Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2009, 04:03 PM   #1
Tigerrag24
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Panama City, Florida
Posts: 34
Dash gauges not working and clicking noise

A couple of days ago my son ask why my speedometer wasnt working. I looked down and my digital speedometer was reading 60 but the analog speedometer was at ZERO. The tach was working. A little later the analog speedometer started spontaneously working but was about 4-5 mph slower than the digital speedometer and my GPS. After a stop and turning the car off it worked correctly. However, since then it has intermittently not worked for various lengths of time. Also, on a couple of occassions the tach, the digital speedometer, and the analog speedometer have not worked at the same time. There does not appear to be any pattern as to when they will not work and when the suddenly start working again.
Also, today I noticed that when I open the door there is a continuous clicking noise coming from behind the console (not from the back of the car as in other threads). This clicking last about 2-3 minutes and then stops. If I shut the door and reopen it the clicking starts again. It does this without puting the key in the ignition.
Has anyone else had the problem and does anyone else have a clue as to the fix???? I am calling the dealership tomorrow.
Tigerrag24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 04:06 PM   #2
jr_hoyt
J-Rock
 
jr_hoyt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2001 Yellow Ford Focus
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Duncan, Oklahoma
Posts: 121
Warranty time! I'm sure there's a way to fix it, but YOU shouldn't have to with a new car... I doubt that the dealer would have an issue with it. Good luck!
__________________
My current ride: 2001 Ford Focus, ZX-3, Banana Yellow
My future ride: 2010 2LT, w/ RS, Rally Yellow w/ black rally stripes; Order # NKMNP5
DESTINY?! I THINK SO!!!

jr_hoyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 04:17 PM   #3
Xmicro_SS
Thank You GM
 
Xmicro_SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Sky Redline & Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 2,894
Sounds like the Gauge cluster may not be tightly fitted to the electrical harness. DEALER TIME. Don't let that go, electrical connections that are not solid can fry circuit boards.
__________________
ITS HERE! : 2010 Camaro 2SS / 6 Speed Manual (No other way) / Silver Ice Metallic / Inferno Orange Interior Accent / RS Package / Polished Wheels / SOLO MACH X CAT BACK
Xmicro_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 04:20 PM   #4
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,128
Sounds like a relay is fried or going south. Take it to the shop.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 04:46 PM   #5
Gentry78
HOOK'EM
 
Gentry78's Avatar
 
Drives: 97 c1500/92 olds
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vash View Post
Sounds like a relay is fried or going south. Take it to the shop.
+1 quickly before something bad happens and fries the harness
Gentry78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 06:17 PM   #6
2SSRS@Gen5diy
My other car is 2014 Z/28

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 11,114
Go to the dealer as soon as you can.
__________________
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 09:54 PM   #7
fbodfather


 
fbodfather's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaros................
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Grosse Pointe Farms, MI (suburban Detroit)
Posts: 4,338
The needle in the speedometer needle may be 'bent' to where it's actually 'dragging' on the face of the speedometer......I know of two others (one on this site) that have the same problem. Supplier put the needle on too far --
fbodfather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 10:11 PM   #8
FxsX24
 
FxsX24's Avatar
 
Drives: S10 283 V8,Jimmy 4wd 4dr bk/bk
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Verona NY
Posts: 306
the Fbodfather has spoken!
FxsX24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 08:55 AM   #9
Dan
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 GTO
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 448
I know the GTOs had a problem with the needles on the gauges doing whatever they wanted but that was fixed with a simple reflash of the computer that controls all the stuff in the dash.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 11:22 AM   #10
TomServo
 
Drives: 2007 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Swansea IL
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigerrag24 View Post
A couple of days ago my son ask why my speedometer wasnt working. I looked down and my digital speedometer was reading 60 but the analog speedometer was at ZERO. The tach was working. A little later the analog speedometer started spontaneously working but was about 4-5 mph slower than the digital speedometer and my GPS. After a stop and turning the car off it worked correctly. However, since then it has intermittently not worked for various lengths of time. Also, on a couple of occassions the tach, the digital speedometer, and the analog speedometer have not worked at the same time. There does not appear to be any pattern as to when they will not work and when the suddenly start working again.
Also, today I noticed that when I open the door there is a continuous clicking noise coming from behind the console (not from the back of the car as in other threads). This clicking last about 2-3 minutes and then stops. If I shut the door and reopen it the clicking starts again. It does this without puting the key in the ignition.
Has anyone else had the problem and does anyone else have a clue as to the fix???? I am calling the dealership tomorrow.

