Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vitesse Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Suspension / Brakes / Chassis

Suspension / Brakes / Chassis All suspension, brakes and chassis discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2013, 10:29 AM   #1
DFWZ28

 
DFWZ28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 1,070
Strut Tower Brace

how many of you guys have a strut tower brace? i have been thinking about getting one, really like the looks of the ZL1 brace.

what would you recommend, how difficult / easy was it to install?

pics if you can.

thanks in advance

Lupe
__________________
DFWZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:32 AM   #2
SlingShot


 
SlingShot's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1 - #670
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seminole, Fl.
Posts: 7,053
If you have a 2010, you will be stuck using the BMR because the Chevy one won't work.
__________________
SlingShot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:58 AM   #3
90503


 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Torrance
Posts: 10,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlingShot View Post
If you have a 2010, you will be stuck using the BMR because the Chevy one won't work.
Same is true for some early '11s....Couldn't tell you where they come from, but I think an adaptor kit of shims, spacers, what-not is out there so the factory brace can be used on the first version of the towers...
90503 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:59 AM   #4
zkdreads


 
zkdreads's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS V6
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlingShot View Post
If you have a 2010, you will be stuck using the BMR because the Chevy one won't work.
eeehhh WRONG lol. they will work with the 2010. but you have to purchase the bolt kit for $130-150 ish and the chevy strut bar will fit. i have a 2010 and it didnt come with the holes either.

__________________
C-LO or Sonic
"Without Struggle there is no progress"
I am your best nightmare!
zkdreads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:05 AM   #5
PAUL SS
The Mark of Excellence
 
PAUL SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 1SS RS LS3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Smallest State in the Union
Posts: 8,442
There is an adapter kit out there which lets you use the convertible/ZL1 strut brace on 2010 or early 2011 Camaro's.
__________________
BMR, CAI, DynoMax, Elite Eng., Hurst, Jannetty, Clear Image Headers & Hi Flow cats, Jet Hot, LSR, TSW, Vredestein
PAUL SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:06 AM   #6
wakespeak
 
Drives: 2013 2SS LS3/NPP
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 684
I recommend it. It does make the car chassis stiffer, which is why you see it on the 1LEs and ZL1s. Creaking eliminated when turning into driveways and other off camber stuff.

You need to buy the tower brace and the bolts. The torque spec is: 22 N-m (16 ft-lbs). 10 minute install. Install on flat ground.
wakespeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:09 AM   #7
jpwickl
 
Drives: 2013 2LT Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 165
You could buy a convertible, and the brace will come standard
jpwickl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:19 AM   #8
MrWray
SYBIL
 
MrWray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS, silver ice metallic
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,467
the 2013 has the holes pre-drilled for the brace, it only took me like 3 minutes to install it. its a noticable difference when cornering and taking curves. plus it looks badass

Name:  uploadfromtaptalk1359649009931.jpg
Views: 5961
Size:  76.0 KB
__________________
MrWray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:22 AM   #9
DFWZ28

 
DFWZ28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 1,070
that looks really nice wray. i have a 10 so probably will have to drill the holes.
__________________
DFWZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:23 AM   #10
BMR Sales



 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS R6P
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seffner, FL
Posts: 2,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFWZ28 View Post
how many of you guys have a strut tower brace? i have been thinking about getting one, really like the looks of the ZL1 brace.

what would you recommend, how difficult / easy was it to install?

pics if you can.

thanks in advance

Lupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlingShot View Post
If you have a 2010, you will be stuck using the BMR because the Chevy one won't work.
Like everyone said, the factory GM strut tower brace won't work without buying the install kit so by the time you buy the GM strut tower brace itself and the install kit you end up with a strut tower brace that is close to $300. We have some more affordable strut tower brace options that will not only stiffen the chassis up but also help dress up the engine bay.

BMR two point strut tower brace (STB013)


BMR four point strut towe brace (STB014)


BMR four point strut tower brace (STB016)
__________________
Keith Kanyuh
5th Gen Camaro Suspension Specialist
keith@bmrsuspension.com
www.bmrsuspension.com
Like us on Facebook!
BMR Sales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:31 PM   #11
JDP Tyler

 
JDP Tyler's Avatar
 
Drives: Chevys at the limit
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 7,360
^^ The BMR braces are awesome! Feel free to Call, PM or email me with questions.

Best regards,

Tyler
888-308-6007
__________________

Click HERE to send me a PM | Sales@jdpmotorsports.com | www.jdpmotorsports.com | JDP Facebook | 888.308.6007
JDP Tyler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:49 PM   #12
OHIOSS
Russ
 
Drives: Yukon Denali, Charger, CamaroSS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,331
Send a message via AIM to OHIOSS
I bought a BMR strut brace and had it shipped to me unfinished. I had it chromed by a local chroming company. I like the way it turned out.

