Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Apex Paul
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2013, 03:32 PM   #1
Secret Squirrel
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black 2SS/RS SOLD
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Temecula, Ca
Posts: 465
Reading codes

Forgive me if this is a dumb question, but I have to ask...If my car is tuned, and I plug a code reader up to it to read an error code, will that cause any problems with my tune? I got the "low oil pressure! turn off immediately" message, or something to that effect yesterday, and I want to rule out that it is a bad sensor before I drop a whole lot more money on a new oil pump. Thanks.
__________________
Secret Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 04:07 PM   #2
90503


 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Torrance
Posts: 10,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret Squirrel View Post
Forgive me if this is a dumb question, but I have to ask...If my car is tuned, and I plug a code reader up to it to read an error code, will that cause any problems with my tune? I got the "low oil pressure! turn off immediately" message, or something to that effect yesterday, and I want to rule out that it is a bad sensor before I drop a whole lot more money on a new oil pump. Thanks.
I'd worry more about the low oil pressure than about a tune...lol...A tune won't affect your oil pressure gauge....what does it say?
90503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 04:22 PM   #3
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,675
No, plugging in a code reader won't affect your tune.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:43 PM   #4
Secret Squirrel
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black 2SS/RS SOLD
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Temecula, Ca
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90503 View Post
I'd worry more about the low oil pressure than about a tune...lol...A tune won't affect your oil pressure gauge....what does it say?
Ok, I suppose I had that coming. I think I didn't explain myself clearly though. My thought process is that it may not be the pump, and I'd like to plug it in to see if I get a bad sensor code. I already have an appointment to have the pump replaced, but I want to make sure that's what I need before I drop the money. I didn't figure the tune had any effect on the oil pump. My question is in regard to plugging a diagnostic computer up, when my car is tuned, and potentially wiping something out inadvertently.
__________________
Secret Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:59 PM   #5
90503


 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Torrance
Posts: 10,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stig View Post
No, plugging in a code reader won't affect your tune.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret Squirrel View Post
Ok, I suppose I had that coming. I think I didn't explain myself clearly though. My thought process is that it may not be the pump, and I'd like to plug it in to see if I get a bad sensor code. I already have an appointment to have the pump replaced, but I want to make sure that's what I need before I drop the money. I didn't figure the tune had any effect on the oil pump. My question is in regard to plugging a diagnostic computer up, when my car is tuned, and potentially wiping something out inadvertently.
...lol...No tune for me, but I've played with code reader just for fun to turn off a cel...apparently they don't hurt anything...good luck.
90503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 12:14 PM   #6
thahemp
Geek
 
thahemp's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Black LS3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 4,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret Squirrel View Post
Ok, I suppose I had that coming. I think I didn't explain myself clearly though. My thought process is that it may not be the pump, and I'd like to plug it in to see if I get a bad sensor code. I already have an appointment to have the pump replaced, but I want to make sure that's what I need before I drop the money. I didn't figure the tune had any effect on the oil pump. My question is in regard to plugging a diagnostic computer up, when my car is tuned, and potentially wiping something out inadvertently.
Like Stig said. You're fine to check/clear all the codes you want. Did you happen to look down at your oil pressure gauge before you shut the car off?
__________________
01000111011011110110111101100100001000000110110001 11010101100011011010110010000001110111011010010111 01000110100000100000011101000110100001101001011100 110010000001101111011011100110010100100001

x = ac97968bd3df8f968c8cd3df998a9c94d3df9c8a918bd3df9c 909c94df8c8a9c949a8dd3df92908b979a8ddf998a9c949a8d d3df8b968b8cd1
x = ~x
thahemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:59 PM   #7
Secret Squirrel
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black 2SS/RS SOLD
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Temecula, Ca
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by thahemp View Post
Like Stig said. You're fine to check/clear all the codes you want. Did you happen to look down at your oil pressure gauge before you shut the car off?

I did. It was all the way to the left. Showing no pressure what-so-ever.
__________________
Secret Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:34 PM   #8
AG454
I am not "Fast & Furious"
 
AG454's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LSX454 1LE
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greeley Colorado
Posts: 612
Using a code reader will not effect you cars ECM, tuned or not. I'm not sure it there will be a code for a bad oil pressure sensor anyway. I think there is only the low pressure warning in the DIC, like a idiot light on a old car.
__________________
LSX 454 (nuff said)
AG454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 08:51 PM   #9
Secret Squirrel
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black 2SS/RS SOLD
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Temecula, Ca
Posts: 465
Had a buddy that is an ASE mechanic at a local dealer read it for me. He said it's definitely not the sensor. He's gonna swap out my pump for a Melling for $250 plus the cost of the pump this weekend. Much better than the $1700 the dealer was gonna charge to put a stock pump back in it.
__________________
Secret Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.