Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vitesse Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2012, 11:06 AM   #35
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkrupinski View Post
Just use the same size that is on there now. Not sure of exact size but the port on the back of the blower will determine that. Just make sure ot is a snug fit and zip tie it on the blower side the T Fitting will not need zip tied because it is barbed.
Ok cool. I believe it's a quarter inch ID. Could maybe stand to be a tad smaller but it won't come loose or leak so I guess it's fine.


Quote:
Originally Posted by GSUNCSU View Post
Anything but Da' Red Hose.
I thought about it. LOL
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 01:02 PM   #36
67motorcat
Blown Cool Breeze
 
67motorcat's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Black on Black 2SS M6
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pinehurst NC
Posts: 1,027
Looks fine to me...I would fasten your reference switch to something though so it doesn't bounce around against the inner fender metal if that is where it is going to stay..

Be sure and protect your vacuum line from sharp edges as well...I like to wrap it in split loom
__________________
2011 Black on Black 2SS M6
Had a 2010 IBM 2SS M6
Enjoy life.Think of all the women on the Titanic who passed up dessert.
67motorcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 01:09 PM   #37
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67motorcat View Post
Looks fine to me...I would fasten your reference switch to something though so it doesn't bounce around against the inner fender metal if that is where it is going to stay..

Be sure and protect your vacuum line from sharp edges as well...I like to wrap it in split loom
Cool.

Ya, I took the plug out of the hole that protected the hood release. I'll put some split loom on all three items going through. I planned on zip tying the reference switch to the battery cable but I pulled it up tight and figured I might just insulate it with something padded. Tucked back that far it will never be seen but I'm not sure if I want to clean it up better and put the switch in the car.

Hard to get to the hose barb coming out of the manifold to zip tie it. I'll find a way though.

BTW, what does that reference switch do exactly? I'm guessing simply tell the BAP that it's under boost and to turn on?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 05:16 PM   #38
67motorcat
Blown Cool Breeze
 
67motorcat's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Black on Black 2SS M6
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pinehurst NC
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Cool.



BTW, what does that reference switch do exactly? I'm guessing simply tell the BAP that it's under boost and to turn on?
Yep,thats exactly what it does.It senses a drop in vacuum to 0 and sends a signal to engage the BAP.

Thats why it is so critical to make sure that line does not malfunction or you could go lean...
__________________
2011 Black on Black 2SS M6
Had a 2010 IBM 2SS M6
Enjoy life.Think of all the women on the Titanic who passed up dessert.
67motorcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:10 PM   #39
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67motorcat View Post
Yep,thats exactly what it does.It senses a drop in vacuum to 0 and sends a signal to engage the BAP.

Thats why it is so critical to make sure that line does not malfunction or you could go lean...


I have no way here to test it. I can't boost the engine unless I run it. Can't get the fuel pressure driving it.

Is fuel pressure available on an SCT datalog?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 07:33 AM   #40
Southern Comfort
No Tags/Habitual Violator
 
Southern Comfort's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SIM 1LE & 2010 ABM/LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post


I have no way here to test it. I can't boost the engine unless I run it. Can't get the fuel pressure driving it.

Is fuel pressure available on an SCT datalog?
For whatever reason, I haven't found a good pid using SCT for reporting fuel pressure. I am confident there is a generic fuel pressure pid in the ECU because I use an alternative logger that captures it and reports in psi. Just haven't been successful in finding it using SCT
Maybe a call into SCT would help.
Southern Comfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:19 PM   #41
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southern Comfort View Post
Maybe a call into SCT would help.
Or moving away from Mobile Alabama.

I mean, I love it here but we have SHIT for dyno-shops.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 04:21 PM   #42
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 10,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRPQ View Post
Or moving away from Mobile Alabama.

I mean, I love it here but we have SHIT for dyno-shops.
try living in South Dakota... especially after coming from the middle of TX i'm pretty sure i'd have to go to Denver to even find a dyno. i know the closest road course is about 7-8hrs away
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 06:31 PM   #43
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra View Post
try living in South Dakota... especially after coming from the middle of TX i'm pretty sure i'd have to go to Denver to even find a dyno. i know the closest road course is about 7-8hrs away
Ya, but I'll bet you got some good roads to open it up on.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 07:12 PM   #44
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 10,520
hmm... so far i've seen


and


with the occasional




and


and let's not forget what we get when it warms up...


when the roads do clear up, they're that crappy grooved surface (to help in bad weather) instead of the nice good grippy roads y'all got down south


but at least my boost gauge works just fine
why didn't you just use the screw fitting on the manifold that should be right beside the nipple? that's where i hooked mine up to
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:12 PM   #45
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.