Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SDPC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2013, 05:38 PM   #18
spyder
 
Drives: 2010 V6 | M6
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: new york
Posts: 294
I'm not a mechanic but I feel like I can do the install of the iceolator. I know I need a flex head 13mm ratchet wrench for the rear bolts. What size or sizes should torque wrench be? Are all the bolts 13mm?
__________________
BBK 304 LT headers w/ coating | CAI Inc Intake w/ scoop | VMax Ice-olator | MRT v2 | Elite catch can | Trifecta Tune | Eagle halos | 20" Textured Black Forgestar F14s

- They call it the black panther.

2010 Camaro LLT
2008 Yamaha WR250X
spyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 06:10 PM   #19
rtcat600man
having FUN now 13.66@101
 
rtcat600man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT IOM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 8,787
13 mm bolts for all the ones on the top. 18 ft lbs of TQ when installing them. Be sure to do it while the engine is cold.
__________________
rtcat600man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:31 PM   #20
ChadG

 
ChadG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtcat600man View Post
13 mm bolts for all the ones on the top. 18 ft lbs of TQ when installing them. Be sure to do it while the engine is cold.
So would you consider buying a torque wrench for this install mandatory?

Would a $20 deflection bar torque wrench be good enough?
ChadG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:52 PM   #21
rtcat600man
having FUN now 13.66@101
 
rtcat600man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT IOM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 8,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadG View Post
So would you consider buying a torque wrench for this install mandatory?

Would a $20 deflection bar torque wrench be good enough?

Yes, breaking that bolt off in the head would be bad.

No, I would invest in a good torque wrench. Every mechanic should have one. Can be used for every bolt on the car. Including the lug nuts. I use mine often. Every time I change to my drag radials, rotate my tires, etc.
__________________
rtcat600man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 11:57 PM   #22
ChadG

 
ChadG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtcat600man View Post
Yes, breaking that bolt off in the head would be bad.

No, I would invest in a good torque wrench. Every mechanic should have one. Can be used for every bolt on the car. Including the lug nuts. I use mine often. Every time I change to my drag radials, rotate my tires, etc.
Mind sending me a link to one that is rtcat600man approved?
ChadG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 10:39 AM   #23
rtcat600man
having FUN now 13.66@101
 
rtcat600man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT IOM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 8,787
I didn't know Sears carried so many differant styles.

http://www.sears.com/search=torque+w...e=CAT_REC_PRED
__________________
rtcat600man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 11:10 AM   #24
LIM3
it's mind bottling..
 
LIM3's Avatar
 
Drives: SGM
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: miami floirda.
Posts: 5,380
Question regarding the DIY.
When port matching. Isn't it a bad this to have the dust from the shaving fall into the hole ?
__________________
LIM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 01:13 PM   #25
LIM3
it's mind bottling..
 
LIM3's Avatar
 
Drives: SGM
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: miami floirda.
Posts: 5,380
Oh and what are the benefits of port matching ?
__________________
LIM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 01:15 PM   #26
2010SLVRBULIT


 
2010SLVRBULIT's Avatar
 
Drives: G5(LLT) & C6(LS3)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MARS
Posts: 7,404
hmmm..anyone just try flaring the port w/o the isolator..any difference?
2010SLVRBULIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 08:31 PM   #27
pgustavson
Stop writing "vert", ffs!
 
pgustavson's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2LT Convertible
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gambrills, MD
Posts: 1,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIM3 View Post
Oh and what are the benefits of port matching ?
Gasket-matching has been said to be worth a few HP, but isn't entirely necessary if a stock intake manifold is being used, since the IM ports are same size as the head ports and both are smaller than the gasket openings. If the IM has been ported and its ports match the gasket opening, then the stock head ports leave a sharp corner sticking into the flow. It is recommended to blend that in to match the gasket opening. It isn't a lot of material that gets removed.
__________________
Vararam | Vmax Ported TB | Ported IM | Vmax Black ICE-olator
pgustavson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:02 PM   #28
LIM3
it's mind bottling..
 
