Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
horizon670
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Marketplace > Sponsors Classifieds Marketplace > V8 Bolt-Ons & Tunes

V8 Bolt-Ons & Tunes Intake, exhaust, tunes, other bolt-ons.

View our official forum sponsors list.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2013, 11:59 AM   #26
PalmerGA


 
PalmerGA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SIM 1SS/RS L99
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southwest GA
Posts: 4,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by cam62 View Post
I wouldn't condone lying to a service department.
Nor do I.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cam62 View Post
I'm sure we can find a tuner (independant source, might have to pay a bit though) here who can view the ECM and see if any permanent modifications were made. Simply viewing the ECM settings will not increment the flash counter. The only problem I see with that is this device will cut into their business since part of a tune is generally to turn off AFM.
That would be the way to go but, considering your last sentence... if I were a tuner I tell you (us) to take a hike.
__________________
2013 1SS/RS Coupe L99
CAI Air Intake w/ Apex Scoop
VMAX CNC Ported Throttle Body
Solo Axle-Back Exhaust w/ J-pipes
RX Catch Can
Heritage Grille
Emblem Pros Retro SS Badges
Emblem Pros Custom Retro SS Kickplates
Emblem Pros Under-hood Bowtie
PalmerGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:01 PM   #27
funnyfuel
 
funnyfuel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by cam62 View Post
Then why didn't you just get a tune?
With a tune generally AFM is disabled, transmission settings for performance and bump up the horsepower all in one shot for not much more than this device costs.
This device is perfect for us who don't want to potentially void our powertrain warranties but HATE the AFM.
Simple answer. Maybe I'd like to save a little fuel on a long trip across the country with my wife, and leave it out. I know exactly where the drop down menu is to "Diable" the DoD. I am not interested in that. I like it just the way it is now, and it's perfect for ME. Others can have their opinions, but I did this for ME. I think it's great.
funnyfuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:03 PM   #28
cam62

 
Drives: 2012 IBM Vert 2SS/rs
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by funnyfuel View Post
Simple answer. Maybe I'd like to save a little fuel on a long trip across the country with my wife, and leave it out. I know exactly where the drop down menu is to "Diable" the DoD. I am not interested in that. I like it just the way it is now, and it's perfect for ME. Others can have their opinions, but I did this for ME. I think it's great.
__________________
rx catch can;vmax ported throttle body;bowtie delete;SLP SS emblem;CAI cold air intake
cam62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:09 PM   #29
Adam @ Range

 
Drives: 2011 Tahoe, 1971 Corvette
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by cam62 View Post
I wouldn't condone lying to a service department.

I'm sure we can find a tuner (independant source, might have to pay a bit though) here who can view the ECM and see if any permanent modifications were made. Simply viewing the ECM settings will not increment the flash counter. The only problem I see with that is this device will cut into their business since part of a tune is generally to turn off AFM.
Cam:
The best way to do this is take a car that has driven with the Range device (but has never been flashed with a tune) to a dealer. Tell them that you'd like to buy the car, but want to see if it's ever been reflashed by something other than the dealer diagnostic tool.

Best,
Adam
Adam @ Range is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:13 PM   #30
cam62

 
Drives: 2012 IBM Vert 2SS/rs
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam @ Range View Post
Cam:
The best way to do this is take a car that has driven with the Range device (but has never been flashed with a tune) to a dealer. Tell them that you'd like to buy the car, but want to see if it's ever been reflashed by something other than the dealer diagnostic tool.

Best,
Adam
Thanks Adam.. I'm already sold and not sure it's worth the time and effort to me. Good suggestion though!

I was just tossing options out there for others that still have concerns.

I ordered mine yesterday and it looks like you've shipped already.. Thanks for the prompt shipping. Looking forward to getting it, as are most of the people in Tampa Bay Camaros Club with L99.
__________________
rx catch can;vmax ported throttle body;bowtie delete;SLP SS emblem;CAI cold air intake
cam62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:20 PM   #31
Rockhound
 
Rockhound's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS L99
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 27
Nice test Palmer!

