Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ADM PERFORMANCE
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2013, 08:25 AM   #290
eodtech72
EOD
 
eodtech72's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: VA
Posts: 167
Just trying to clear this up. Is the pink wire going to the (+) side of the battery the only way it's pulling on the battery? Or is it also doing it some how through the factory harness? I'll probably just keep the battery totally disconnected unless there's some reason that would hurt the car...? Anyone know if the battery needs to be connected while it's stored?
Thanks again
eodtech72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:57 AM   #291
Normagene


 
Normagene's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Ashen Gray M6 ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South Eastern, Mass
Posts: 2,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by eodtech72 View Post
Just trying to clear this up. Is the pink wire going to the (+) side of the battery the only way it's pulling on the battery? Or is it also doing it some how through the factory harness? I'll probably just keep the battery totally disconnected unless there's some reason that would hurt the car...? Anyone know if the battery needs to be connected while it's stored?
Thanks again
Not sure how much current is being drawn by the OEM harness, but it has to be minimal. Come the New England winter time I'll use a Battery Tender on mine. If you have a power source (over head bulb/receptacle) that's the way I would go. I'd have to look in the Owners Manual for long time storage, but I don't think four months is considered long time. And yes to the pink wire is pulling/draining the battery. Disconnect it and you're all set. I prefer the Battery Tender myself.
Normagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:42 PM   #292
delta6
USN-MSC
 
delta6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro TF3 #427
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 237
Okay...so here's my take. I installed them yesterday..passenger side is working perfectly....driver's side is a little messed up. With the headlight's off, my driver side tail lamps are working but it's not sequential as one of them is blinking twice as fast as the other (resistor problem). With the headlight's on, the running light for the outer side (driver's) isn't lighting up...tried the left signal light, hazard light and brake but nothing seems to work. But if you turn off the head light, everything works perfect...apart from the sequential turn signal. Show mode is working too. To counter the battery drain problem, I decided to put 2 switches...one for the ground and the other for the battery. That way, I can just switch it off easily instead of removing the pink wire off the battery. I contacted Todd and he is very helpful. He will send my new resistor tomorrow to fix the sequential problem. As for the headlight-running light problem, etc., I still don't know what's wrong with it. Their office is closed so I cannot ask them about it. Will let you know as soon as I find the culprit.
__________________
ďThe winner ainít the one with the fastest car, itís the one who refuses to lose.Ē

delta6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 07:34 AM   #293
Normagene


 
Normagene's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Ashen Gray M6 ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South Eastern, Mass
Posts: 2,553
Just want to post a quick tip for anyone ordering a remote switch to operate their "Show Mode" taillights. Make sure you order a RP100. Cost like 18 bucks on eBay. Way better than running a wire to the drivers console and drilling a hole for a toggle switch. I ordered a RM100/WRONG! It doesn't work for this setup. Again, YOU NEED A RP100.
Normagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:26 PM   #294
delta6
USN-MSC
 
delta6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro TF3 #427
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 237
Fixed the problem about the headlight thingy. It's just a loose connection. Once I get the resistor, everything will be prefect. I guess the problem with the fog and whatnot are in the old versions of this tail light...more like early release. Battery drain, on the other hand-I believe, is still a problem. I don't have that problem because I put a switch in it instead of hooking it up straight to the battery. Good luck to future owners and I hope you don't get problems with your tail lights.
__________________
ďThe winner ainít the one with the fastest car, itís the one who refuses to lose.Ē

delta6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:48 PM   #295
GearHeadPeter
US Navy Vet
 
GearHeadPeter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2LT/RS, 65 Mustang GT Fastback
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,568
I've had mine since Dec. of 2010 and have not had any issues, knocking quickly on wood. I have even left my car parked for over 3 weeks and no issues. It is hotter than Hell in AZ and they have worked well so far.
__________________
2011 - 2LT/RS - RY, A6, Gray Interior - Team LLT:
3rd Camaro on this forum to have a Mylink installed. Installation by GEN5DIY, Heritage Grill, Lloyds Premium Ebony Camaro RS floor mats, Empire Billet Camaro Black sill plates, AAC: LED footwell & interior lighting, Rear Courtesy Lights, LED side markers/turn signals, Plasma P13W DRl bulbs, Formula 1 Pinnacle Series tint, Roto-Fab Yellow CAI & Fuse cover, Technostalgia Afterburner LED taillights, EmblemPros custom V6 hydrocoated carbon fiber/RY engine cover, Pfadt Sport sway bars, Ofer's Backup Camera, and full Brembo brake conversion.
GearHeadPeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:57 PM   #296
delta6
USN-MSC
 
delta6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro TF3 #427
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by GearHeadPeter View Post
I've had mine since Dec. of 2010 and have not had any issues, knocking quickly on wood. I have even left my car parked for over 3 weeks and no issues. It is hotter than Hell in AZ and they have worked well so far.

