doesn't like to see the rotofab/CAI intakes when you bring them in for these codes (it's easy pickings and I can understand why they don't want to waste technician time if they don't have to). I clear my own codes every few weeks or so when they come up on my car. Anyway, I'm getting them 'tuned out' tomorrow.
LastGen5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 01:20 PM   #12
Olddudesrule
Resident nomad
 
Drives: 2014 Summit White 1SS/1LE
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 584
Not sure I understand the need for the responses. The OP's thread is three years old.....Just saying.
__________________
Sold:
2007 Z06
2002 Viper GTS/ACR
2003 Z06
1965 FFR Cobra
2012 Nissan 370Z
Olddudesrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 03:00 PM   #13
LastGen5
Better Late Than Never!
 
LastGen5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 2SS/6M Vert, NPP, SC, Com. Ed.
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 69
I hear you, but when I was having trouble with P015B and P015D codes, there really weren't many 'conclusions' but quite a few threads where people were asking about this. I came across this thread when I was looking for something else. Maybe someone else will have the same questions some day and find this helpful...
LastGen5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 03:15 PM   #14
Camarotobeornottobe
 
Drives: 1LE
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: East Coast Man
Posts: 548
Yea, the OP was imprisoned a long time ago by the Peoples Republic of California for his emission non-compliant modification. They do not allow him internet access.
Camarotobeornottobe is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.