Our dealer discovered a similar problem with my son's SS during PDI. They had to snag a new Instrument cluster (IC) off the assembly line and over night it so my son could take delivery the date on the new was 28 May 2009 which I had written down the P/N. A reflash wasn't the fix.

The dealer was originally going to remove one from a second SS they just received, but GM said that one too "fell into the same VIN range".

So this doesn't appear to be isolated and I'm betting more folks will experience this failure.

Suggest we record VIN's to see how why spread this is. My son's was 4486.

Good luck.
TomServo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 09:22 PM   #11
firstmate
 
firstmate's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Blk/Gry SS/RS M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 457
I have had the zero issue with my speedometer too. It has happened 4 times. The first time it worked ok after I had stopped at my destination and restarted the car to leave again. Then today it did it again, but so far each time I have gotten back in the car and started it, it still sat at 0. As far as I know the digital speed is registering correctly and seems to work. The common denominator in my VIN and Tomservo's is the 86, mine is 2386. But I am sure that doesn't mean a thing. I called the dealer the first time and he said he never had heard anything about it being an issue for other people. I will have to call them Monday to let them know so they can see what to do. He did say he wanted to try reflashing the computer. I hope that is all it is!!!
__________________
Ordered 10-13-08 2SS/RS M6 BLK/GRY
VIN #2386
Delivered 6-11-09 - Woo Hoo!!!

Hey Houston locals--------

Join the H-Town Camaro Club
www.H-TownCamaroClub.com
firstmate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 11:12 AM   #12
Tigerrag24
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Panama City, Florida
Posts: 34
Thanks for the responses. My VIN is #480. I took the car to the dealer but they could not reproduce the problem. They did call GM engineering ( or some similar place) and they had not heard of any similar problems. They did file some sort of case report and if it reoccurs I am to take it back. Interesting it hasnt happened again in almost a week. My dealer mentioned that when he got in his dealer car the samething appeared to happen but corrected when he fiddled with the menu button. This was probable a coincidence since I was never messing with my menu button or dash controls when it occured. Everyone who this happens to, even if just once, needs to take it to the dealer so that the extent of this problem can be realized and corrected.
Tigerrag24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:26 PM   #13
diggermike62
diggermike62
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS2
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Junction City Oregon
Posts: 36
Gauge cluster issue

I have a 2SS, I have an intermitent problem with the speedo also. It reads faster than I am actually going. I did take it back to the dealer, and they have ordered a new gauge cluster. problem is that the Camaro's are so new that the dealerships dont have the software for their diagnostic equipment to even look at them. I was told by my dealership that they are getting their programs updated this month. so looking into problemas will get easier as time goes on. Technology ita a wonderful thing.

diggermike62 vin#3276
diggermike62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:19 AM   #14
camarotoofast
VIN #586 is Home
 
camarotoofast's Avatar
 
Drives: 00 Z28 Camaro 69 camaro 81 cam
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to camarotoofast
Took mine to the dealer today lets see what happens. It seems it gets worse when its hot in the car.Texas heat sucks..
__________________
VIN # 586 is home
1ss,blk/blk,poilsh rims,B.A.upgrade,a6,stainless works catback.vararam more-to-come
camarotoofast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 11:43 PM   #15
WorldClassRS
 
Drives: 2010 RJT LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
xTooltipElement
Service Information
2010 Chevrolet Camaro | Camaro Service Manual | View All Bulletins | Document ID: 2291505
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#09-08-49-011: Instrument Panel Cluster Needle(s) Stick Intermittently (Replace Instrument Panel Cluster) - (Jun 15, 2009)


