Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Suspension / Brakes / Chassis


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2013, 10:59 AM   #15
rockrau
 
rockrau's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2ss red LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: perkasie pa
Posts: 530
Cable construction; inner cable, outer cable,outer cover(wether protection).Liquid tape(Lowes) to seal the cut from the weather.
rockrau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 11:21 AM   #16
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
Thanks I just got the liquid tape and ill put it on later tonight so it doesn't bake in the sun all day and not dry
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 11:43 AM   #17
ToolFan66


 
ToolFan66's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS 6.2L W/RS package
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 3,095
You can drive the car, your not going to hurt anything, you would have to be driving in water to get it soaked enough to even get water inside the cable.
__________________


KooKs LT Headers, Borla S-Type cat back, RotoFab CAI, Bo White PTB, RMCR tune...
ToolFan66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:39 PM   #18
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
Yea we've had really nice weather these past couple days so it hasn't seen water at all, like I said once the sun passes its peak ill go and put the liquid tape on, and hope that all is well
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:30 PM   #19
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
I put on 2 coats of the liquid tape, I covered it really well, is that all there is to it?

I left it zip tied for now, can I move the clip that was holding it before? Or should I go with the hose clamp?
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:46 PM   #20
BLACK67

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS CGM
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 929
Send a message via MSN to BLACK67
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSMickey View Post
It's the e-brake cable. I pushed as much slack out of mine as possible and put a small hose clamp behind the bracket.
Did this exact fix to mine today.
__________________
SPi Performance Stage 3 package Comp Cam
PHADT FE4 ZL Stg.3
VMAX CNC Spiral Ported Throttle Body
Dynatech LT headers, Hi flow Cats
MBRP 3" 304 stainless X-pipe exhaust
Fastlane true CAI.
Barton shifter
BLACK67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:55 PM   #21
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
Then that's what I'll do tomorrow, I'm sure I got 2 hose clamps in the tool bag somewhere no matter the size ill jus cut the slack off to fit

Thanks for all the help and info guys I appreciate it
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 06:46 AM   #22
Oliv59
 
Oliv59's Avatar
 
Drives: 45th M6
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: France (59)
Posts: 150
Please post a picture after the fix
Oliv59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 12:08 PM   #23
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
No problem ill post it when I get home

What I did was use the yellow clip that is on the cable that held it into its seat and put a hose clamp around that and the toe rod

Ill get the pics up as soon as I can get to my computer
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:14 PM   #24
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
ok heres the pic, sorry if its too large and too close, its the best i could do with no jack and the wheel on

i believe the clamp was 2-1/2" or 3"

i opened the clamp, snaked it between the ABS and the toe rod and around the cable and tighten up

Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 258
Size:  119.7 KB
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 04:03 PM   #25
rockrau
 
rockrau's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2ss red LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: perkasie pa
Posts: 530
I'm using factory mount and a zip tie.E brake is smooth.
rockrau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 04:08 PM   #26
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockrau View Post
I'm using factory mount and a zip tie.E brake is smooth.
Would you mind taking a pic?
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 05:17 PM   #27
rockrau
 
rockrau's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2ss red LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: perkasie pa
Posts: 530
Pictures

Pictures are attached to this post
Attached Images
  
rockrau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 05:21 PM   #28
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
I see what you did, you clipped it in then zipped it to the trailing arm

Have you used your e-brake since doing that?
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.