1. Device Installation was a very simple process. The device plugs directly into the On Board Diagnostics (OBD-II) port, located under the dash in the driver’s compartment. The port is to the left of the Hood Release lever (see photo). The device can only be plugged in one way so it should not be a problem for anyone to install.
NOTE: I installed the device with the ignition in the full OFF position, even though no directions provided stated to do it that way – just made sense to me. I will neither plug in nor unplug the device with the ignition on.
Attachment 486269

Looking at your pic of the device, I'm wondering if I have enough foot/leg room not to knock it out of the port?
Size 14 boots.......and 36" inseam, I need room!

I was on a 545 mile road trip yesterday....and the Phuckin' AFM was driving me nuts.
You tested some hills, but my biggest issues were when I was going down a long grade in V4 and a 1/3 of the way up the grade it would kick into V8 mode.

Back and forth....back and forth!

I would finally drop it into manual 6 gear mode, to lock it out.
This sucks when passing in a pinch and you forget it's in manual sixth ......there is NO downshifting!

This can be dangerous for a split second, until you quickly play with the shifter, so the blasted thing will downshift....giving you the power to pass that slow poke, holding every one up!

I will be ordering one soon, but I need to find out more on the physical space it consumes.
Rockhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:22 PM   #32
cam62

 
Drives: 2012 IBM Vert 2SS/rs
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockhound View Post
Looking at your pic of the device, I'm wondering if I have enough foot/leg room not to knock it out of the port?
Size 14 boots.......and 36" inseam, I need room!
hmm.. didn't think about that.. I don't need quite as much room as you. Size 13 and 34" inseam.. but have never felt that leg or knee room is an issue.
One thing I can say for every Chevrolet car I've driven is plenty of leg and knee room. Not like the crustangs.

Mine is on order and I'll know soon enough
__________________
rx catch can;vmax ported throttle body;bowtie delete;SLP SS emblem;CAI cold air intake
cam62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:24 PM   #33
90503


 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Torrance
Posts: 10,075
...possibly some sort of extension, adaptor cord...then affix it somehow in a different location....
90503 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:36 PM   #34
Brilac
 
Brilac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS GFX Red Jewel Tintcoat
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 65
Thanks all for the reviews.
This is just what i've been wanting. Get rid of afm when I want to(most of the time) and revert back when on long trips for better mileage.Simple plug and play.

I just ordered mine and can't wait to get it and plug it in....
__________________
<img src=http://www.camaro5.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=60812&dateline=1336178863 border=0 alt= />
Brilac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:40 PM   #35
Adam @ Range

 
Drives: 2011 Tahoe, 1971 Corvette
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockhound View Post
1. Device Installation was a very simple process. The device plugs directly into the On Board Diagnostics (OBD-II) port, located under the dash in the driver’s compartment. The port is to the left of the Hood Release lever (see photo). The device can only be plugged in one way so it should not be a problem for anyone to install.
NOTE: I installed the device with the ignition in the full OFF position, even though no directions provided stated to do it that way – just made sense to me. I will neither plug in nor unplug the device with the ignition on.
Attachment 486269

Looking at your pic of the device, I'm wondering if I have enough foot/leg room not to knock it out of the port?
Size 14 boots.......and 36" inseam, I need room!

I was on a 545 mile road trip yesterday....and the Phuckin' AFM was driving me nuts.
You tested some hills, but my biggest issues were when I was going down a long grade in V4 and a 1/3 of the way up the grade it would kick into V8 mode.

Back and forth....back and forth!

I would finally drop it into manual 6 gear mode, to lock it out.
This sucks when passing in a pinch and you forget it's in manual sixth ......there is NO downshifting!

This can be dangerous for a split second, until you quickly play with the shifter, so the blasted thing will downshift....giving you the power to pass that slow poke, holding every one up!

I will be ordering one soon, but I need to find out more on the physical space it consumes.
I did some more testing on that yesterday. I don't think it will be an issue. If it is - we'll likely offer an extension cable as well. We can source those pretty inexpensively.

