Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2012, 02:33 AM   #1
Vroom_vroom
The gritos pollo!!!
 
Vroom_vroom's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 camaro m6, '77 T/A m4
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 550
DIY; hard wire radar detector on dash

hard wired my radar detector on the dash. never been a big fan of mounting them high due to the laser. pull off the driver side panel on the side of the dash. this is where you will be feeding the wire to. i had a extra flat wire (vs. coiled) picked it up at radio shack. i used a piece of a coat hanger to stick between the driver side pillar and dash all the way in the corner as far as you can get it. fold the tip over so you don't scratch up the dash. if you don't see you coat hanger at first wiggle it, its hiding behind the padding. you will see it pretty quick.

tape the wire to the coat hanger now you get to go fishing. push it through as much as you can and grab it with a pair of needle nose pliers. helps if you put a little bit of a arch in the coat hanger.



pull any extra wire though so you only have enough on the dash to get to the radar detector. the ground connect i used the screw directly above the fuse panel on the side of the dash. the hot lead i used the f-17 fuse for the cigarette lighter. make sure you connect it to the lead closest to the floor so you have the protection of the fuse.(it is on the ignition circuit) they do make piggy back tabs for fuses but i couldnt find one for the minis so i wrapped the wire around the contact of the fuse and put a small piece of heat shrink on it.






now get your coat hanger back out and gently push the wire along the bottom of the windshield behind the dash. there is foam back there and it will keep the wire in place.





sorry it its a little disorganized but hopefully the pictures will get you through any thing i have missed. and there is little to no
__________________
__________

'12 Camaro; Slp loud mouth I, Injen long ram intake.
'77 T/A 6.6, fully built,kre-d port heads,10.5 compression. well its just bad.
Vroom_vroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 03:53 AM   #2
kenkartasasmita
COTW [4/23/12]
 
kenkartasasmita's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro Of The Week.
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia and Austin,TX
Posts: 2,116
any visibility issue(s)?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfall View Post

C.A.M.A.R.O- Constantly Adding Modifications Addiction Relentless Obsession

2010 Camaro V6 1LT | Kooks Catback Exhaust + MBRP exhaust tips | TF3 Stripes | GM Transformers Emblem and Door Sill | Stillen splitter | GMX rear diffuser | K&N CAI | Pulstar iridium spark plugs. | Gm High Wing Spoiler | BBK LT Headers | BMR 4 Point Strut Bar | BMR 1" Lowering Springs | ZL1 Side Skirt | Black Ice-olator | Trifecta Tune |

My Build Thread
kenkartasasmita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 12:10 PM   #3
Vroom_vroom
The gritos pollo!!!
 
Vroom_vroom's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 camaro m6, '77 T/A m4
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 550
Nope, had it in the same spot on all may cars and have never had an issue
__________________
__________

'12 Camaro; Slp loud mouth I, Injen long ram intake.
'77 T/A 6.6, fully built,kre-d port heads,10.5 compression. well its just bad.
Vroom_vroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:27 AM   #4
a.morblu
 
a.morblu's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Sinister SS
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 475
If thats a 360* detector you might have issues catching signals from the rear of the car. I went with a blend mount. No issues with me or it seeing everything.

a.morblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:58 PM   #5
Vroom_vroom
The gritos pollo!!!
 
Vroom_vroom's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 camaro m6, '77 T/A m4
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 550
its a 360, no issues picking up signal. logic that left it on the dash was the signal needs something reflective to bounce off of (license plates, headlights......) so you would want it as close to the source as it can be. and most of the time the speed traps the have set up around here are with someone on a overpass with the gun scanning on coming traffic.
__________________
__________

'12 Camaro; Slp loud mouth I, Injen long ram intake.
'77 T/A 6.6, fully built,kre-d port heads,10.5 compression. well its just bad.
Vroom_vroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:26 AM   #6
Jstephen
 
Jstephen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS LT2 45th
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Des Plaines, Illinois
Posts: 150
where did you wire this into? The overhead console or down to the fuse box. If console how did you accomplish that.
__________________
JSTEPHEN 2012 45th Camaro RS
LED DRL - RX CATCH CAN - ?? What's Next?
Jstephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:19 PM   #7
charlietuna

 
charlietuna's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,141
where can i get that for my v1? and how did you route the power??????
__________________
Laus Deo
charlietuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:23 PM   #8
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlietuna View Post
where can i get that for my v1? and how did you route the power??????
See the above picture of the driver's side fuse box. He tapped into Fuse F18 and then grounded it using the bolt next to the fuse box.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:36 PM   #9
Jstephen
 
Jstephen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS LT2 45th
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Des Plaines, Illinois
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stig View Post
See the above picture of the driver's side fuse box. He tapped into Fuse F18 and then grounded it using the bolt next to the fuse box.
So in that picture they did not wire to the overhead console, but across the headliner, down the a-pillar and then into the fuse box?

