Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
River City Camaro Customs
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2012, 08:01 PM   #18
kalimus

 
kalimus's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 Z51 3LT Stingray and '13 Cruze
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: US of A
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by rray View Post
For those who said their display went all the way out... did the basic black LCD graphics fail, or just the RGB LED backlighting?

If out of warantee and just backlight failed, maybe we can rebuild the backlight?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
I think all of them are just the backlight. I've never seen one where the entire LCD went out.
kalimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 08:07 PM   #19
MoneyMike
 
Drives: 2009 Aveo5
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 18
My dad bought his Camaro used, and it has the Metra dash. I'm not sure when the previous owner bought the kit and had it installed, but my dad had that Camaro for almost a year now. But, I'll definitely have to let him know about this when he gets home tonight.
MoneyMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:42 AM   #20
2010ABM

 
2010ABM's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS ABM Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,077
Same thing happened to mine, this is the second time now. Metra told me that since they warrantied it once already and its over a year old (15 months old) that they will not warranty it again. Guess this leaves me buying a new LCD on my own. It'll be the last metra product I ever buy, that's for sure.
__________________
2010ABM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 09:22 PM   #21
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 377
I took mine apart a week ago Sunday, and after taking the meter to it figured out a solution. The funny thing is, my unit started working good again while I was testing it, so I put it back together for now.

Well this morning, the green stopped working, and the blue stays on for 15 minutes or so then it starts flickering, so I'll be taking it all apart again.

What I found is a single rectangular approx. 3mm X 6mm 3 color Common Anode LED provides illumination for the whole display. Each color (RGB) is fed by a 1K ohm resistor from the output of transistor, and those are powered from the control box where the buttons are below.

What's nice is the common anode measured +13V, and the copper clad on the board measures ground, so all that needs to be done is an SMT 10K trim pot and 1K resistor soldered to each leg of the LED, then to ground on that display board. Starting with the trim pots mid travel, you would just manually tweek them till the desired color is achieved.

For me, I will just put a 1.2K resistor on the Blue and the Green leads to ground to get a constant aqua color, always on.

I'll post a photo when I do the work, but I'm not in too much hurry to take that panel off again.

-Robert
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 04:40 PM   #22
big papa
 
big papa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 189
The blue color doesn't work on mine, but everything else is okay. Wonder how long it will last. i won't switch it out just because blue doesn't work...
__________________
2010 Camaro SS/RS
2012 Ram Express
2013 Honda F6B
big papa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:32 PM   #23
Dx2Tony
"The Green Machine"
 
Dx2Tony's Avatar
 
Drives: Synergy Green Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by big papa View Post
The blue color doesn't work on mine, but everything else is okay. Wonder how long it will last. i won't switch it out just because blue doesn't work...
Mine has been giving me this problem too months ago, kept flickering and now had been out for awhile. It's just the backlight on the LCD to where at night I can't see if the air is on or anything without turning on dome light
__________________
"The Green Machine"
Dx2Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 01:11 AM   #24
Sickwitit
 
Sickwitit's Avatar
 
Drives: Fast, Faster, and O My God...!
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dx2Tony View Post
Mine has been giving me this problem too months ago, kept flickering and now had been out for awhile. It's just the backlight on the LCD to where at night I can't see if the air is on or anything without turning on dome light
How can the firmware be updated if it's already installed...another question is where can we find and or ID the current firmware?
Sickwitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 02:37 PM   #25
BBQdDude
 
BBQdDude's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2SS RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 326
If it is still the same, I had this on my RX-8, you just plug a cable in and update it that way. however the cable is $.
BBQdDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 12:12 PM   #26
Eich
 
Drives: '11 SW/Beige 2SS RS Manual
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 674
The display on my metra kit that I purchased via Amazon on December, 20, 2011 is a mess. Sometimes it doesn't light up at all. Sometimes it's orange other times it flickers blue.

Last October, I contacted Amazon and their first response was to contact the manufacturer for warranty claims.

So, I contacted Metra and they said:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metra
At this point, a firmware update may not resolve this. You can try to have a local shop that sells Metra, update it for you. If not, you will have to exchange it with Amazon. Your warranty is 1 year from the date of purchase, through the original place of purchase.”
I was travelling at that time and in the end, the warranty period expired on me before I did anything with it.

So, I just contacted Metra again last week to see if I could PAY them for a replacement part or send it in for repair:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eich
I wasn’t able get anywhere with Amazon and in the end, the warranty period is over.

