Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2013, 07:37 AM   #1
injector
 
injector's Avatar
 
Drives: LS3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Street
Posts: 108
Finished my Build now P0461 ISSUE

Hi All,

I finished my Build and I'm really happy , but now I've a fuel level issue. My fuel gauge will jump around throughout the day, Zero , half and so on. Check engine with a p0461 code.. During my build we found that LPE dual pumps (electronic version) was not calibrated for ,hence fuel pressure drop. So we got it calibrated for.

I read somewhere that the calibration provided by LPE has some flaws in them and that was fixed by either by JRE or adm (Can't remember exactly). I've also seen a thread by bull a while ago and I believe he switched to squash system now.. So not sure if he got the chance to find a solution to fix this issue.

Any help would be appreciated.. My tuner uses EFI live so that is not a problem.
__________________
Dimond Piston, H Beam, Chromly Pushrods, livernois 1C cam & Spring kit, Fast Intake & NW 102 TB, Ported Heads, Alky Methanol kit, ID850, LPE Dual pumps,,Melling HV oil Pump. D1SC 10 PSI, Stage2 Air Intake,Magnaflow Axle back, Mcleod clutch, Pedders XA coilovers and sway bars, HD bushings, Hurst shifter, ACS bumber and hood ports.
injector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:05 AM   #2
ADM PERFORMANCE

 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #138
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: DfW - Texas
Posts: 3,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by injector View Post
Hi All,

I finished my Build and I'm really happy , but now I've a fuel level issue. My fuel gauge will jump around throughout the day, Zero , half and so on. Check engine with a p0461 code.. During my build we found that LPE dual pumps (electronic version) was not calibrated for ,hence fuel pressure drop. So we got it calibrated for.

I read somewhere that the calibration provided by LPE has some flaws in them and that was fixed by either by JRE or adm (Can't remember exactly). I've also seen a thread by bull a while ago and I believe he switched to squash system now.. So not sure if he got the chance to find a solution to fix this issue.

Any help would be appreciated.. My tuner uses EFI live so that is not a problem.
It is not a tune problem currently:

Start here:

http://www.ls2.com/boggs/dtcs/DTC%20P0461.htm
ADM PERFORMANCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:19 AM   #3
BigMatt
2010 Camaro 2 SS/RS M6
 
BigMatt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Landenberg, Pa
Posts: 1,096
Send a message via AIM to BigMatt
I remember a while ago somebody had this same problem and it turned out they didn't have their wiring correct.
__________________
LS3, JRE Smooth Idle cam, CAI Inc, ARH 1 7/8, Corsa, MSD Wires, MGW Shifter, Street slayer clutch, Tick braided clutch line & speed bleeder, DSS 1000hp ds & 1400hp axles, BMR Split drop, Sway Bars, Trailing Arms, Toe Rods, Pro bushing kit, Spohn lcas, Whipple, LPE dual fuel pumps, Rx catch can, Id850s, Powerhaus Performance tuned.
BigMatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:34 AM   #4
mercedestech
 
mercedestech's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS IOM,2013 Mercedes ML350
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Akron
Posts: 505
Pay very close attention to all of the pins that get swapped into the new connector for the lpe fuel pump module. After installing mine I kept losing the fuel pressure sensor input to the module. I cant remember the exact code it was giving me, but the problem ended up being one of the female pins was spread and not making good contact. I found it by taking a male pin and checking all of the wires that had anything to do with the code I was getting by making sure each one felt snug when inserting the male pin. A pin drag test if you will. I crimped a new female pin on the wire with the issue and have been good since. Hope that helps. I had to go to the dealer for the new pin as it was part of the cars original wiring harness, but they didn't even charge me for it. The have hundreds of different pins organized in boxes in the shop for just this type of repair.
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS Whipple 2.9L, Rotofab CAI and coil covers, XS Power LT's and full 3" exhaust, Vengeance kaotic cam package (trunion kit,dual springs,titanium retainers,hardened pushrods,c5r chain,ls2 tensioner, melling oil pump) Mgw shifter, 160 deg Tstat, prosport gauges, LPE dual pump, FIC 60lb injectors, level 5 DSS Axles

