Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Dynomax Exhaust
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2009, 11:43 PM   #15
WorldClassRS
 
Drives: 2010 RJT LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
xTooltipElement
Service Information
2010 Chevrolet Camaro | Camaro Service Manual | View All Bulletins | Document ID: 2291505
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#09-08-49-011: Instrument Panel Cluster Needle(s) Stick Intermittently (Replace Instrument Panel Cluster) - (Jun 15, 2009)


Subject: Instrument Panel Cluster Needle(s) Stick Intermittently (Replace Instrument Panel Cluster)


Models: 2010 Chevrolet Camaro




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Condition
Some customers may comment that one of the instrument cluster needles becomes stuck at a specific value. This may be an intermittent condition based on the interior temperature of the vehicle. Clusters that are vulnerable to this condition will have the pointer stick at elevated interior temperatures or when the cluster has been operating for a period of time.

Cause
This condition may be caused by cluster needles that were installed too deep on the gage.

Correction
Replace the instrument panel cluster. Refer to Instrument Cluster Replacement in SI. Reprogram the instrument panel cluster using the Multiple Diagnostic Interface (MDI) and Service Programming System (SPS) with the latest TIS2WEB calibrations after replacement. Refer to Instrument Cluster Reprogramming in SI.

Parts Information
Important: DO NOT obtain parts from GMSPO. Contact a GM authorized Electronic Service Center (ESC) for replacement.

To identify the correct part number, use the Global Diagnostic System (GDS) application or remove the unit for inspection.

Warranty Information
For vehicle repaired under warranty, use:

Labor Operation
Description
Labor Time

N4180
Instrument Cluster Replacement
Use Published Labor Operation Time

N4199
Instrument Cluster Reprogramming with SPS

GM bulletins are intended for use by professional technicians, NOT a "do-it-yourselfer". They are written to inform these technicians of conditions that may occur on some vehicles, or to provide information that could assist in the proper service of a vehicle. Properly trained technicians have the equipment, tools, safety instructions, and know-how to do a job properly and safely. If a condition is described, DO NOT assume that the bulletin applies to your vehicle, or that your vehicle will have that condition. See your GM dealer for information on whether your vehicle may benefit from the information.

WE SUPPORT VOLUNTARY TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION


© 2009 General Motors Corporation. All rights reserved.
WorldClassRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 11:45 PM   #16
WorldClassRS
 
Drives: 2010 RJT LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by diggermike62 View Post
I have a 2SS, I have an intermitent problem with the speedo also. It reads faster than I am actually going. I did take it back to the dealer, and they have ordered a new gauge cluster. problem is that the Camaro's are so new that the dealerships dont have the software for their diagnostic equipment to even look at them. I was told by my dealership that they are getting their programs updated this month. so looking into problemas will get easier as time goes on. Technology ita a wonderful thing.

diggermike62 vin#3276
Sorry to tell you but the diagnostic software has been out since February.
WorldClassRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 04:05 PM   #17
Mod007
 
Mod007's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Austin TX,
Posts: 475
I having the same problem, the dealer told me they dont have the parts to fix it yet and that they'll get back to me.
__________________
Camaro SS/RS Corsa Catback
Mod007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 11:02 PM   #18
Legend
Hello!
 
Legend's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 JSB Z06!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,624
Search works!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mine had been doing this for a couple weeks now too...must be the damn Texas heat (been a 100 everyday here lately!!).

Time to call the dealer!
Legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 12:45 AM   #19
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,104
Is there a screw for that dial that can be loosened?
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 09:49 AM   #20
neko95
neko95
 
neko95's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Central Wisconsin
Posts: 44
1SS/RS - last digits of VIN 0587. Problem just started yesterday; analog speedometer seems to be working okay but digital stopped displaying speed. Anyone having this problem and if so has it been resolved yet? I'm going to call the dealer today ...
neko95 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 06:56 PM   #21
camarotoofast
VIN #586 is Home
 
camarotoofast's Avatar
 
Drives: 00 Z28 Camaro 69 camaro 81 cam
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to camarotoofast
Hey neko95, I see your car was made right after mine (#586) I just had my gauge cluster replaced for the same problems. Took dealer 2 days to get the part. Its all good now
__________________
VIN # 586 is home
1ss,blk/blk,poilsh rims,B.A.upgrade,a6,stainless works catback.vararam more-to-come

Last edited by camarotoofast; 07-11-2009 at 07:07 PM.
camarotoofast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:34 PM   #22
neko95
neko95
 
neko95's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Central Wisconsin
Posts: 44
Thanks for the info. Dropped @ dealer 2 day, no response all day. LOL, will post repair. Only has 464 miles and problems, whats up with that?
neko95 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 01:18 PM   #23
fieldgoal00
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 769
what all do they have to take apart to replace the instrument cluster? Also make sure your dealer orders the right one in case you have the IOM interior package
fieldgoal00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 11:02 AM   #24
FrankT
400HP used to be enough..
 
