Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ModBargains
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics > ZL1 Wheels/Tires

ZL1 Wheels/Tires Wheels and tires discussion for ZL1

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2013, 06:56 PM   #1
Trackman

 
Trackman's Avatar
 
Drives: 67RS Camaro ,Black 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 864
TPMS not reading

My driver side TPMS are reading normal pressures. My passenger side are not reading anything. There is no active warning on the dash. I guess if it doesn't fix itself I may take it in. Has anyone experienced this?
Trackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:11 AM   #2
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 424
Do you have the Scosche kit installed?

I had a similar issue and it turned out to be the Scosche:
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=246752
__________________
========================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:27 AM   #3
Trackman

 
Trackman's Avatar
 
Drives: 67RS Camaro ,Black 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 864
I do not have a Scosche kit. I do have a tune. It guess it is possible it could be causing it.
Trackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:30 AM   #4
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 424
Hum... Are both passenger tires doing it?

The TPMS transmits it signal to the "Remote Door Lock Controller Module". It is possible that there is an issue with that.

In the case of the Scosche, it plugs into the Body Control Module which is the same as the RDLCM.
__________________
========================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:59 AM   #5
Trackman

 
Trackman's Avatar
 
Drives: 67RS Camaro ,Black 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 864
Yes, both passenger tires do not have a signal.
Trackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:04 AM   #6
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 424
It is extremely unusual for two sensors to go out. I would bring it into the dealer and have them test it out.

Do you have any issues unlocking the car via remote or doing a remote start (if you have an automatic)?
__________________
========================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:31 AM   #7
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,092
Just stop by the dealer and see if all it takes is for the car to 're-learn' the sensors.
Yes it has to be done by the dealer unless you have purchased the special black box tool they use.
The whole procedure to re-learn all 4 sensors only takes 3-5 min tops, and odds are they'll do it for free while you wait.
If that doesn't solve the problem, then since you're already at the dealer, they can diagnose the problem.
HDRDTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:00 AM   #8
Trackman

 
Trackman's Avatar
 
Drives: 67RS Camaro ,Black 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 864
Door locks and remote start work fine. I guess I will take it in. Not to excited that they will see the tune but I knew at some point they would. It will be interesting to see if they blame the tune right away as the issue and void warranty.
Trackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 04:55 PM   #9
All-American ZL1
Chevy Power
 
All-American ZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1 M6 #123, '98 Jeep Wrangler
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 110
Sorry to jack the thread, but have any of you noticed a difference in the tpms vs a handheld analog gauge? One of my tires reads 32 on the tpms, and on the gauge it's down to 22
__________________
2013 #123, M6 2.38 upper, ID850, dynatech 1 7/8 headers, cats, X pipe, ADM CAI, 160 Tstat, Hurst line lock, tune by FSP
Sebring 2:39.20 MPSS
All-American ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 10:04 AM   #10
DangerZL1

 
Drives: Accord
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Memphis, TN Area
Posts: 1,910
I've only seen a +/- 1 lb difference on 1 tire. 10# is significant. May be a faulty TPMS.
DangerZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 10:06 AM   #11
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by All-American ZL1 View Post
Sorry to jack the thread, but have any of you noticed a difference in the tpms vs a handheld analog gauge? One of my tires reads 32 on the tpms, and on the gauge it's down to 22
Do you have an aftermarket headunit? Curious to see if you are experiencing the same issues many of us are.
__________________
========================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.