Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JUICEDMOTORSPORTS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2013, 01:58 PM   #1
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 898
Aftermarket Head Unit Harness?

Does anyone make aftermarket head unit harness's for our cars? I am talking about a harness that will connect the head unit to the existing wiring in the car so that you dont have to splice the existing harness. I know I was able to buy one for my previous vehicles. I am installing a Pioneer head unit and would like to try and avoid splicing the factory harness.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:01 PM   #2
Inferno LSX
Supercharged LSX
 
Inferno LSX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS Black/Carbon Fiber
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 6,623
What install dash kit you using? I think the Scosche kit has the harness with it. Not sure about the Metra.
__________________
Inferno LSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:03 PM   #3
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 898
I am going to make my own dash kit from fiberglass. People are having to many issues with the aftermarket kits available right now. Plus I like the factory knobs! I want the look like the MyLink set up, just dont want the MyLink anymore.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:16 PM   #4
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2014 Cruze 1LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 690
It's not as simple as just wiring in a new head unit. The factory radio (and the aftermarket kits) also control some of the basic functions of the car (like headlight turn-off delay, automatic locking, etc.). Just wiring in a new head unit will not allow you to retain those functions. Also, just as a note, the factory headunit is also responsible for generating the warning chimes and turn signal clicking sounds.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace
Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:26 PM   #5
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 898
That is why I am looking for a wiring harness that will allow me to plug and play. I am retaining the factory HVAC set up. I am only replacing the actual factory head unit.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:33 PM   #6
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 898
Darkrider - I see you have a scosche kit... Are you having any issues with it? The only reason I am not buying it is that people are having problems with it not working properly.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:35 PM   #7
Mikes SS

 
Mikes SS's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 CGM 2SS/RS 6M
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Central Florida
Posts: 940
Well keep us posted and put up some progress pics!! I got my harness from scosche they have it available separately
Mikes SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:36 PM   #8
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 898
You bought it directly from them?
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:10 PM   #9
Inferno LSX
Supercharged LSX
 
Inferno LSX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS Black/Carbon Fiber
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 6,623
I haven't had any problems with my Scosche kit. It's been in my car over a year. Using the Pioneer AVIC-140BT
__________________
Inferno LSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:41 PM   #10
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 898
Where did you get your scosche kit from? No one seems to have them available.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:42 PM   #11
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmlloveless View Post
That is why I am looking for a wiring harness that will allow me to plug and play. I am retaining the factory HVAC set up. I am only replacing the actual factory head unit.
You will need the electronics for the chimes turn signal chimes to work. The harness does not have the electronics. If it was that simple some one would have made one all ready. I was thinking about that my self but the electronics stopped me.
__________________
Caddy
Caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:47 PM   #12
Inferno LSX
Supercharged LSX
 
Inferno LSX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS Black/Carbon Fiber
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 6,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmlloveless View Post
Where did you get your scosche kit from? No one seems to have them available.
Damn it I kinda forgot. Was a site vendor. Either Maryland Speed or Apex.
__________________
Inferno LSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 05:03 PM   #13
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caddyroger View Post
You will need the electronics for the chimes turn signal chimes to work. The harness does not have the electronics. If it was that simple some one would have made one all ready. I was thinking about that my self but the electronics stopped me.
Why did GM make the wireing so difficult. It really does not need to be this crazy! There are many cars out there that are simple to swap out aftermarket head units in without any problems at all...
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 05:34 PM   #14
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmlloveless View Post
Why did GM make the wireing so difficult. It really does not need to be this crazy! There are many cars out there that are simple to swap out aftermarket head units in without any problems at all...
Labor, costs, space and weight could one reason.
__________________
Caddy
Caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:09 AM   #15
Eich
 
Drives: '11 SW/Beige 2SS RS Manual
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmlloveless View Post
That is why I am looking for a wiring harness that will allow me to plug and play. I am retaining the factory HVAC set up. I am only replacing the actual factory head unit.
Your best option might be to buy a used Metra/Scosche dash kit and hack it up to get the interfaces you need.
Eich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 10:03 AM   #16
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eich View Post
Your best option might be to buy a used Metra/Scosche dash kit and hack it up to get the interfaces you need.
Thats what I was thinking. Might as well just use the scosche kit if that is what I am going to end up doing anyways!

I just like the look of the factory HVAC better than the aftermarket set ups. Plus there have been plenty of issues with all the aftermarket set ups not working right.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 10:07 AM   #17
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caddyroger View Post
Labor, costs, space and weight could one reason.
I would think it would have been cheaper to make it more simple... The more complicated the wiring the more expensive it gets. Wiring an aftermarket HU should not require a degree in quantum physics to figure out! In my previous cars it was as easy as matching up the correct wires or plugging in a premade wire harness.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:57 AM   #18
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2014 Cruze 1LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 690
The wiring is actually pretty simple. The problem is really just one or 2 wires - the GM LAN wires. Everything else is pretty normal. But again, the stock head unit does several things that an aftermarket head CAN NOT DO. Below is a list.

Stock head unit:
1. Creates warning chimes.
2. Created turn signal clicking noise.
3. Adjusts entry/exit delay lighting.
4. Adjust automatic seat heaters (for auto trans remote start equipped cars).
5. Locking feedback
6. Parking assist system

I don't know what would happen if you just took out the head unit brain and replaced it - I mean I don't know if the car would even work properly.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace
Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 12:16 PM   #19
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrider01 View Post
The wiring is actually pretty simple. The problem is really just one or 2 wires - the GM LAN wires. Everything else is pretty normal. But again, the stock head unit does several things that an aftermarket head CAN NOT DO. Below is a list.

Stock head unit:
1. Creates warning chimes.
2. Created turn signal clicking noise.
3. Adjusts entry/exit delay lighting.
4. Adjust automatic seat heaters (for auto trans remote start equipped cars).
5. Locking feedback
6. Parking assist system

I don't know what would happen if you just took out the head unit brain and replaced it - I mean I don't know if the car would even work properly.
That is what I am talking about when I say they made it complicated. All that stuff should be seperate from the HU in my opinion. They are seperate in most other cars! It would be as simple as just having that stuff be included in the HVAC set up instead of the HU. Then we could replace the HU without all the hastle! I know GM knows and should expect that aftermarket HU's will be installed in these cars... Why not make it easier on us to do that from the factory?! I know having all that stuff programed into the HU has to be more expensive than having them seperated into there own little modules.

Well no matter, I am still stuck trying to get an aftermarket HU installed with the complications that are there.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.