Russ
Attached Images
  
OHIOSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 03:29 PM   #13
JM20
 
JM20's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS L99 IOM
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHIOSS View Post
I bought a BMR strut brace and had it shipped to me unfinished. I had it chromed by a local chroming company. I like the way it turned out.

Russ
That looks bad ass! How hard is it to install the BMR? How is it fastened to the towers?
JM20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 03:59 PM   #14
PAUL SS
The Mark of Excellence
 
PAUL SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 1SS RS LS3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Smallest State in the Union
Posts: 8,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by JM20 View Post
That looks bad ass! How hard is it to install the BMR? How is it fastened to the towers?
You have to drop the struts and drill 4 holes on top of the tower and bolt it on.
__________________
BMR, CAI, DynoMax, Elite Eng., Hurst, Jannetty, Clear Image Headers & Hi Flow cats, Jet Hot, LSR, TSW, Vredestein
PAUL SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:03 PM   #15
OHIOSS
Russ
 
Drives: Yukon Denali, Charger, CamaroSS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,331
Send a message via AIM to OHIOSS
The side of the brace closest to the windshield mounts right on the strut tower. For the other leg of the brace you have to drill 4 holes to attach it. The hardest part was having to unscrew and drop the strut assembly and was almost impossible to do by myself. If you have someone to help you it is a whole lot easier.

Russ
OHIOSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:37 PM   #16
DFWZ28

 
DFWZ28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 1,070
looks very nice russ.
__________________
DFWZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:54 PM   #17
viper blue
Troy
 
viper blue's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2ss/rs custom viper blue
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elmore,Ohio
Posts: 105
I did the same but painted mine to tie in with the color of the car real easy to install looks good
Attached Images
  
viper blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:15 PM   #18
suzbndt
 
suzbndt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS 2011 Mustang GT
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Huntington WV
Posts: 259
I have the lakewood brace

But the BMR stuff looks better built
suzbndt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:08 PM   #19
Easton091
 
Easton091's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 425
I have the zl1 brace on my 2011 SS. Seeing the holes were already there, took at whole 5 mins to install. Make sure you get the bolts to.
Easton091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:41 PM   #20
BMR Sales



 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS R6P
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seffner, FL
Posts: 2,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by JM20 View Post
That looks bad ass! How hard is it to install the BMR? How is it fastened to the towers?
Like everyone else said the install really isnt too hard and will probably take you 2-3 hours if you take your time. You have to drop the struts and drill the holes but it isn't bad. The strut tower brace mounts on the shock towers by drilling holes in the towers.

Here are the instructions so you can kind of see what you are getting yourself into.

http://www.bmrsuspension.com/siteart/install/STB016.pdf

Kyle
__________________
Keith Kanyuh
5th Gen Camaro Suspension Specialist
keith@bmrsuspension.com
www.bmrsuspension.com
Like us on Facebook!
BMR Sales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:53 PM   #21
Cruuzin LV
 
Cruuzin LV's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS 45th Anniversary
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpwickl View Post
You could buy a convertible, and the brace will come standard
Should I be concerned that my convertible doesn't have one?
Cruuzin LV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:07 PM   #22
PAUL SS
The Mark of Excellence
 
PAUL SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 1SS RS LS3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Smallest State in the Union
Posts: 8,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruuzin LV View Post
Should I be concerned that my convertible doesn't have one?
Um, yes!
__________________
BMR, CAI, DynoMax, Elite Eng., Hurst, Jannetty, Clear Image Headers & Hi Flow cats, Jet Hot, LSR, TSW, Vredestein
PAUL SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:12 PM   #23
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 856
Shameless plug:
I have a used BMR four point strut tower brace (STB016) Hammertone
that I took off my 10 SS if anyone is interested.
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 05:11 PM   #24
Cruuzin LV
 
Cruuzin LV's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS 45th Anniversary
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAUL SS View Post
Um, yes!
I thought it was just an option on the Convertibles. Crud I will have to look into this and get one if it is supposed to have it. I did by it slightly used with 12k miles on it. Would have went new but couldn't pass up a 2012 SS 45th vert.


Maybe a GM rep can chime in here and let me know if this was an option or if the previous owner removed it?

I guess I could see if the threads look worn at all. If they are painted inside then maybe it didnt have one. Either way I plan on getting a GM one painted carbon flash metallic in the near future.
Cruuzin LV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 05:17 PM   #25
PAUL SS
The Mark of Excellence
 
PAUL SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 1SS RS LS3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Smallest State in the Union
Posts: 8,442
Due to the fact the car has no roof for structure, the strut tower brace was standard. I bet the former owner sold it to one of his Camaro friends. See if you can find marks on the towers where it was.
__________________
BMR, CAI, DynoMax, Elite Eng., Hurst, Jannetty, Clear Image Headers & Hi Flow cats, Jet Hot, LSR, TSW, Vredestein
PAUL SS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.