Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vector Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2013, 06:25 PM   #1
jravenfan
 
Drives: 2013 2SS Blue Ray Metallic
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Eldersburg MD
Posts: 243
Strange USB issue

Wanted to see if anyone else has this.

I have music loaded on a USB and it works fine. That is unless I shut the car off while listening to the USB. When I start the car back up the USB is not recognized. When you select the source USB is not a select-able option.
If I unplug and plug back in then it indexes again and is OK.

If I switch to another source before shutting the car off then I can switch to USB without issue.

I like the USB option because I can use voice commands to play the song I want.
__________________
jravenfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 07:08 PM   #2
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 281
I have exactly the same problem on mine. I even called the mylink support people to ask for an approved list of USB drives, and they did not have any. All they said was you will have better luck with smaller USB sticks, but anything smaller than 4GB is getting hard to find in this era of 8-32GB sticks, and no guarantee on if any of them will work.

I love everything else about the car, just not so enthused by the audio system.
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 07:16 PM   #3
Glen e

 
Drives: Cyber/Red C7
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by jravenfan View Post
Wanted to see if anyone else has this.

I have music loaded on a USB and it works fine. That is unless I shut the car off while listening to the USB. When I start the car back up the USB is not recognized. When you select the source USB is not a select-able option.
If I unplug and plug back in then it indexes again and is OK.

If I switch to another source before shutting the car off then I can switch to USB without issue.

I like the USB option because I can use voice commands to play the song I want.
yes, ipod also hooked to USB has got to be reconnected every start up...
__________________
Glen
2LT C7 Cyber/Red
Glen e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 08:07 PM   #4
GVA 45TH 2SS
KNGTFALL
 
GVA 45TH 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS 45th edition
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: (Near) Charlotte, NC
Posts: 514
Don't know if it makes a difference, but do you format the USB stick to remove all the crap programs that come on it.
I have 8 and 16GB and don't have any problems with mine.
It indexes every time I start the car, but it picks up where it left off immediately when the car is started.
But I don't have mylink.
GVA 45TH 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 08:15 PM   #5
Angrybird 12
Retired, Cancer Survivor
 
Angrybird 12's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 CAMARO 1LT, 08 Vue, 96 S-10 LS
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: J. C. Tennessee
Posts: 16,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by rray View Post
I have exactly the same problem on mine. I even called the mylink support people to ask for an approved list of USB drives, and they did not have any. All they said was you will have better luck with smaller USB sticks, but anything smaller than 4GB is getting hard to find in this era of 8-32GB sticks, and no guarantee on if any of them will work.

I love everything else about the car, just not so enthused by the audio system.
I bought two 4 gig USB flash drives at Big Lots for $5 each. They work fine in my car. Sometimes if the car has sat overnight when I start the car it is on Aux input instead of USB but I push the selector on the steering wheel and it switches right to the USB and continues right where it left off. No Mylink though
__________________
Cancer's a bitch! Enjoy life while you can! LIVE, LOVE, DRIVE...CAMARO!

Previous Camaros: 1974, 1979 and 2010.
Angrybird 12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 08:16 PM   #6
Rockamakis
 
Drives: 2013 BRM 2SS/RS, Traverse LTZ
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Posts: 123
I have the same problem. Sometimes it happens and sometimes it doesn't.
Rockamakis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 08:18 PM   #7
pgustavson
It's not a "vert", ffs...
 
pgustavson's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2LT Convertible
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gambrills, MD
Posts: 1,067
+1

Every so often it fails during indexing and I have to pull out the drive and plug it back in.
__________________
Vararam | Vmax Ported TB | Ported IM | Vmax Black ICE-olator
pgustavson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 08:48 PM   #8
JimE

 
JimE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS/1LE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 2,006
I'm in the habit of switching to another source before I shut it off because the Alpine in my DD has the same issue.
__________________
Perm-a-grin in place.....
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 09:02 PM   #9
Glen e

 
Drives: Cyber/Red C7
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post
I'm in the habit of switching to another source before I shut it off because the Alpine in my DD has the same issue.
interesting....ill try that...thx
__________________
Glen
2LT C7 Cyber/Red
Glen e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 02:48 PM   #10
Stingr69
'69 Owned Since '79
 
Stingr69's Avatar
 
Drives: '69 Z/28 LeMans Blue w/White
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LR AR
Posts: 1,541
I just got a new iPod for my 2010 SS and it does not need to be re-connected after every start up. I did experience a failure one time where it would not see or play from the iPod through the USB port after a shut down/start up but all I had to do was re-boot the iOS by holding down the menu and center button at the same time for about 6 seconds. The apple shows up on the screen and it reloads the iOS. Other than that one hiccup, it has been perfect.

-Mark.
Stingr69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 03:36 PM   #11
strych9
Nice rear end!
 
strych9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS/TF3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,817
I use a 4GB Kingston, no problems with it, ever.
__________________
475RWHP/427RWTQ via: SP 1 7/8" LT Headers w/ Offroad Pipes | Flowmaster AT Cat-back | CAI Intake | JRE Scoop | Roto-Fab Washer Relocate | JRE 480RWHP Cam | Comp Cams Springs, Pushrods, Trunnion Upgrade | C5-R T/C | Melling O/P | 3.91 LPE Gears | JRE Posi-Mod | LPW Ultra Pro Diff Cover| BMR Diff Race Bushings| All mechanical work done by me, Tuned by Ted Jannetty @ 93 Octane
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bumblebee: the real deal. **1 of 371 total TF3 SS 6-speeds built**
strych9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 10:28 PM   #12
JimE

 
JimE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS/1LE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 2,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by strych9 View Post
I use a 4GB Kingston, no problems with it, ever.
Mine is 32GB, but from what I've read, it's not a size issue as it's been reported by people using all different sized drives. And it doesn't happen every time, or that often for that matter, at least not for me.
__________________
Perm-a-grin in place.....
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 10:59 PM   #13
Bradanomics
 
Drives: 2013 2LT vert
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 29
Mine is 128GB and it has worked (knock on wood) for the past 3 days.
Bradanomics is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.