Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HURST
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2013, 06:50 AM   #15
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
ummm wow, I didn't even know that. That's was rather odd of them. Looks like USB for me but always noticed the sound is more pristine from cd's.
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 08:05 AM   #16
45thCamaro


 
45thCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 45th Anniversary RS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen e View Post
Don't think so...I can get out listening to xm and when I comeback , it's on FM...
I had the same issue when I still had my xm subscription. Look around for the thread I'm talking about. It must have something to do with the car being off.
45thCamaro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 08:08 AM   #17
45thCamaro


 
45thCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 45th Anniversary RS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Storm T View Post
ummm wow, I didn't even know that. That's was rather odd of them. Looks like USB for me but always noticed the sound is more pristine from cd's.
I seriously just had a depressed moment web I read your thread. I remember when a CD player was an expensive option in the car. I guess it's getting put out to pasture with the cassette tape and 8 track lol
45thCamaro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 08:15 AM   #18
Glen e


 
Glen e's Avatar
 
Drives: Garnet 2LT RS, PCX 150
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Retired from Car Biz/Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 5,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by 45thCamaro View Post
I had the same issue when I still had my xm subscription. Look around for the thread I'm talking about. It must have something to do with the car being off.
that was just an example - I can be listening to AM, IPod, ANY SOURCE and when I come back to the car, it starts in FM....I hope that is clear now, and was the original question....
Glen e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 08:17 AM   #19
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
LMAO! I can't believe I didn't notice it. I just picked the car up last night late though. I remember back in the day getting one for my car and it was really expensive.
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 08:18 AM   #20
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
Hopefully they will get an update to fix your issue Glen. That would suck for sure.
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 08:39 AM   #21
itsnotacrisis
 
Drives: '13 2LT RS,Blue Ray Metallic/mojave
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 143
If you power down the radio before you shut off the car, when you start the car next time, and power on the radio, it picks up right where you left off on the USB. At least mine does...(applies to any source)
itsnotacrisis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 09:06 AM   #22
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotacrisis View Post
If you power down the radio before you shut off the car, when you start the car next time, and power on the radio, it picks up right where you left off on the USB. At least mine does...(applies to any source)

Good find, I had Mylink a week now, and have to unplug then re-plug my USB every time. I was just about to wire in an USB extension cable to make access easier.
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 10:13 AM   #23
Meister
 
Meister's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Corvette Stingray Z51
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotacrisis View Post
If you power down the radio before you shut off the car, when you start the car next time, and power on the radio, it picks up right where you left off on the USB. At least mine does...(applies to any source)
I'm going to give this a try next time. Thanks.
Meister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 10:16 AM   #24
Meister
 
Meister's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Corvette Stingray Z51
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggieguy13 View Post
ipods or iphones........

bluetooth seems to work very well in my opinion
iPod in my case. Bluetooth does work from my iPhone (yes, I have both but the iPod is connected via the USB port) but I don't think the sound quality is as good going the Bluetooth route.
Meister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 11:22 AM   #25
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
Ok, so now mine did it for the first time. On USB and start the car back up after going inside somewhere and it's on FM. Kind of sucks to have a brand new car and have this sort of issue. Hope it's fixed soon.
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:04 PM   #26
itsnotacrisis
 
Drives: '13 2LT RS,Blue Ray Metallic/mojave
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 143
I don't know if it matters, but I should probably mention; I don't use an iPod, I'm using a flash drive. (this one, btw, http://www.sandisk.com/products/usb/drives/cruzer-fit/ ....which I can't recommend highly enough. It stick out of the USB plug less than a 1/4", about the same as the power outlet cover that is above the USB plug. Pictures of it in my center console available upon request.).
Anyway, I have never had to unplug it, and then plug it back in to get MyLink to recognize it. I leave it plugged in all the time (unless of course, I remove it to add more music). The music is always there.
My solution of powering off the radio before shutting off the car just gets the same source to come back on when starting the car the next time, as opposed to MyLink reverting back to FM upon restart.
itsnotacrisis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:08 PM   #27
Glen e


 
Glen e's Avatar
 
Drives: Garnet 2LT RS, PCX 150
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Retired from Car Biz/Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 5,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotacrisis View Post
I don't know if it matters, but I should probably mention; I don't use an iPod, I'm using a flash drive. (this one, btw, http://www.sandisk.com/products/usb/drives/cruzer-fit/ ....which I can't recommend highly enough. It stick out of the USB plug less than a 1/4", about the same as the power outlet cover that is above the USB plug. Pictures of it in my center console available upon request.).
Anyway, I have never had to unplug it, and then plug it back in to get MyLink to recognize it. I leave it plugged in all the time (unless of course, I remove it to add more music). The music is always there.
My solution of powering off the radio before shutting off the car just gets the same source to come back on when starting the car the next time, as opposed to MyLink reverting back to FM upon restart.

Update: running errands, in and out of the car 4 -5 times - turning system off before engine shutdown works perfect...thanks to all who contributed here.....

Last edited by Glen e; 06-23-2013 at 01:19 PM.
Glen e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 10:25 PM   #28
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
I have found out that it's not forgetting the flash drives. It's switching source. If you tap the source button on the left side or screen it will switch right back to usb and you don't have to unplug it. So something in there is telling it to do this. Mine wasn't doing it until today. I went through every setting this morning and changed everything to how I wanted it. So the problem started happening after I did that. I will try and go through the settings again tomorrow and set things back to default and see if the issue goes away. I'll let you guys know. Unless someone else wants to try that tonight. It might just be a coincidence but I dunno.
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.