Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Trunk Monkey Parts
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2013, 07:43 PM   #57
rachelmoreaux
RachelM1295
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013BlackLS View Post
Maybe we can figure this out together!
Yea i hope so! I'm about to head to RadioShack in a minute and see if I can find everything. Hey do you know what kind of shops do this sort of thing? or how much it might cost because it may be around the same price after having to buy all of this stuff.
rachelmoreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 07:46 PM   #58
rachelmoreaux
RachelM1295
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013BlackLS View Post
Maybe we can figure this out together!
here's a couple threads that I found to be helpful.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1224402

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=122772
rachelmoreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 03:35 PM   #59
TwentyTen2SSRS


 
TwentyTen2SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachelmoreaux View Post
Did you figure out what parts to buy?

I have no idea still lol.. those posts did help though.
TwentyTen2SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:24 AM   #60
yzark99
I run 2 catch cans...
 
yzark99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1LT SIM Auto
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: OR there
Posts: 904
Did you figure out what parts you needed, or do you still need help? I just built mine from scratch using 16 single LEDs. I am going to install it this weekend if it stops pouring rain.

Here's the switch I used: http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=060-780

It requires a 20mm hole, and you can find 20mm drills on amazon.com for under $5 shipped.

If you prefer a different switch, here's one: http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=060-335

If you can find a shop to do this for you, I would be surprised if they charged less than $100. My parts cost about $8. Wiring and installation is easy, once you understand the basic layout.

If you need a wiring diagram, just ask.
__________________
.
View my Top 3 LFX Performance Modifications (and 40+ more): http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...=1#post6961572
.
yzark99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 02:09 PM   #61
yzark99
I run 2 catch cans...
 
yzark99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1LT SIM Auto
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: OR there
Posts: 904
Installed!
Attached Images
    
__________________
.
View my Top 3 LFX Performance Modifications (and 40+ more): http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...=1#post6961572
.
yzark99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:16 AM   #62
Jrbee187
 
Jrbee187's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 LT
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 2
A little help with combining lighting

I want to combined a grill lighting kit with my footwell lighting. Would it be possible to combine the grill wiring with the footwell's to the three position switch so they work in conjunction with my interior?
Jrbee187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 02:29 PM   #63
Ivan @ Southwest Speed
 
Ivan @ Southwest Speed's Avatar
 
Drives: '15 Z06, '01 NBM SS, '97 SS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Posts: 12,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrbee187 View Post
I want to combined a grill lighting kit with my footwell lighting. Would it be possible to combine the grill wiring with the footwell's to the three position switch so they work in conjunction with my interior?
Yessir. As long as you don't overload the switch with Amperage, you're fine.

Footwells and Grill lights on one switch works beautifully.

Good luck and touch bases with us if anybody needs help!
Ivan @ Southwest Speed
Ivan @ Southwest Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 02:44 PM   #64
Jrbee187
 
Jrbee187's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 LT
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 2
All my lighting will be from aac but I'm unsure what the combined draw would be. What amp switch would you recommend?
__________________
2010 V6 LT/ JBA shorty headers/ Magnaflow exhaust kit
/ K&N typhoon intake/ ECU Mod/ Airraid throttle body spacer/ Concept side markers(body painted)/ AAC abl aqua interior kit/ Heritage grill/ AAC red led grill lighting.
Jrbee187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 03:02 AM   #65
TVTI
 
TVTI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 240
Got mine installed this evening. I didn't tap into the dome wire yet, but the switch is installed to accommodate that when I get some more time to get under the dash. I also need to add a controller so I can get more color options.
__________________
2012 Summit White 1SS; Borla headers/exhaust, K&N CAI, SCT Tuner SOLD
2005 Chevy 2500 HD, 4x4; 6" Pro Comp lift, Edge Juice with Attitude, K&N CAI, Banks dual exhaust, Viper 570
TVTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 01:10 AM   #66
that_silver_bullet
 
that_silver_bullet's Avatar
 
Drives: silver with black and red stripes
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: lutz
Posts: 1
so i just want to know which wire is the power wire that goes to the ycs button so i can hook up some leds to that so they just come on with the button light
that_silver_bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 03:07 AM   #67
SilverBullet_
 
Drives: Silver LT1
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by that_silver_bullet View Post
so i just want to know which wire is the power wire that goes to the ycs button so i can hook up some leds to that so they just come on with the button light
It's the yellow(+) and the black(-) connected to the tcs button, so that the LEDs will turn on when the abl is on.
SilverBullet_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 03:59 AM   #68
SilverBullet_
 
Drives: Silver LT1
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2
Installed mine yesterday!
Attached Images
 
SilverBullet_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 03:58 PM   #69
SnowyCamaro

 
SnowyCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1, 2006 Chevy Equinox
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 773
I recently did this mod myself. (On my 2010 v6) I had a spare circuit as described but for my friend (2011 2ss v8) he didn't have a spare circuit. So went out and got a fuse add in circuit. Really simple to use. What it does is plug into where normally a fuse would go and add an extra circuit while maintaining the original circuit as well. So this way you can add a circuit and not have to cut a wire. (THIS IS ONLY FOR GETTING YOUR CONSTANT POWER OR SWITCHED POWER, IF YOU WANT THE FOOTWELL LIGHTS TO DIM WITH DOME LIGHT OR HAVE THE SAME SETUP AS DESCRIBED ABOVE YOU STILL NEED TO TAP INTO THE GREY WIRE ABOVE THE GAS PEDAL )

Here's what you can use to add a circuit I you don't have one. Either get this one and a 2.5A fuse (make sure you get the mini, ATM style) or Go to your local electronics place / supplier and ask for one of these and a low amperage fuse like 2.5A or something for LEDs since they draw very little current.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000GKEXK2

Pull out the fuse where the circuit is that you want to tap into in the driver side fuse box and place the fuse you pulled out in the new fuse circuit tap and the other low amperage fuse too. Just don't mix up the placement of your fuses. I tapped into the guage cluster circuit in there I beleive (it's labelled on the back of the fuse box cover/panel), it was constant power. I'm sure if you play around one of those circuits is keyed too, if people want that.

This is what I did in my friends 2ss and worked perfectly. But I am not responsible if you screw up somehow. Even though this would be the easiest way to add a circuit without tapping wires.
__________________
SnowyCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 02:33 PM   #70
greatmike
 
Drives: 2010 silver 2SS/RS Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hanover New Jersey
Posts: 333
Installed mine yesterday. thanks for the detail post it help alot...
greatmike is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Noweeds exhaust diverter installation CanadianCamaro Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 42 08-15-2016 12:11 PM
Push Start button? CG'sSS Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 158 06-06-2012 08:27 PM
Anyone have the Footwell Lighting Kit Installed? wildthing001967 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 12 07-03-2011 06:00 PM
footwell neon lighting. How to wire to have it come on the other ambient lighting? Jakefeb3 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 6 11-22-2009 10:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.