Adam
Adam @ Range is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:48 PM   #36
cam62

 
Drives: 2012 IBM Vert 2SS/rs
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam @ Range View Post
I did some more testing on that yesterday. I don't think it will be an issue. If it is - we'll likely offer an extension cable as well. We can source those pretty inexpensively.

Adam
You guys are good!
__________________
rx catch can;vmax ported throttle body;bowtie delete;SLP SS emblem;CAI cold air intake
cam62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:54 PM   #37
Barryj2065
AWZUM-SS
 
Barryj2065's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Black 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, Va.
Posts: 127
Thanks again Palmer for the great review.
__________________
Barryj2065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:55 PM   #38
Adam @ Range

 
Drives: 2011 Tahoe, 1971 Corvette
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barryj2065 View Post
Thanks again Palmer for the great review.
Thanks for the order, Barry. We'll ship it out tomorrow.

Adam
Adam @ Range is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 01:02 PM   #39
GMTool

 
GMTool's Avatar
 
Drives: AGM 2012 Camaro 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southwest Illinois
Posts: 1,215
If I needed this product, no doubt I'd be ordering one. I was wondering the same thing that was mentioned above. It looks like my big foot might knock the device out of the connection if I wasn't careful. Ive had problems in other cars with my foot hitting the parking brake or other things under the dash. I am really happy for everyone that this product is available. All I can say is, it's about time, and what took so long? Just Joking
__________________
CAI Cold Air Kit. Dynatech Headers. High Flow Cats. Corsa Catback. JRE SCT X3 Tune. OEM Strut Tower Brace
GMTool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 01:07 PM   #40
merlin803
 
merlin803's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Ashen Gray Camaro 2SS RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by oklapike View Post
So, there was another question asked in another thread, and I'm sure that member PMed to ask his question. However, I'd like to know too: How long is the Camaro5 discount good for?
Not sure if this had been answered but I would also like to know.

Thanks!
merlin803 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 01:23 PM   #41
Rockhound
 
Rockhound's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS L99
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 27
Just ordered......discount still there.

I need to build a larger dog house!

Between the Panhead, Camaro and a few other items I keep messin' with......she will eventually take my card away!

I'll post up leg room logistics and the car's performance when I receive "The AFM Killer"!
Rockhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 01:26 PM   #42
funnyfuel
 
funnyfuel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockhound View Post
Just ordered......discount still there.

I need to build a larger dog house!

Between the Panhead, Camaro and a few other items I keep messin' with......she will eventually take my card away!

I'll post up leg room logistics and the car's performance when I receive "The AFM Killer"!


I think you'll be happy and surprised. It's not really that big at all. I'm not a small guy either, and it just isn't a problem at all. Even getting in or out.
funnyfuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 01:32 PM   #43
PalmerGA


 
PalmerGA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SIM 1SS/RS L99
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southwest GA
Posts: 4,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockhound View Post
Looking at your pic of the device, I'm wondering if I have enough foot/leg room not to knock it out of the port?
Size 14 boots.......and 36" inseam, I need room!
Actually, rock, that was the first thing I thought of when I plugged it in. I'm not as big as you (I'm 6'3" w/ 33" inseam) but it causes no problem for me. It seems to be far enough under the dash and far enough to the left that you (or at least I) would have to really try to make contact with it to do so. Also, when driving, it is far enough under the dash that you knees can't get at it. I don't think it would be any problem but, hey... you can always send it back if it is.
__________________
2013 1SS/RS Coupe L99
CAI Air Intake w/ Apex Scoop
VMAX CNC Ported Throttle Body
Solo Axle-Back Exhaust w/ J-pipes
RX Catch Can
Heritage Grille
Emblem Pros Retro SS Badges
Emblem Pros Custom Retro SS Kickplates
Emblem Pros Under-hood Bowtie
PalmerGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 02:11 PM   #44
Adam @ Range

 
Drives: 2011 Tahoe, 1971 Corvette
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin803 View Post
Not sure if this had been answered but I would also like to know.

Thanks!
Merlin:
We'll probably keep it up for at least another couple weeks, or so. We have had a ton of orders today, so hopefully we'll start seeing some more reviews to make people feel a bit more comfortable with the technology. No need to rush into purchasing - we'll be here.