FrankT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS rs manual
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Central NC
Posts: 706
My speedometer (analog) just quit working. Digital indicator in center stack works OK though. Car is at dealer now for repair. They said they will probably just replace the entire cluster. I'll post back when it is fixed as to what the dealer actually did.
FrankT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 09:36 AM   #25
STINGER BEE


 
STINGER BEE's Avatar
 
Drives: Drives a 2010 2SS/RS Camaro
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Great White North*****
Posts: 2,366
My speedometer quit on me yesterday,when this happen to you folks did you loose engine temp.,fuel indication,oil pressure etc. After I got to my destination I turn it of and back on ,it worked fine.
Also is it normal for the gauges to pend themselves when first starting the engine ,back to zero and then stabilizing itself once the engine is started, this has been like this since day one, therefore I assume it to be normal.It as been to the dealer before therefore if it was abnormal they would have said something I would think. Is their a TSB out on this issue other than the number listed here.


Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldClassRS View Post
xTooltipElement
Service Information
2010 Chevrolet Camaro | Camaro Service Manual | View All Bulletins | Document ID: 2291505
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#09-08-49-011: Instrument Panel Cluster Needle(s) Stick Intermittently (Replace Instrument Panel Cluster) - (Jun 15, 2009)


Subject: Instrument Panel Cluster Needle(s) Stick Intermittently (Replace Instrument Panel Cluster)


Models: 2010 Chevrolet Camaro




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Condition
Some customers may comment that one of the instrument cluster needles becomes stuck at a specific value. This may be an intermittent condition based on the interior temperature of the vehicle. Clusters that are vulnerable to this condition will have the pointer stick at elevated interior temperatures or when the cluster has been operating for a period of time.

Cause
This condition may be caused by cluster needles that were installed too deep on the gage.

Correction
Replace the instrument panel cluster. Refer to Instrument Cluster Replacement in SI. Reprogram the instrument panel cluster using the Multiple Diagnostic Interface (MDI) and Service Programming System (SPS) with the latest TIS2WEB calibrations after replacement. Refer to Instrument Cluster Reprogramming in SI.

Parts Information
Important: DO NOT obtain parts from GMSPO. Contact a GM authorized Electronic Service Center (ESC) for replacement.

To identify the correct part number, use the Global Diagnostic System (GDS) application or remove the unit for inspection.

Warranty Information
For vehicle repaired under warranty, use:

Labor Operation
Description
Labor Time

N4180
Instrument Cluster Replacement
Use Published Labor Operation Time

N4199
Instrument Cluster Reprogramming with SPS

GM bulletins are intended for use by professional technicians, NOT a "do-it-yourselfer". They are written to inform these technicians of conditions that may occur on some vehicles, or to provide information that could assist in the proper service of a vehicle. Properly trained technicians have the equipment, tools, safety instructions, and know-how to do a job properly and safely. If a condition is described, DO NOT assume that the bulletin applies to your vehicle, or that your vehicle will have that condition. See your GM dealer for information on whether your vehicle may benefit from the information.

WE SUPPORT VOLUNTARY TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION


© 2009 General Motors Corporation. All rights reserved.
__________________
RUMBLE BEE

Last edited by STINGER BEE; 11-17-2011 at 02:46 PM.
STINGER BEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:02 AM   #26
jcamere94z28

 
jcamere94z28's Avatar
 
Drives: None
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,269
Should my dealer be telling me that because the car is not longer under bumper to bumper warranty they can't fix this?
jcamere94z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 02:16 PM   #27
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 9,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcamere94z28 View Post
Should my dealer be telling me that because the car is not longer under bumper to bumper warranty they can't fix this?
Hi jcamere94z28,
If you'd like us to research your vehicle issue and concerns, please send us a PM with your mileage, VIN, contact info and name of dealer. The dealership has the ability to approve or deny warranty coverage if your current vehicle concerns do not fall into their recall or warranty guidelines. It is dependent on their diagnosis. Anything outside of those guidelines would cause you to incur cost that would be your responsibility if the dealership determines so. As I cannot comment at this point until I receive further info from you, please let us know if you'd like us to look into your concerns further.

Thank you,
Sara (Assisting Brandon)
Chevrolet Customer Service
Chevrolet Customer Svc is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.