Nice. I wonder why some got a malfunctioning tail lights. Maybe the QA did some random check instead of testing them one by one...or maybe the vendor sold it for cheap knowing that problems could arise in the future. I hope they fix all these problems asap as these tail lights aren't cheap.
__________________
ďThe winner ainít the one with the fastest car, itís the one who refuses to lose.Ē

delta6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 04:19 PM   #297
Normagene


 
Normagene's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Ashen Gray M6 ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South Eastern, Mass
Posts: 2,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by delta6 View Post
Fixed the problem about the headlight thingy. It's just a loose connection. Once I get the resistor, everything will be prefect. I guess the problem with the fog and whatnot are in the old versions of this tail light...more like early release. Battery drain, on the other hand-I believe, is still a problem. I don't have that problem because I put a switch in it instead of hooking it up straight to the battery. Good luck to future owners and I hope you don't get problems with your tail lights.
What about your "Show Mode" setup. Remote/switch up front/switch in the trunk? I love the remote idea. Deke736 has the best solution for anybody who has a battery drainage problem. I'll use a battery tender if I ever have to let her sit for an extended period of time.
Normagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 08:47 PM   #298
christianmotox


 
christianmotox's Avatar
 
Drives: ( . )( . )
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,830
I was going to put an update long time ago, but forgot. LOL

Anyway....
I had my friend run the red cable to a fuse that only receives power when ignition is on. Ever since this change I've had no issues with my Braille battery.

Just an FYI for you guys draining the battery.
__________________
christianmotox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 08:47 PM   #299
delta6
USN-MSC
 
delta6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro TF3 #427
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Normagene View Post
What about your "Show Mode" setup. Remote/switch up front/switch in the trunk? I love the remote idea. Deke736 has the best solution for anybody who has a battery drainage problem. I'll use a battery tender if I ever have to let her sit for an extended period of time.
Remote is the way to go but I decided to have a separate switch for my show mode and the battery connection. I put it on my trunk...hidden actually so nobody can see it but me...not unless if they started looking for it. I'm thinking of routing it on the front seat but I changed my mind.

I would suggest that you put a switch for the battery so that you don't need to use any battery tender or whatnot...just a click away and you're good.
__________________
ďThe winner ainít the one with the fastest car, itís the one who refuses to lose.Ē

delta6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 08:50 PM   #300
delta6
USN-MSC
 
delta6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro TF3 #427
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by christianmotox View Post
I was going to put an update long time ago, but forgot. LOL

Anyway....
I had my friend run the red cable to a fuse that only receives power when ignition is on. Ever since this change I've had no issues with my Braille battery.

Just an FYI for you guys draining the battery.
...and that too...whatever is convenient for us...as long as its working.
__________________
ďThe winner ainít the one with the fastest car, itís the one who refuses to lose.Ē

delta6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:36 PM   #301
Normagene


 
Normagene's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Ashen Gray M6 ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South Eastern, Mass
Posts: 2,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by delta6 View Post
Remote is the way to go but I decided to have a separate switch for my show mode and the battery connection. I put it on my trunk...hidden actually so nobody can see it but me...not unless if they started looking for it. I'm thinking of routing it on the front seat but I changed my mind.
I'm going with the remote just because I like the idea of not having to stop, get out, open the trunk, hit the switch, close the trunk, get back in the drivers seat etc... Just a click on the remote and its on/off. SHOWTIME FOR SHOW MODE!
Normagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 11:13 PM   #302
delta6
USN-MSC
 
delta6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro TF3 #427
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 237


Quote:
Originally Posted by Normagene View Post
I'm going with the remote just because I like the idea of not having to stop, get out, open the trunk, hit the switch, close the trunk, get back in the drivers seat etc... Just a click on the remote and its on/off. SHOWTIME FOR SHOW MODE!
__________________
ďThe winner ainít the one with the fastest car, itís the one who refuses to lose.Ē

delta6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:09 PM   #303
delta6
USN-MSC
 
delta6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro TF3 #427
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 237
Update: Got the resistor, everything is working perfectly. I secured the resistor properly as it gets hot really fast...I would suggest that you do the same thing too...just in case it melts/burns the outer covering of your wires. It's better to prevent it now than wait til something happens...
__________________
ďThe winner ainít the one with the fastest car, itís the one who refuses to lose.Ē

delta6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 07:50 AM   #304
Normagene


 
Normagene's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Ashen Gray M6 ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South Eastern, Mass
Posts: 2,553
Got my RP100 remote and returned the RM100. Took like a whole five minutes to install. Now from the drivers seat I can press the on/off buttons. Works like a champ! Glad I didn't have to run a hard wire and drill any holes. Way way better!
Normagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:32 PM   #305
jhiiidoc
 
jhiiidoc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS SLP Supercharged
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 315
Could someone post which wires from the techno lights are wired to the remote relay wiring?
jhiiidoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 01:41 PM   #306
TCAT


 
TCAT's Avatar
 
Drives: Has Wheels
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On Earth
Posts: 5,563
If anyone wants absolutely flawless technostalgia taillights who doesn't have them yet, I'll be selling mine within 3-4 weeks. So, definitely let me know.
TCAT is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.