Now the display on my Camaro dash kit is flashing erratically and driving me crazy. Is there a replacement part that I could purchase from you to fix it? Or does the entire thing need to be sent to you for repair? Or do I just have to replace the whole thing to get it working again?

Appreciate any advice…
Their response was:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metra
There is no repair, once the kit is returned to us from the vendor, it is scrapped. This is now WAY out of warranty, as I stated in my original reply on Oct 2, 2012 (when you were still within your 1 year warranty) the kit needed to be exchanged with the original place of purchase.
Not exactly stellar customer service nor a stellar product. Metra knows this is an issue and all they do is cover replacement through the original place of purchase for 12 months. So, unless you can continue to turn it in to the original place of purchase for complete replacement every 10 months or so before the warranty expires, you are out of luck. It's not clear if you get a new 12 month warranty on the replacment. But in any case, I'd never buy another.
Eich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 03:16 PM   #27
jcthegrate
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LT Cyber Gray Metallic
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Irvine
Posts: 49
so if i settle for the metra kit i should definitely have it professionally installed and pay extra for a good warranty.
jcthegrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 12:04 PM   #28
Eich
 
Drives: '11 SW/Beige 2SS RS Manual
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthegrate View Post
so if i settle for the metra kit i should definitely have it professionally installed and pay extra for a good warranty.
Yeah - if they offer an extended warranty, you'll want it. The display is almost guaranteed to die within 12 months every time.

IMO - it's too much hassle to replace the kit every year. Something as simple as an LED backlight should last longer than 10-12 months. Thankfully, the rest of the kit still works for me until a better solution comes along.
Eich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 01:41 AM   #29
Jerry S
 
Jerry S's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT and 1969 SS 350
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eich View Post
Yeah - if they offer an extended warranty, you'll want it. The display is almost guaranteed to die within 12 months every time.

IMO - it's too much hassle to replace the kit every year. Something as simple as an LED backlight should last longer than 10-12 months. Thankfully, the rest of the kit still works for me until a better solution comes along.

Is there some reason the LED cannot be replaced?
Jerry S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 04:07 PM   #30
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 377
The LED is not burning out, it's the circuit that turns on the LED. It's one RGB LED. you can cut the leads and wire them up to be the color you want.

I found a metra programmer diagram that shows how to build your own using a cheap cable off ebay.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/251285722338

I bought one, and found a 4 pin connector in my junk box, then updated the firmware on my metra unit using the free download from Metra Axxxess Updater.
__________________
If you see it, get it, for tomorrow it may be gone!
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 09:30 PM   #31
SSlim
 
Drives: 2011 Cyber Grey 1SS/RS A6
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Needville TX
Posts: 225
Mine just started doing the same thing. metra sucks!
__________________
Whipple, GT9 cam, LS3 conversion, ZL1 pistons, ZL1 rods, Circle D converter, Stage 3 trans, Tuned by Pat G, CAI inc, TPS headers, posi mod, Dynomax bullet cat back, VMAX TB, ADM Scoop, RX catch can, Eibach prokit plus, Eurotek Mesh 33 wheels, P13w DRLs, Pioneer/Massive Audio/Vibe/JL interior goodies.
613 RWHP/596 TQ
SSlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 12:49 AM   #32
OHIOSS
Russ
 
Drives: Yukon Denali, Charger, CamaroSS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,557
Send a message via AIM to OHIOSS
And the problems continue. The units are cheaply built & they should not have even put them on the market without testing these units. I can't recall any product that has had the failure rate of the Metra & Scosche units. Both companies should be ashamed. I think a class action lawsuit. What do you all think?
OHIOSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 05:27 AM   #33
DP93
 
Drives: Black Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 5
I just had the same problem happen to me a few days ago after having the unit installed for roughly 18-20 months. Absolute garbage on Metra's part. They really need to step up the quality of their products
DP93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 11:32 AM   #34
EDFHOBBIES
 
Drives: 2010 SS BumbleBee
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Send a message via Skype™ to EDFHOBBIES
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalimus View Post
Yep. Mine did the same thing. The LCD is completely out now, and I've had the kit for about the same amount of time. I'll be trying the Pioneer one next. The Metra was great for awhile (only one available when I got mine), but it just looks and feels cheap. The buttons stick, the fitment could be better, and the LCD was the final problem.
pioneer one ?
EDFHOBBIES is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.