Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
sjm autoprod
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2013, 05:23 PM   #15
Pro Stock John
Writer
 
Pro Stock John's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS / 1951 Mercury
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,470
I ran the 20" drag radials from 20 to 25 psi but it does take experimentation.
__________________
PROJECT HEAVY CHEVY
Camaro Now: Mods for the Masses Part I | Part II
13.15@106 1.95 | 100% Stock
12.37@112 1.85 | + Kooks Headers/Cats + 20" 555R + CAI + BW TB + UDP + Tune
12.06@113 1.70 | + CD 3200 + 18" NT05R + RCR Intake + NE OTR + GPI Tune
11.84@115 1.59 | + 3.91s + Race Star 17x7 Fronts
10.90@125 1.47 | + GPI VVT Cam + BW Ported Heads + CD 3800
Pro Stock John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 07:05 PM   #16
ajax.
 
ajax.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 12SS,12SRT8,14COPO,77Vette
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarojt View Post
Are you running a stock stall converter?
Yea stock stall converter. I foresee a 3200 in the very neat future. Definitely going to run with higher psi as that theory makes sense. 20 in rims have little sidewall...going to try experimenting with higher pressures.
__________________
ajax. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 07:37 PM   #17
Motion427
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Red Jewel L99
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NB,Canada
Posts: 837
When your at the staging lane,what do you do?
Do you let it idle in gear and punch it after? Do you load up the chassis abit? Or you load up the converter as high as you can before you launch?
Example,so far,mine works best when I raise the rpm to about 1000-1100 rpm before I go WOT.
Motion427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 07:42 PM   #18
Camarojt

 
Camarojt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011camaro SS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Allen, Tx
Posts: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajax. View Post
Yea stock stall converter. I foresee a 3200 in the very neat future. Definitely going to run with higher psi as that theory makes sense. 20 in rims have little sidewall...going to try experimenting with higher pressures.
You might also try leaving off idle or slightly above. I have a 3600 Circle D stall but I get the best 60ft's by flashing the converter. If I come up on the brake, it spins too bad!
Camarojt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:44 PM   #19
ajax.
 
ajax.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 12SS,12SRT8,14COPO,77Vette
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motion427 View Post
When your at the staging lane,what do you do?
Do you let it idle in gear and punch it after? Do you load up the chassis abit? Or you load up the converter as high as you can before you launch?
Example,so far,mine works best when I raise the rpm to about 1000-1100 rpm before I go WOT.
I usually launch pretty hard...rpms around 1100 or so then mash the gas when the light goes green.
__________________
ajax. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 07:56 AM   #20
Camarojt

 
Camarojt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011camaro SS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Allen, Tx
Posts: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajax. View Post
Been running at the track and I'm always running 12.74 @ 109. Tonight I went down to the track and was posting absurd numbers with my best of only a 12.91.. I even had a bunch of 13 second passes...real embarrassing...

My 60' is usually 1.9-2.0 so my question is what's the best way to practice to get a good 60' time? Any special techniques?

My method is tires down to 15-16 psi...then water box and heat the tires up real good and get them nice and hot. Then I brake stand and launch at 1000 rpm or so with traction control completely off. Everyone tells me I have A low 12 second car but honestly i think that's impossible. Tired of getting smoked by every car at the track...
Just noticed that u are running 3.91 gears? That could be a little bit as to why you are spinning off the line. A6 already has an aggressive 1st gear so now you are more so with the extra gear in the rear.

What rpms are you crossing the line at the end? Are you staying in 4th or does it shift to 5th before the end?
Camarojt is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.