Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > Off-topic Discussions > Gaming Lounge


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2013, 11:07 AM   #52
nikos30
HT5 EastSide
 
nikos30's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ/PA
Posts: 1,577
maybe look into getting a modular power supply if you want better cable arrangements
__________________
nikos30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:48 AM   #53
Gigachip
Yea...
 
Gigachip's Avatar
 
Drives: Depends on game
Join Date: May 2010
Location: My Computer
Posts: 10,258
Send a message via AIM to Gigachip
New build on the horizon here (parts ordered, just gotta put together)
heres a teaser (Mini-ITX..I really want to build a tiny low cost gaming rig lol)
I will say theres a HD 7970 (taken out of trifire) and a 2600k in it (CPU before I upgraded to 3770k on last build)



Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyg36 View Post
Well... I don't need it for anything else, so basically whatever it takes to melt my face in BF4 awesomeness. I can get Windows for free (not pirated) so that frees up about $150.
well a budget will help in what type of parts we advise you to get.
if not heck, we can tell you to get 4 titans (~$4k) or 2 gtx 690s (~$2k)
and thats just in graphics cards


Quote:
Originally Posted by nikos30 View Post
maybe look into getting a modular power supply if you want better cable arrangements
this, getting a semi modular or full modular is a great way to begin cable management

plus getting a case with space behind the motherboard also helps

Edit: I just realized I haven't uploaded the interior shot of my latest rig (i uploaded the desk shot lol)
__________________
Gigachip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:33 PM   #54
mikeyg36


 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28 #533, 2016 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Garden City, NY/Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 6,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigachip View Post
New build on the horizon here (parts ordered, just gotta put together)
heres a teaser (Mini-ITX..I really want to build a tiny low cost gaming rig lol)
I will say theres a HD 7970 (taken out of trifire) and a 2600k in it (CPU before I upgraded to 3770k on last build)





well a budget will help in what type of parts we advise you to get.
if not heck, we can tell you to get 4 titans (~$4k) or 2 gtx 690s (~$2k)
and thats just in graphics cards




this, getting a semi modular or full modular is a great way to begin cable management

plus getting a case with space behind the motherboard also helps

Edit: I just realized I haven't uploaded the interior shot of my latest rig (i uploaded the desk shot lol)
Okay, but getting the best cards possible doesnt meen it will run BF4 the absolute best. I'm assuming there's a cut off point where a better card will yield the same results as a cheaper one. Lets go with $1500 though.
__________________
“Driving a muscle car fast isn't that fun, it's driving one slowly and making a ton of noise and pissing people off, that's what’s fun.” –Matt Farah
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:44 PM   #55
nikos30
HT5 EastSide
 
nikos30's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ/PA
Posts: 1,577
1500 total for everything? thats doable.
__________________
nikos30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:47 PM   #56
Gigachip
Yea...
 
Gigachip's Avatar
 
Drives: Depends on game
Join Date: May 2010
Location: My Computer
Posts: 10,258
Send a message via AIM to Gigachip
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyg36 View Post
Okay, but getting the best cards possible doesnt meen it will run BF4 the absolute best. I'm assuming there's a cut off point where a better card will yield the same results as a cheaper one. Lets go with $1500 though.
there is a cutoff, but it depends on your monitors resolution/ refresh rate/ and how many monitors (eyefinity/surround)
if its only 1920x1080 then yes, no point in buying anything extreme.
lets face it, if its a 60hz 1080p monitor and a 7850/660 gets you 60-80fps in a game, its no different than a 7970/680 getting 120-140 fps in same game same settings
as far as what to get now? I would think its too early to really say what to get. Only safe thing to say is get a top tier card/CPU. Once system specs come out (if they did come out I'm not aware) for BF4 then it'll be easy to plan around it.
__________________
Gigachip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:49 PM   #57
Gigachip
Yea...
 
Gigachip's Avatar
 
Drives: Depends on game
Join Date: May 2010
Location: My Computer
Posts: 10,258
Send a message via AIM to Gigachip
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikos30 View Post
1500 total for everything? thats doable.
its extremely doable
my new rig isn't even going to break the 1100-1200 mark and I'm sure it'll play bf4
but I'm not holding my breath for the ultra settings <--my rig with ~$1500 i'm sure it'll happen

ps: we're buddies on origin and steam but I've yet to play any game with you lol
__________________
Gigachip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:53 PM   #58
mikeyg36


