Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Anthony @ LG Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2013, 12:17 PM   #1
StephenS_84
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 986
What do you lose.

What features do you lose when installing a Scosche or Metra kits?
StephenS_84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 01:19 PM   #2
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2014 Cruze 1LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenS_84 View Post
What features do you lose when installing a Scosche or Metra kits?
You don't have to lose anything. If you get the standard Scosche kit, it does not come with the OnStar module, so OnStar would not work. However, you can always purchase the OnStar module (I think it's $50) and retain OnStar as well.

The Metra kit has 2 versions as well, but I believe that both have OnStar. The differences in the 2 Metra kits is that one retains steering wheel controls, and the other does not.

I'm not certain about the Alpine version of the Scosche kit, but I believe that it includes the OnStar module.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille
Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 06:22 AM   #3
jjwvette
 
jjwvette's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 52
You will lose outside temp
jjwvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 07:11 AM   #4
Eich
 
Drives: '11 SW/Beige 2SS RS Manual
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjwvette View Post
You will lose outside temp
The Metra kit has an outside temperature display.

And anyone with HUD has the abillity to view the temperature there.
Eich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 12:59 AM   #5
StephenS_84
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 986
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrider01 View Post
You don't have to lose anything. If you get the standard Scosche kit, it does not come with the OnStar module, so OnStar would not work. However, you can always purchase the OnStar module (I think it's $50) and retain OnStar as well.

The Metra kit has 2 versions as well, but I believe that both have OnStar. The differences in the 2 Metra kits is that one retains steering wheel controls, and the other does not.

I'm not certain about the Alpine version of the Scosche kit, but I believe that it includes the OnStar module.
Ok, thanks. I'll have to look into this more. I was waiting on the Mylink DIY, but I'm getting tired of waiting and want to change up my interior and add a custom system.
StephenS_84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 10:11 AM   #6
Robdollar77
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Jackson
Posts: 39
I believe you will lose the radio station display in the HUD and being able to change the cars settings that you would mess with in the stock radio if you use the metra kit but I wouldn't think that would be that big of a deal. You can keep onstar and steering wheel controls if you want.
Robdollar77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 10:39 AM   #7
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2014 Cruze 1LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robdollar77 View Post
I believe you will lose the radio station display in the HUD and being able to change the cars settings that you would mess with in the stock radio if you use the metra kit but I wouldn't think that would be that big of a deal. You can keep onstar and steering wheel controls if you want.
I don't know about the HUD as I do not have it, but you retain the ability to change all of the settings.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille
Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.