Subject: Instrument Panel Cluster Needle(s) Stick Intermittently (Replace Instrument Panel Cluster)


Models: 2010 Chevrolet Camaro




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Condition
Some customers may comment that one of the instrument cluster needles becomes stuck at a specific value. This may be an intermittent condition based on the interior temperature of the vehicle. Clusters that are vulnerable to this condition will have the pointer stick at elevated interior temperatures or when the cluster has been operating for a period of time.

Cause
This condition may be caused by cluster needles that were installed too deep on the gage.

Correction
Replace the instrument panel cluster. Refer to Instrument Cluster Replacement in SI. Reprogram the instrument panel cluster using the Multiple Diagnostic Interface (MDI) and Service Programming System (SPS) with the latest TIS2WEB calibrations after replacement. Refer to Instrument Cluster Reprogramming in SI.

Parts Information
Important: DO NOT obtain parts from GMSPO. Contact a GM authorized Electronic Service Center (ESC) for replacement.

To identify the correct part number, use the Global Diagnostic System (GDS) application or remove the unit for inspection.

Warranty Information
For vehicle repaired under warranty, use:

Labor Operation
Description
Labor Time

N4180
Instrument Cluster Replacement
Use Published Labor Operation Time

N4199
Instrument Cluster Reprogramming with SPS

GM bulletins are intended for use by professional technicians, NOT a "do-it-yourselfer". They are written to inform these technicians of conditions that may occur on some vehicles, or to provide information that could assist in the proper service of a vehicle. Properly trained technicians have the equipment, tools, safety instructions, and know-how to do a job properly and safely. If a condition is described, DO NOT assume that the bulletin applies to your vehicle, or that your vehicle will have that condition. See your GM dealer for information on whether your vehicle may benefit from the information.

WE SUPPORT VOLUNTARY TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION


© 2009 General Motors Corporation. All rights reserved.
WorldClassRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 11:45 PM   #16
WorldClassRS
 
Drives: 2010 RJT LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by diggermike62 View Post
I have a 2SS, I have an intermitent problem with the speedo also. It reads faster than I am actually going. I did take it back to the dealer, and they have ordered a new gauge cluster. problem is that the Camaro's are so new that the dealerships dont have the software for their diagnostic equipment to even look at them. I was told by my dealership that they are getting their programs updated this month. so looking into problemas will get easier as time goes on. Technology ita a wonderful thing.

diggermike62 vin#3276
Sorry to tell you but the diagnostic software has been out since February.
WorldClassRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 04:05 PM   #17
Mod007
 
Mod007's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Austin TX,
Posts: 477
I having the same problem, the dealer told me they dont have the parts to fix it yet and that they'll get back to me.
__________________
Camaro SS/RS Corsa Catback
Mod007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 11:02 PM   #18
Legend
Hello!
 
Legend's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 JSB Z06!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,624
Search works!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mine had been doing this for a couple weeks now too...must be the damn Texas heat (been a 100 everyday here lately!!).

Time to call the dealer!
Legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 12:45 AM   #19
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,128
Is there a screw for that dial that can be loosened?
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 09:49 AM   #20
neko95
neko95
 
neko95's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Central Wisconsin
Posts: 33
1SS/RS - last digits of VIN 0587. Problem just started yesterday; analog speedometer seems to be working okay but digital stopped displaying speed. Anyone having this problem and if so has it been resolved yet? I'm going to call the dealer today ...
neko95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 06:56 PM   #21
camarotoofast
VIN #586 is Home
 
camarotoofast's Avatar
 
Drives: 00 Z28 Camaro 69 camaro 81 cam
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to camarotoofast
Hey neko95, I see your car was made right after mine (#586) I just had my gauge cluster replaced for the same problems. Took dealer 2 days to get the part. Its all good now
__________________
VIN # 586 is home
1ss,blk/blk,poilsh rims,B.A.upgrade,a6,stainless works catback.vararam more-to-come