 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28 #533, 2016 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Garden City, NY/Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 6,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigachip View Post
there is a cutoff, but it depends on your monitors resolution/ refresh rate/ and how many monitors (eyefinity/surround)
if its only 1920x1080 then yes, no point in buying anything extreme.
lets face it, if its a 60hz 1080p monitor and a 7850/660 gets you 60-80fps in a game, its no different than a 7970/680 getting 120-140 fps in same game same settings
as far as what to get now? I would think its too early to really say what to get. Only safe thing to say is get a top tier card/CPU. Once system specs come out (if they did come out I'm not aware) for BF4 then it'll be easy to plan around it.
I'm hooking it up to a 55" TV with a 240hz refresh rate. I would use my Xbox, but it looks like $hit on there. Like I said before, I won't use this computer for ANYTHING else.
__________________
“Driving a muscle car fast isn't that fun, it's driving one slowly and making a ton of noise and pissing people off, that's what’s fun.” –Matt Farah
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 03:11 PM   #59
Gigachip
Yea...
 
Gigachip's Avatar
 
Drives: Depends on game
Join Date: May 2010
Location: My Computer
Posts: 10,258
Send a message via AIM to Gigachip
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyg36 View Post
I'm hooking it up to a 55" TV with a 240hz refresh rate. I would use my Xbox, but it looks like $hit on there. Like I said before, I won't use this computer for ANYTHING else.
then here is a starting list Cost ~$1100
others in the thread will for sure give their opinions
I'm just posting these items cause I like/trust the brands
RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233281
PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139020
GPU(GTX 670 follows close behind a 680 so with OC'ing it matches a stock 680. plus it has 4gb of RAM for visuals)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121659
Mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131877
CPU(PS4 and I'm assuming the new xbox are using AMD CPUs, might as well get one too)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819113284
CPU Cooler one of those
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...1&name=Corsair
__________________
Gigachip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 03:21 PM   #60
mikeyg36


 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28 #533, 2016 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Garden City, NY/Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 6,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigachip View Post
then here is a starting list Cost ~$1100
others in the thread will for sure give their opinions
I'm just posting these items cause I like/trust the brands
RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233281
PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139020
GPU(GTX 670 follows close behind a 680 so with OC'ing it matches a stock 680. plus it has 4gb of RAM for visuals)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121659
Mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131877
CPU(PS4 and I'm assuming the new xbox are using AMD CPUs, might as well get one too)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819113284
CPU Cooler one of those
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...1&name=Corsair
That sounds pretty good. Any modular supplies that you recommend? I have wire OCD . I'd also need a good case. Any benefits with the AMD? I've always used Intel. Also, wouldn't it benefit to use an AMD GPU along with the AMD CPU
__________________
“Driving a muscle car fast isn't that fun, it's driving one slowly and making a ton of noise and pissing people off, that's what’s fun.” –Matt Farah
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 04:05 PM   #61
Gigachip
Yea...
 
Gigachip's Avatar
 
Drives: Depends on game
Join Date: May 2010
Location: My Computer
Posts: 10,258
Send a message via AIM to Gigachip
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyg36 View Post
That sounds pretty good. Any modular supplies that you recommend? I have wire OCD . I'd also need a good case. Any benefits with the AMD? I've always used Intel. Also, wouldn't it benefit to use an AMD GPU along with the AMD CPU
The AMD CPU in gaming benchmarks has shown to be about on par of the i5-3570k, just cheaper. Then as far as I can tell with matching of brands it doesnt matter (amd to amd/intel to nvidia). Though if you want GTX 680 performance but with an AMD card, I recommend this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150632
I did a BIOS flash on my 2 cards to make them the Ghz edition. IMO worth it.
Full modular PSU(Again corsair)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139042
__________________
Gigachip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 04:08 PM   #62
mikeyg36


 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28 #533, 2016 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Garden City, NY/Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 6,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigachip View Post
The AMD CPU in gaming benchmarks has shown to be about on par of the i5-3570k, just cheaper. Then as far as I can tell with matching of brands it doesnt matter (amd to amd/intel to nvidia). Though if you want GTX 680 performance but with an AMD card, I recommend this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150632
I did a BIOS flash on my 2 cards to make them the Ghz edition. IMO worth it.
Full modular PSU(Again corsair)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139042
Excellent. Thanks a bunch man!
__________________
“Driving a muscle car fast isn't that fun, it's driving one slowly and making a ton of noise and pissing people off, that's what’s fun.” –Matt Farah
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 04:20 PM   #63
Gigachip
Yea...
 
