Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Anthony @ LG Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2013, 12:19 PM   #35
RedRyder
 
RedRyder's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 VR 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 433
Just did this, thanks for the directions, Ofer! It turned out great and I did the dash abl at the same time.

FYI, I used a T45 on the big torx bolt on the steering wheel. Not sure if it's exactly the right size since it seemed a bit loose but it worked fine.
RedRyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 12:49 PM   #36
dkp2LT


 
dkp2LT's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2LT/RS, '13 GT/CS, '10 Flex
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO & Del Mar, CA
Posts: 2,480
^ The T50 hex worked perfectly for me.

I was going to do the dash kit, bought it, but I also have the abl cup holders and it turned out way too much. Ended up keeping the cup holders and not the dash.
dkp2LT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 08:09 AM   #37
jakepayne14
 
Drives: 1ls 2012 camaro
Join Date: May 2013
Location: roopville
Posts: 2
where is the buttons and knobs for the hud ? im looking at buying one but the seller and i both do not know if you need or dont need these buttons or knobs for it !
jakepayne14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 09:05 AM   #38
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakepayne14 View Post
where is the buttons and knobs for the hud ? im looking at buying one but the seller and i both do not know if you need or dont need these buttons or knobs for it !
What is buttons or knobs ? do you mean the switch ? and yes you do need it.
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:04 PM   #39
PfadtRacing
 
PfadtRacing's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 2006 Z06
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 3,374
Just had a buddy do this over the weekend, I helped and we used this write-up as a guide. Turned out great! Thanks for taking the time to post this for everyone
PfadtRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 02:08 PM   #40
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by PfadtRacing View Post
Just had a buddy do this over the weekend, I helped and we used this write-up as a guide. Turned out great! Thanks for taking the time to post this for everyone
Thanks its nice to have things to do to the car, and if i may your not to bad at it. LOL
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 02:13 PM   #41
jakepayne14
 
Drives: 1ls 2012 camaro
Join Date: May 2013
Location: roopville
Posts: 2
Alright thanks and does you or anybody know what hardware I need for this kit because I'm trying to get it as cheap as possible and I found someone on eBay who's willing to work with me and give me a good deal on just the projector so ill need everything else such as the harness and switch and what not but I wanted to know what hardware stuff I need for it?
jakepayne14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 03:09 PM   #42
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakepayne14 View Post
Alright thanks and does you or anybody know what hardware I need for this kit because I'm trying to get it as cheap as possible and I found someone on eBay who's willing to work with me and give me a good deal on just the projector so ill need everything else such as the harness and switch and what not but I wanted to know what hardware stuff I need for it?
Easiest thing would be to buy the HUD retrofit kit from Gen5 DIY
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 03:27 PM   #43
skuttduck


 
skuttduck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2LT Camaro
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 2,530
Send a message via ICQ to skuttduck Send a message via AIM to skuttduck Send a message via Yahoo to skuttduck
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stig View Post
Easiest thing would be to buy the HUD retrofit kit from Gen5 DIY
That is the easiest, but if you can get the HUD, and the switch, then buy the wiring harness from GEN5 DIY that would be just as easy.
__________________
skuttduck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 09:47 PM   #44
Dadnkid
 
Dadnkid's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LS, 2012 Traverse LS
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Beale AFB, CA
Posts: 217
Purchased and received my HUD kit from Ofer today. Sucks I have to work right now or the car dash would be somewhat apart. Cant wait til I get home. THANKS 2SSRS
Dadnkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 12:15 PM   #45
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,035
bump
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 05:33 PM   #46
Badman24
 
Badman24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS Black W/GFX
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South Dakota (EAFB)
Posts: 101
Add me to the list

Thanks to ofer and his harness and instructions. I added my hud today. I did it all by myself. Add me to the list. This was actually fun taken apart this dash and putting all back together. Thanks to Maureen at Rodgers for the hardware. I only paid $75 for my hud used. I got the hud from Cleveland pick a part.
__________________
Badman24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 06:23 PM   #47
F-16 Camaro
 
F-16 Camaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS Black
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 610
My wife had a Grand Prix GTP with HUD and it had a switch that would adjust the HUD picture up or down to compensate for driver seat height/driver height.

