Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HAVOC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2013, 11:21 PM   #26
snymat68
 
snymat68's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 1LS M6, '72 VW Beetle M4 Resto.
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 660
I wonder, is there room for both in the console, and would it be possible to leave the old, install the new, and have some sort of switch to switch from one to the other? (like an On/Off for HSA)
I wonder if the computer in the car would tolerate an on-the-fly change like that or if you'd be in CEL hell (or worse?). The switching would be easy enough if the computer didn't have an allergic reaction.
It could be tested by having the car running and unplugging the stock unit and see what happens, then plug it back in and see if the CEL's go away?
Who wants to try it?
__________________
2013 Camaro 1LS (BRM)
Performance Mods
Elite Catch Can | CAI Intake with Scoop & Washer Bottle Relocation | MRT v2 Axle-Back Exhaust | MagnaFlow Resonated X-Pipe | Resonator Delete | Vmax Ported Throttle Body
Aesthetic Mods
CamaroCollection Chrome Peek-A-Boo Door Handles | CamaroCollection Interior Accessories Kit | Headlight Armor Smoke Tail Light, Marker Light, & Turn Signal Tint | Custom Plate & Plate Frame | Silver Fade Gill Stripes | Carbon Fiber Bowties
snymat68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 01:32 AM   #27
ZL1-V

 
ZL1-V's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by snymat68 View Post
I wonder, is there room for both in the console, and would it be possible to leave the old, install the new, and have some sort of switch to switch from one to the other? (like an On/Off for HSA)
I wonder if the computer in the car would tolerate an on-the-fly change like that or if you'd be in CEL hell (or worse?). The switching would be easy enough if the computer didn't have an allergic reaction.
It could be tested by having the car running and unplugging the stock unit and see what happens, then plug it back in and see if the CEL's go away?
Who wants to try it?


Why would someone even want to do? It is counterproductive! The purpose is to remove it as it is not needed or wanted.
ZL1-V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 08:23 AM   #28
snymat68
 
snymat68's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 1LS M6, '72 VW Beetle M4 Resto.
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 660
After engaging HSA then blipping the throttle to 4k+ rpm to reset the torque sensor (as mentioned in another HSA thread), I've found that the brakes actually release as they should, when the should. While I agree, for me, I'd rather have no HSA in the first place, occasionally my wife needs to drive my car for one reason or another. As she doesn't have much experience with a standard (we're working on it), I thought it would be cool to be able to switch the HSA back on for her now that it seems to be working correctly.
__________________
2013 Camaro 1LS (BRM)
Performance Mods
Elite Catch Can | CAI Intake with Scoop & Washer Bottle Relocation | MRT v2 Axle-Back Exhaust | MagnaFlow Resonated X-Pipe | Resonator Delete | Vmax Ported Throttle Body
Aesthetic Mods
CamaroCollection Chrome Peek-A-Boo Door Handles | CamaroCollection Interior Accessories Kit | Headlight Armor Smoke Tail Light, Marker Light, & Turn Signal Tint | Custom Plate & Plate Frame | Silver Fade Gill Stripes | Carbon Fiber Bowties
snymat68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 10:39 AM   #29
BadAndy
 
BadAndy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS/1LE
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by snymat68 View Post
After engaging HSA then blipping the throttle to 4k+ rpm to reset the torque sensor (as mentioned in another HSA thread), I've found that the brakes actually release as they should, when the should. While I agree, for me, I'd rather have no HSA in the first place, occasionally my wife needs to drive my car for one reason or another. As she doesn't have much experience with a standard (we're working on it), I thought it would be cool to be able to switch the HSA back on for her now that it seems to be working correctly.
I tried getting HSA to work the way the manual states it should, several times before swapping sensors. Every single time it would hold the brakes for 2-3 seconds. If GM can't figure out how to program the system to know when you're pressing the gas pedal and to release the brakes immediately then I don't want that system on my car.

It's not brand new technology, it shouldn't be difficult to make it work correctly and it sure as hell shouldn't be mandatory.
BadAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 11:29 AM   #30
snymat68
 
snymat68's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 1LS M6, '72 VW Beetle M4 Resto.
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadAndy View Post
It's not brand new technology, it shouldn't be difficult to make it work correctly and it sure as hell shouldn't be mandatory.
Couldn't agree more.
__________________
2013 Camaro 1LS (BRM)
Performance Mods
Elite Catch Can | CAI Intake with Scoop & Washer Bottle Relocation | MRT v2 Axle-Back Exhaust | MagnaFlow Resonated X-Pipe | Resonator Delete | Vmax Ported Throttle Body
Aesthetic Mods
CamaroCollection Chrome Peek-A-Boo Door Handles | CamaroCollection Interior Accessories Kit | Headlight Armor Smoke Tail Light, Marker Light, & Turn Signal Tint | Custom Plate & Plate Frame | Silver Fade Gill Stripes | Carbon Fiber Bowties
snymat68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 03:23 PM   #31
BCombs79
 