Thanks,
Adam
Adam @ Range is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 02:57 PM   #45
RED DEMON SS
OFF THE CHAIN
 
RED DEMON SS's Avatar
 
Drives: RED DEMON!
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: PNW MISFIT
Posts: 7,971
Awesome news from everyone and the discount being good for another 2 weeks is also awesome!
__________________
"In Loving Memory Of Charles "Chuck Da' Wild Man" Collett"
RED DEMON SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 04:08 PM   #46
Adam @ Range

 
Drives: 2011 Tahoe, 1971 Corvette
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr pogo View Post
I have a question.
I know GM has added different circuits to the obd2 port depending on the model/year.
does this device in any way change or affect the trans shifting parameters?
I ask because I remember the kits back in the day that used a resistor to change the maf reading so the trans would shift firmer and that your product somehow changes signals to keep AFM disabled.
Mr. Pogo:
No. We do not interrupt any of the current communication. There is a protocol to follow when communicating on the bus and we follow it. If you don't know what you're doing, you'll get check engine lights and transmission issues.

Hope this helps...
Adam
Adam @ Range is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 04:36 PM   #47
SSGUNNER
Chu no guat a hasa is?
 
SSGUNNER's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 2SS/RSL99No Longer Stock
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Some where in So Cal
Posts: 3,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockhound View Post
1. Device Installation was a very simple process. The device plugs directly into the On Board Diagnostics (OBD-II) port, located under the dash in the driver’s compartment. The port is to the left of the Hood Release lever (see photo). The device can only be plugged in one way so it should not be a problem for anyone to install.
NOTE: I installed the device with the ignition in the full OFF position, even though no directions provided stated to do it that way – just made sense to me. I will neither plug in nor unplug the device with the ignition on.
Attachment 486269

Looking at your pic of the device, I'm wondering if I have enough foot/leg room not to knock it out of the port?
Size 14 boots.......and 36" inseam, I need room!

I was on a 545 mile road trip yesterday....and the Phuckin' AFM was driving me nuts.
You tested some hills, but my biggest issues were when I was going down a long grade in V4 and a 1/3 of the way up the grade it would kick into V8 mode.

Back and forth....back and forth!

I would finally drop it into manual 6 gear mode, to lock it out.
This sucks when passing in a pinch and you forget it's in manual sixth ......there is NO downshifting!

This can be dangerous for a split second, until you quickly play with the shifter, so the blasted thing will downshift....giving you the power to pass that slow poke, holding every one up!

I will be ordering one soon, but I need to find out more on the physical space it consumes.

Im trippin' out my ODBII is to the oposite of ur picture. Did this chsnge on the 12's 13's???
__________________
AAC Plasma DRL's,Plug n play harness,Elite CC,Tint: 35% & 5%, LED Dome light, Show-N-Go Plate Holder, Flowmaster AT, C.A.I. Intake, VMAX CNC Spiral Ported TB
SSGUNNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 04:41 PM   #48
funnyfuel
 
funnyfuel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSGUNNER View Post
Im trippin' out my ODBII is to the oposite of ur picture. Did this chsnge on the 12's 13's???
Maybe. Mine goes in with the light facing toward the firewall. I don't care, it only goes in one way.
funnyfuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 05:32 PM   #49
BronxxBombers213

 
BronxxBombers213's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam @ Range View Post
I did some more testing on that yesterday. I don't think it will be an issue. If it is - we'll likely offer an extension cable as well. We can source those pretty inexpensively.

Adam
If you can get some that have the wire out the side like this I want! I think most of us will agree.. It will allow the wire to tuck in the dash much better

http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...d=290690420324
__________________
BronxxBombers213 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 05:46 PM   #50
BLACKCAMARO2SS
 
BLACKCAMARO2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 45TH VERT 2SS
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 273
I'm AFM Free!!!!! Installed my Range V8. My Solo Exhaust was a dead give away when AFM kicked in. Thanks to Adam and the staff at Range.
BLACKCAMARO2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.