Is this an option on this HUD Ofer? Or do I need to set the height upon install and leave it at that?
F-16 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 08:41 PM   #48
Cal's bee
 
Cal's bee's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chandler, Texas
Posts: 360
The switch that come with the kit will adjust the HUD image up or down. It will also select different modes if the HUD.
Cal's bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:12 AM   #49
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-16 Camaro View Post
My wife had a Grand Prix GTP with HUD and it had a switch that would adjust the HUD picture up or down to compensate for driver seat height/driver height.

Is this an option on this HUD Ofer? Or do I need to set the height upon install and leave it at that?
There is an up and down button in this swich that does the same thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cal's bee View Post
The switch that come with the kit will adjust the HUD image up or down. It will also select different modes if the HUD.
Yes, and as well it will dim the image too.
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:50 AM   #50
nUcLeArEnVoY
Oldbie that nobody knows
 
nUcLeArEnVoY's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 3,435
Send a message via AIM to nUcLeArEnVoY
I replaced my old dash with a new one since my old one was scratched up... what a freakin' job that is, BTW. I used this guide as a reference on how to remove the dash - awesome guide, BTW...

Unfortunately, now I'm getting a "Service Stabilitrak" message. There are two things that occurred with the reinstallation that I'm not sure why they would affect the engine or traction control system...

- I got a new steering wheel meant for a 2SS with the inferno orange package. It's got the extra buttons for the bluetooth and volume control on the right even though my car is a 1SS and doesn't include those options, so it's hooked up to my electronics as though it does. I don't know how to remove that plate from the steering wheel and replace it with my old blank blockoff plate so if you suspect this is what's causing the code, then please post with how I can do that.

- I didn't reconnect one of the cables - it's the one that goes to the red light night time sensor on the defroster grille. I know, you have it in red font but I missed it. I completely forgot about it until the end and when I tried to reach for it, I couldn't touch it. There's no way I'd be able to access it again unless I remove everything again.

Not too sure what either of these things would have to do with the stabiltrak being messed up, so any thoughts would be appreciated. When I get home, I'm gonna check the simple things first such as a loose battery cable or things like that.
nUcLeArEnVoY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:50 AM   #51
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by nUcLeArEnVoY View Post
I replaced my old dash with a new one since my old one was scratched up... what a freakin' job that is, BTW. I used this guide as a reference on how to remove the dash - awesome guide, BTW...

Unfortunately, now I'm getting a "Service Stabilitrak" message. There are two things that occurred with the reinstallation that I'm not sure why they would affect the engine or traction control system...

- I got a new steering wheel meant for a 2SS with the inferno orange package. It's got the extra buttons for the bluetooth and volume control on the right even though my car is a 1SS and doesn't include those options, so it's hooked up to my electronics as though it does. I don't know how to remove that plate from the steering wheel and replace it with my old blank blockoff plate so if you suspect this is what's causing the code, then please post with how I can do that.

- I didn't reconnect one of the cables - it's the one that goes to the red light night time sensor on the defroster grille. I know, you have it in red font but I missed it. I completely forgot about it until the end and when I tried to reach for it, I couldn't touch it. There's no way I'd be able to access it again unless I remove everything again.

Not too sure what either of these things would have to do with the stabiltrak being messed up, so any thoughts would be appreciated. When I get home, I'm gonna check the simple things first such as a loose battery cable or things like that.


I have some bad news, you will have to remove the dash ones more, and connect that wire, and you may have set the clock spring in bad.
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAMARO WIKI Tran Wiki 54 02-06-2016 12:33 PM
Gran Turismo 5... No Camaro? 5thGenOwner 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 111 12-06-2011 11:06 AM
GM memo to dealers Moose 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 41 02-04-2010 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.