Gigachip's Avatar
 
Drives: Depends on game
Join Date: May 2010
Location: My Computer
Posts: 10,258
Send a message via AIM to Gigachip
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyg36 View Post
Excellent. Thanks a bunch man!
NP
__________________
Gigachip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 07:14 PM   #64
Ice992
Semper Fi
 
Ice992's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigachip View Post
then here is a starting list Cost ~$1100
others in the thread will for sure give their opinions
I'm just posting these items cause I like/trust the brands
RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233281
PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139020
GPU(GTX 670 follows close behind a 680 so with OC'ing it matches a stock 680. plus it has 4gb of RAM for visuals)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121659
Mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131877
CPU(PS4 and I'm assuming the new xbox are using AMD CPUs, might as well get one too)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819113284
CPU Cooler one of those
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...1&name=Corsair
Actually........ the 670 (particularly the 4gb) typically only benchmarks 4-5% slower than a 680. Is an extra 5% (even 6%) worth an extra $130 price jump? Hardly.

A friend and I did a real world test just to see. I had a single 670 4gb, he had a single 680 4gb. Neither were superclocked.

He only outran me by 1-2 FPS. He lost a bet that day. He swore that he'd outrun my vid card by at least 15 FPS.

If you've got the pocket for it by all means, go big or go home. Me personnaly, if I did it again today, I'd still run 2 of these: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00966IRL8/?tag=pcpapi-20
__________________
-Daniel

Ready to live life on your terms?

-H-Town Camaro Club-
Ice992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 07:25 PM   #65
Gigachip
Yea...
 
Gigachip's Avatar
 
Drives: Depends on game
Join Date: May 2010
Location: My Computer
Posts: 10,258
Send a message via AIM to Gigachip
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice992 View Post
Actually........ the 670 (particularly the 4gb) typically only benchmarks 4-5% slower than a 680. Is an extra 5% (even 6%) worth an extra $130 price jump? Hardly.
thats what I'm saying
Though I don't have a 680 to compare my 670 to.
I've ran it on my PC (3770k OC'd 4.5ghz) in sli vs the 7970 in xfire as well
below are just 2 of my benchmarks I've ran.

Galaxy reference 670s
GTX 670s SLI
http://www.3dmark.com/fs/305686

Visiontek reference 7970s(bios flashed to Ghz Editions)
Radeon HD 7970 xfire
http://www.3dmark.com/fs/332153

for solos I ended up only doing the AMD card solo on my intel pc :( I ran the 670 solo on my fx cpu
__________________

Last edited by Gigachip; 04-01-2013 at 07:39 PM.
Gigachip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 07:35 PM   #66
Hitman84
 
Hitman84's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 IOM 2LT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 548
This thread was a fun read. My rig is 2 years old at this point but still holding up pretty well.
I don't remember exact specs but

Intel sandy bridge i5 Oced to 4ghz from 3.3 stock on air(love this CPU)(always been an intel)
Msi Gtx 560ti twin frozer
G skill ram
Asus sabertooth , think she was the first one.

All in a monster full tower cm stacker 820 iirc

Have to get the rest when I get home.
__________________
Hitman84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 07:35 PM   #67
mikeyg36


 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28 #533, 2016 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Garden City, NY/Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 6,694
I have no idea what y'all are talking about... Just tell me which one's better
__________________
“Driving a muscle car fast isn't that fun, it's driving one slowly and making a ton of noise and pissing people off, that's what’s fun.” –Matt Farah
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 07:54 PM   #68
Gigachip
Yea...
 
Gigachip's Avatar
 
Drives: Depends on game
Join Date: May 2010
Location: My Computer
Posts: 10,258
Send a message via AIM to Gigachip
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyg36 View Post
I have no idea what y'all are talking about... Just tell me which one's better
thats what we were talking about lol
the 670 is only slightly behind the 680(and the 7970 Ghz Ed.)
670 4gb version = ~$450 (just guessing a near avg)
680 4gb v. = ~$550 (again..just guessing near avg)
7970 Ghz Ed. 3gb = ~$450

what we were saying is, with the 670 slightly behind the 680 in performance, the cost value isn't really justified.
from playing at 1600x900 resolution (slightly smaller than 1080 btw) crysis 3 on my 670 (2gb version) was being used ~95% of its RAM.
trade off between the 670 and 7970 ghz ed. Being around the same price:
AMD:
faster clocks / beating/matching 680 now
only 3gb of ram
Nvidia:
slightly slower than 680
more RAM than 7970
less power hungry

actually, let me restate that...
for the $450 market I'd pick the GTX 670 4gb model
if I was in the $550 market I'd get the 7970 6gb Ghz Ed. model

EDIT: BUT since you're playing on a tv just get 670 :P
__________________

Last edited by Gigachip; 04-01-2013 at 08:04 PM.
Gigachip is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.