Last edited by camarotoofast; 07-11-2009 at 07:07 PM.
camarotoofast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:34 PM   #22
neko95
neko95
 
neko95's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Central Wisconsin
Posts: 33
Thanks for the info. Dropped @ dealer 2 day, no response all day. LOL, will post repair. Only has 464 miles and problems, whats up with that?
neko95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 01:18 PM   #23
fieldgoal00
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 772
what all do they have to take apart to replace the instrument cluster? Also make sure your dealer orders the right one in case you have the IOM interior package
fieldgoal00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 11:02 AM   #24
FrankT
400HP used to be enough..
 
FrankT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS rs manual
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Central NC
Posts: 676
My speedometer (analog) just quit working. Digital indicator in center stack works OK though. Car is at dealer now for repair. They said they will probably just replace the entire cluster. I'll post back when it is fixed as to what the dealer actually did.
FrankT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 09:36 AM   #25
STINGER BEE

 
STINGER BEE's Avatar
 
Drives: Drives a 2010 2SS/RS Camaro
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Great White North*****
Posts: 2,217
My speedometer quit on me yesterday,when this happen to you folks did you loose engine temp.,fuel indication,oil pressure etc. After I got to my destination I turn it of and back on ,it worked fine.
Also is it normal for the gauges to pend themselves when first starting the engine ,back to zero and then stabilizing itself once the engine is started, this has been like this since day one, therefore I assume it to be normal.It as been to the dealer before therefore if it was abnormal they would have said something I would think. Is their a TSB out on this issue other than the number listed here.


Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldClassRS View Post
xTooltipElement
Service Information
2010 Chevrolet Camaro | Camaro Service Manual | View All Bulletins | Document ID: 2291505
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#09-08-49-011: Instrument Panel Cluster Needle(s) Stick Intermittently (Replace Instrument Panel Cluster) - (Jun 15, 2009)


Subject: Instrument Panel Cluster Needle(s) Stick Intermittently (Replace Instrument Panel Cluster)


Models: 2010 Chevrolet Camaro




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Condition
Some customers may comment that one of the instrument cluster needles becomes stuck at a specific value. This may be an intermittent condition based on the interior temperature of the vehicle. Clusters that are vulnerable to this condition will have the pointer stick at elevated interior temperatures or when the cluster has been operating for a period of time.

Cause
This condition may be caused by cluster needles that were installed too deep on the gage.

Correction
Replace the instrument panel cluster. Refer to Instrument Cluster Replacement in SI. Reprogram the instrument panel cluster using the Multiple Diagnostic Interface (MDI) and Service Programming System (SPS) with the latest TIS2WEB calibrations after replacement. Refer to Instrument Cluster Reprogramming in SI.

Parts Information
Important: DO NOT obtain parts from GMSPO. Contact a GM authorized Electronic Service Center (ESC) for replacement.

To identify the correct part number, use the Global Diagnostic System (GDS) application or remove the unit for inspection.

Warranty Information
For vehicle repaired under warranty, use:

Labor Operation
Description
Labor Time

N4180
Instrument Cluster Replacement
Use Published Labor Operation Time

N4199
Instrument Cluster Reprogramming with SPS

GM bulletins are intended for use by professional technicians, NOT a "do-it-yourselfer". They are written to inform these technicians of conditions that may occur on some vehicles, or to provide information that could assist in the proper service of a vehicle. Properly trained technicians have the equipment, tools, safety instructions, and know-how to do a job properly and safely. If a condition is described, DO NOT assume that the bulletin applies to your vehicle, or that your vehicle will have that condition. See your GM dealer for information on whether your vehicle may benefit from the information.

WE SUPPORT VOLUNTARY TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION


© 2009 General Motors Corporation. All rights reserved.
__________________
RUMBLE BEE

Last edited by STINGER BEE; 11-17-2011 at 02:46 PM.
STINGER BEE is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.