Drives: 2013 IOM M6 ZL1 "Darth Talon"
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 51
I would've expected my car would need a different sensor but gmparts shows it to be the same part #. Tempted to do this... I do stall this car more than I ever did my GTO. And that scares me as I'm still breaking it in.
BCombs79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 11:10 AM   #32
Combover
 
Combover's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 493
Would it be a good idea to disconnect the battery before tearing down the console and swapping the sensor?
Combover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 11:33 AM   #33
krazzyk01
Liv'n The Dream!
 
krazzyk01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Badass Black 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 193
I've said it elsewhere, BMW had this on their manuals in 2006, maybe even earlier, and it was no problem what so ever. There are a HUGE number of technologies just coming out in American cars which have been around for a VERY long time in the foreign jobs. Why is it we can't seem to "copy" other peoples crap correctly? Aren't we supposed to be "leader in tech?"

Aside from that little rant, I'm glad this seems to be my biggest issue with my 1LE thus far. Thanks for the writeup.

Anyone know what the ramifications to your warrant might be? Electrical gremlins are the worst kind to catch and I'm not too eager at the idea of my stealer telling me I caused an issue because I messed around changing a sensor.

Been there done that, had the T-shirt and burned it.
__________________
The World Can Drive Green, I'll Burn Gas'n'Rubber In My 1LE!

.


krazzyk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 11:42 AM   #34
ZL1-V

 
ZL1-V's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazzyk01 View Post
I've said it elsewhere, BMW had this on their manuals in 2006, maybe even earlier, and it was no problem what so ever. There are a HUGE number of technologies just coming out in American cars which have been around for a VERY long time in the foreign jobs. Why is it we can't seem to "copy" other peoples crap correctly? Aren't we supposed to be "leader in tech?"

Aside from that little rant, I'm glad this seems to be my biggest issue with my 1LE thus far. Thanks for the writeup.

Anyone know what the ramifications to your warrant might be? Electrical gremlins are the worst kind to catch and I'm not too eager at the idea of my stealer telling me I caused an issue because I messed around changing a sensor.

Been there done that, had the T-shirt and burned it.

The installed part has to be proven as the cause of a failure. I have read of no other people having that trouble at the dealer.The first question you need to ask yourself is why would a dealer even investigate? They aren't trouble shooters, they find the defective part and replace it. I will replace mine and not worry about it!
ZL1-V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 11:52 AM   #35
el ess A
formerly "el ess X"
 
el ess A's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 & 2013 Camaros
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 3,166
Reset the torque sensor...that could be the ticket, but I liken that to having to program your own TPMS when you buy a new car. That crap should already be done from the factory. People don't buy new cars just to reset crap that should be done by delivery in the first place.

Gotta do what you gotta do, but at least it seems there is a workaround.
__________________
2010/2013 Camaro

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=26108&dateline=139490  3951
el ess A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 04:46 PM   #36
Bearcrazy
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4
Any others out there who have done this? Any problems? I need to find someone in my area to switch mine out for me
Bearcrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 05:01 PM   #37
krazzyk01
Liv'n The Dream!
 
krazzyk01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Badass Black 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearcrazy View Post
Any others out there who have done this? Any problems? I need to find someone in my area to switch mine out for me
Glad you asked this. I almost forgot about this until yesterday while backing out of a parking spot. I bumped the brakes and the dam thing locked the brakes on me! Saw the message come up and wanted to rip that crap out of the car and toss it out the MF'ing window right then. I'm going to order mine asap.

GM....Please,...Dear GOD PLEASE stop this stupidity! Less than 5% of all cars sold in America are manuals. If we buy one, we either know how to drive it or will figure it out.
__________________
The World Can Drive Green, I'll Burn Gas'n'Rubber In My 1LE!