1994 Z28 MSD optispark, K&N CAI, Magnaflow y pipe..Cat..and cat back. 1998 wheels, custom tune(sold )
1993 Base V6 sold to buy Z28
1994 Purple Pearl V6...sold
1979 Base Car with inline 250ci 6 cyl! My first car in 1989!
mercedestech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 12:52 PM   #5
injector
 
injector's Avatar
 
Drives: LS3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Street
Posts: 108
Thanks guys.. Dropped it today will check the wiring first.. Feels to me like a wiring issue..never had this issue before... Hopes nothing major..
__________________
Dimond Piston, H Beam, Chromly Pushrods, livernois 1C cam & Spring kit, Fast Intake & NW 102 TB, Ported Heads, Alky Methanol kit, ID850, LPE Dual pumps,,Melling HV oil Pump. D1SC 10 PSI, Stage2 Air Intake,Magnaflow Axle back, Mcleod clutch, Pedders XA coilovers and sway bars, HD bushings, Hurst shifter, ACS bumber and hood ports.
injector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 01:43 PM   #6
ADM PERFORMANCE

 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #138
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: DfW - Texas
Posts: 3,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by injector View Post
Thanks guys.. Dropped it today will check the wiring first.. Feels to me like a wiring issue..never had this issue before... Hopes nothing major..

I want everyone on this board to know that the fuel level data does not go through the fuel pump control module. Fuel level Sensor data goes directly to the ECM. The only place that you can make a mistake is at the fuel level Sensor data wiring inside the tank outside the tank and at the connectors above the tank
ADM PERFORMANCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 04:53 PM   #7
mercedestech
 
mercedestech's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS IOM,2013 Mercedes ML350
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Akron
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADM PERFORMANCE View Post
I want everyone on this board to know that the fuel level data does not go through the fuel pump control module. Fuel level Sensor data goes directly to the ECM. The only place that you can make a mistake is at the fuel level Sensor data wiring inside the tank outside the tank and at the connectors above the tank
Thanks Andy. I didn't realize the fuel sensor wires went straight to the ecm. Looks like the OP is going to have to drop the tank again and recheck all of his connections.
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS Whipple 2.9L, Rotofab CAI and coil covers, XS Power LT's and full 3" exhaust, Vengeance kaotic cam package (trunion kit,dual springs,titanium retainers,hardened pushrods,c5r chain,ls2 tensioner, melling oil pump) Mgw shifter, 160 deg Tstat, prosport gauges, LPE dual pump, FIC 60lb injectors, level 5 DSS Axles

1994 Z28 MSD optispark, K&N CAI, Magnaflow y pipe..Cat..and cat back. 1998 wheels, custom tune(sold )
1993 Base V6 sold to buy Z28
1994 Purple Pearl V6...sold
1979 Base Car with inline 250ci 6 cyl! My first car in 1989!
mercedestech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 05:39 PM   #8
injector
 
injector's Avatar
 
Drives: LS3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Street
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercedestech View Post
Thanks Andy. I didn't realize the fuel sensor wires went straight to the ecm. Looks like the OP is going to have to drop the tank again and recheck all of his connections.
I think so myself.Will get back with more details once done..
__________________
Dimond Piston, H Beam, Chromly Pushrods, livernois 1C cam & Spring kit, Fast Intake & NW 102 TB, Ported Heads, Alky Methanol kit, ID850, LPE Dual pumps,,Melling HV oil Pump. D1SC 10 PSI, Stage2 Air Intake,Magnaflow Axle back, Mcleod clutch, Pedders XA coilovers and sway bars, HD bushings, Hurst shifter, ACS bumber and hood ports.
injector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 12:32 PM   #9
swiftkart
 
swiftkart's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS LS3 M6
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 220
Double check that you didn't hit the fuel sensor slightly when putting it in the tank, I did and that pulled the very thin light weight electrical metering arm awat from it's contact so it would touch at one point and not at another, I throw the same code and about pulled my hair chasing it along with wiring and then pulled the pump and saw it, put a new sensor problem solved
swiftkart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 05:48 PM   #10
ADM PERFORMANCE

 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #138
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: DfW - Texas
Posts: 3,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftkart View Post
Double check that you didn't hit the fuel sensor slightly when putting it in the tank, I did and that pulled the very thin light weight electrical metering arm awat from it's contact so it would touch at one point and not at another, I throw the same code and about pulled my hair chasing it along with wiring and then pulled the pump and saw it, put a new sensor problem solved
ADM PERFORMANCE is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.