LIM3's Avatar
 
Drives: SGM
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: miami floirda.
Posts: 5,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgustavson View Post
Gasket-matching has been said to be worth a few HP, but isn't entirely necessary if a stock intake manifold is being used, since the IM ports are same size as the head ports and both are smaller than the gasket openings. If the IM has been ported and its ports match the gasket opening, then the stock head ports leave a sharp corner sticking into the flow. It is recommended to blend that in to match the gasket opening. It isn't a lot of material that gets removed.
That's great to know !! If I decide to do this my self what should I do to prevent the dust and residue from falling in
__________________
LIM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:57 PM   #29
rtcat600man
having FUN now 13.66@101
 
rtcat600man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT IOM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 8,787
Here are a bunch of photos of mine when I installed my ported intake manifold.

The photos will show before and after of what the manifolds look like with the gasket. How much is removed. Another photo shows before and after on the heads too. Also a shot of how I stacked the gaskets with the ice-olator.

I used some rags stuffed in the holes to help keep debris from going into the passage ways. I used a shop vac the entire time I was grinding. Then shop vac'd the holes to the point I sucked up a couple rags too.
Attached Images
         
__________________
rtcat600man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 10:30 PM   #30
LIM3
it's mind bottling..
 
LIM3's Avatar
 
Drives: SGM
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: miami floirda.
Posts: 5,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtcat600man View Post
Here are a bunch of photos of mine when I installed my ported intake manifold.

The photos will show before and after of what the manifolds look like with the gasket. How much is removed. Another photo shows before and after on the heads too. Also a shot of how I stacked the gaskets with the ice-olator.

I used some rags stuffed in the holes to help keep debris from going into the passage ways. I used a shop vac the entire time I was grinding. Then shop vac'd the holes to the point I sucked up a couple rags too.
Thanks for the info. I think I might tackle this if I can get the black ico soon
__________________
LIM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 12:07 AM   #31
ChadG

 
ChadG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtcat600man View Post
I didn't know Sears carried so many differant styles.

http://www.sears.com/search=torque+w...e=CAT_REC_PRED
I know, and all of them have mixed reviews . . . the one you linked to was one of the ones I was looking at but why did you choose the one in inch-lbs vs. foot-lbs?

Did you know that Autozone.com will send you a tool for a deposit and then refund your deposit when you send it back? You can do it in person at a store or over their website, I was thinking about that option for the torque wrench but with something you want calibrated precisely I doubt one they've been loaning out will be reliable. Looks like I'm headed to Sears!

Thanks!

Chad
ChadG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 07:05 AM   #32
rtcat600man
having FUN now 13.66@101
 
rtcat600man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT IOM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 8,787
The link takes you to everything Sears offered. Just so happened the first on is the one you see with inch pounds.

For sure you want ft. lbs........

Knowing I have had mine for over 15 years and use it often. I would certainly look to buy one. ......

Good Luck, and anytime you need a question answered just keep asking...........
__________________
rtcat600man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 12:36 AM   #33
ChadG

 
ChadG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtcat600man View Post
The link takes you to everything Sears offered. Just so happened the first on is the one you see with inch pounds.

For sure you want ft. lbs........

Knowing I have had mine for over 15 years and use it often. I would certainly look to buy one. ......

Good Luck, and anytime you need a question answered just keep asking...........
I went and bought one at Harbor Freight, it had good reviews and came with a lifetime warranty. I'm going to test the calibration before using it, any recommendation to try to make sure it's calibrated right before using it?
ChadG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 06:25 AM   #34
rtcat600man
having FUN now 13.66@101
 
rtcat600man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT IOM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 8,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadG View Post
I went and bought one at Harbor Freight, it had good reviews and came with a lifetime warranty. I'm going to test the calibration before using it, any recommendation to try to make sure it's calibrated right before using it?

Calibration...........hmmm. Not sure I know how to test that.
__________________
rtcat600man is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.