.


krazzyk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 07:42 PM   #38
scubadoo7
Airborne Recondo
 
scubadoo7's Avatar
 
Drives: Crystal Red 2SS 1LE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairfax Station Va.
Posts: 849
Just finished installing mine today. Only took 25 minutes. Freedom from the hill start assist. Thanks much to all involved in solving this dilemma.
scubadoo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 08:04 PM   #39
Camper1
 
Drives: 2013 2LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Va
Posts: 11
Wow, surprise, GM never responded to me about the HSA. I asked them for the statistics of accidents caused by manual cars rolling backwards, because it was obvious they were trying to save us from technology we already knew how to operate. To say I never got a response is what I expected...and what I got.
Camper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 06:56 PM   #40
Jawn
 
Drives: 2013 1LS 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Canton, GA
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazzyk01 View Post
GM....Please,...Dear GOD PLEASE stop this stupidity! Less than 5% of all cars sold in America are manuals. If we buy one, we either know how to drive it or will figure it out.


I agree 100%. I've only had my car for a week, but this crap has reared its ugly head a few times (even causing me to stall it once). I've driven manual cars probably close to 400k miles over the past 17 years... I think I can handle not rolling backwards on my own.
Jawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 06:08 PM   #41
Bmags
 
Bmags's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS/RS SIM
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 95
Done and works as stated!
Bmags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 06:52 PM   #42
Jawn
 
Drives: 2013 1LS 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Canton, GA
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmags View Post
Done and works as stated!
Good to hear. I complained via the chat feature of Chevrolet's website, got nothing more than ROBBLE ROBBLE ROBBLE SAFETY FEATURE ROBBLE ROBBLE! But at least they logged the complaint (or said they did). When I get my car back, I may just have to give in and fix that shit myself.
Jawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 08:16 PM   #43
Fast92RS
 
Fast92RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Zl1
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Old Bridge NJ
Posts: 158
HSA sucks. When I took my Zl1 for a test drive before I bought it. I stalled a couple times and felt like an ass in front of the salesman. Thanks for the info ordering my new sensor now.
__________________
2013 ZL1 Roto-fab cai, Apex catch can, Vmax LSA throttle body, Roto-Fab heat exchanger res, ATI balancer with 5% overdrive pulley, 180 degree thermostat
Fast92RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 09:57 PM   #44
Edzo
 
Edzo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro SS and 63 Impala
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by snymat68 View Post
After engaging HSA then blipping the throttle to 4k+ rpm to reset the torque sensor (as mentioned in another HSA thread), I've found that the brakes actually release as they should, when the should. While I agree, for me, I'd rather have no HSA in the first place, occasionally my wife needs to drive my car for one reason or another. As she doesn't have much experience with a standard (we're working on it), I thought it would be cool to be able to switch the HSA back on for her now that it seems to be working correctly.
I wanna try this before I get the new sensor. Where is the original thread about the 4000 rev trick? Read it a while ago, but can't find it now.
Edzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 08:24 PM   #45
Edzo
 
Edzo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro SS and 63 Impala
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 252
I tried it, doesn't seem to come on as much but still doesn't release as it should. Guess I gotta get the automatic sensor.
Edzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 06:03 AM   #46
fgg60
Sweet Annie!! BRM
 
fgg60's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 2SS/RS 1LE BRM NPP CF5
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 351
Update: Changed mine out in June......and..........still no glitches !!!!!! Works so well that I forgot I did it!! best mod I've done so far!!
__________________
FGG60 - (BRM 2SS 1LE) 1 of 70!!
fgg60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 08:09 AM   #47
LuSe4

 
LuSe4's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS RS LS3
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 895
I was going to order the new sensor but my HSA seems to have just stopped working. Everything else works perfectly but I can not get it to kick in for the life of me. Maybe mine "fixed" itself?
__________________
-2013 Summit White over Inferno Orange 2SS RS-
-2005 Bermuda Blue Tahoe-
LuSe4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 08:53 AM   #48
LStick
 
LStick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2LS Blue Ray
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Streetsboro Ohio
Posts: 602
Anybody have a '14 with this problem?

Or did it get corrected for the new model year ?
__________________
LStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 04:16 PM   #49
shawn18
OWTATIME
 
shawn18's Avatar
 
Drives: CaRaMo
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,762
Just finished this up on my 1LE!! Happy to report no problems so far although I just let it run in the garage and moved up and back just a little. Still though no codes or anything seems to be fine!
__________________
shawn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 03:31 PM   #50
SMN2011Z28
Always a work in progress
 
SMN2011Z28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 RRM SS RS 1LE
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SOCAL- San Diego (PB)
Posts: 168
I haven't noiced any 2014's on this list yet, but I may be the first one to check it out. The first time HSA got me I think I cussed for 5 minutes straight!! I hate that damn thing.

The only way I found to work around it is to take the car ouf of gear and release the clutch with foot on the brake of course. Once you do that it deactivates, then you just have to time it very well to get it in gear and going before the HSA figures out what's going on.
SMN2011Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.