Is that correct?
__________________
JSTEPHEN 2012 45th Camaro RS
LED DRL - RX CATCH CAN - ?? What's Next?
Jstephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:45 PM   #10
Vroom_vroom
The gritos pollo!!!
 
Vroom_vroom's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 camaro m6, '77 T/A m4
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 550
That guy did his own separate write up. Mine is sitting on the dash wired into the fuse panel
__________________
__________

'12 Camaro; Slp loud mouth I, Injen long ram intake.
'77 T/A 6.6, fully built,kre-d port heads,10.5 compression. well its just bad.
Vroom_vroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:18 PM   #11
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jstephen View Post
So in that picture they did not wire to the overhead console, but across the headliner, down the a-pillar and then into the fuse box?

Is that correct?
Yes
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 10:05 PM   #12
jrohan07
 
jrohan07's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro SS Supercharged SLP
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 194
Awesome write up. Just finished mine no wires seen. Gave me another idea. Gonna use that power fuse to hook up led strips under dash for footwell lighting.
jrohan07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 10:34 PM   #13
Jstephen
 
Jstephen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS LT2 45th
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Des Plaines, Illinois
Posts: 150
Thanks for the Picts. Just installed my radar detector up by the mirror that way. Went into the headliner down the a pillar and into the box. Pretty easy.
__________________
JSTEPHEN 2012 45th Camaro RS
LED DRL - RX CATCH CAN - ?? What's Next?
Jstephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:01 PM   #14
beany323

 
beany323's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS /RS/1LE
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,238
fuse question

so i did the add a mini fuse to location f17.(that or the one below it.)


i used a 10 fuse and the original 20 fuse that went in those spots, is that correct? does that matter?

or should i take the 20 and replace it with a 10 also. (not sure if the 10+10 = 20 rule applies).

ran the wire up and around window sill. if i need pics, just yell.

thanks in advance for advice.
__________________
"The fact the GT500 can barely beat a $37k car with 200 less horsepower speaks volumes. There are about a million mods you can do to a LS3 to make a Camaro do the 1/4 faster then a GT500." (Vroom.)

Updated w/ Willow Springs:
1. Nissan GTR Track Pack 1:19.6 2. Ducati 1198 S 1:19.7 3. Nissan GTR 1:20.3 4. Corvette Z06 1:20.4
5. Audi R8 V10 Plus 1:22.0 6. Ferrari 458 Italia 1:22.3
7. CAMARO SS 1LE 1:22.7
8. Shelby GT 500 1:23.5
9. Mustang Gt Track Pack 1:25.8
beany323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 11:22 AM   #15
Learjetguru
 
Learjetguru's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS LS3
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 180
I purchased an inline fuse holder for $2.00 and used the power and ground wires
at the garage door remote in the overhead console. Worked perfect>
Learjetguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:23 PM   #16
nikos30
HT5 EastSide
 
nikos30's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ/PA
Posts: 1,539
My passport is powered by a cig lighter. would I just cut and strip that wire and connect longer wires so that it could reach the fuse box? or what?
__________________
nikos30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 11:47 PM   #17
louis*sweetlou
 
Drives: 2013 1lt rally yellow
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 16
Does anyone have a picture of where the gap is from the inside of the fuse box to the corner to fish the wire? I hardwired my detector but I can still see my wire running from the fuse box to the corner.
louis*sweetlou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 06:12 PM   #18
Vroom_vroom
The gritos pollo!!!
 
Vroom_vroom's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 camaro m6, '77 T/A m4
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 550


It's had to see but it's right on top of the sound deadener. You can see part of the white coat hanger. If you fish it from the dash about an inch from the pillar you should have no problem but you can't pull it around the pillar, tape it to a hanger or piece of wire and pull it though.
__________________
__________

'12 Camaro; Slp loud mouth I, Injen long ram intake.
'77 T/A 6.6, fully built,kre-d port heads,10.5 compression. well its just bad.
Vroom_vroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 08:17 PM   #19
louis*sweetlou
 
Drives: 2013 1lt rally yellow
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 16
thanks!! I will give it another shot.
louis*sweetlou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 10:01 AM   #20
Dave's-RS
 
Dave's-RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 White RS Vert
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Vancouver Island BC
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Learjetguru View Post
I purchased an inline fuse holder for $2.00 and used the power and ground wires
at the garage door remote in the overhead console. Worked perfect>
Thats a nice clean way to do the install....exactly the way I'm going to install my Belltronic Pro 300. The nice thing about this detector is that wiring uses a black Rj-11 standard phone cable that plugs directly into the detector this makes for an even cleaner install. I have the same wiring in my work truck allowing for easy plug and go on either vehicle. Personally I seem to get a better rear radar detection if the unit is mounted in a higher location opposed to the lower on the dash mount.
Dave's-RS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.