Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions General 5th generation Camaro topics not covered by other subforums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2013, 12:20 PM   #1
dal022
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 13
dealer lost key

Ok what has to be done and what does it intale so that the key they suposedly lost will not work with my car anymore so far they just replaced my lost key and programed it to work with my car . Not happy with that cause if they have a corrupt employee and this person tookmy key and its not lost i am just waiting to wake up to my car missing .
dal022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 12:21 PM   #2
dal022
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Btw its a 2012 camaro SS2
dal022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 12:27 PM   #3
Ringo64
Forever Pontiac
 
Drives: 2012 Black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,373
Supposedly you can only have 2 working keys for our cars and both must be present to reprogram. If you relearn both with the car to a new frequency then that lost one is just a paper weight now.
__________________
Ringo64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 12:27 PM   #4
Baba

 
Baba's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2LT RS Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USAREUR/CONUS-DOD/A
Posts: 1,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by dal022 View Post
Ok what has to be done and what does it intale so that the key they suposedly lost will not work with my car anymore so far they just replaced my lost key and programed it to work with my car . Not happy with that cause if they have a corrupt employee and this person tookmy key and its not lost i am just waiting to wake up to my car missing .
They're liable as the vehicle was in their posession and they caused the "loss" (damage).

They won't have any problem coding the key as they can pull up the "key code". Have them replace the key and FOB and program it. They should do this at no charge.

My only concern would be if someone found the key or there's someone "shady" enough to find out where your Camaro is and "abscond" with it (read; "steal" it) as there'd be a key floating out there and who knows where it'll wind up.

Good luck. Let us know how it turns out.
__________________
2011 Camaro 2LT RS Convertible
Summit White
Black Leather
3 Pedals
Build Date: 06/27/2011

Purchased: 07/30/2011
Title Received: 08/15/2011

1984 Camaro (3rd Gen.): Traded: 1987

"Meet the new boss. Same as the old boss."
Baba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 12:35 PM   #5
dal022
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 13
That they did they replaced the key never touched my second key just programed new key with car my question is i think they have to reprogram somthing on the car then they keys to make old key thats lost unworkable. I am asking whats intaled
dal022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 12:40 PM   #6
Baba

 
Baba's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2LT RS Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USAREUR/CONUS-DOD/A
Posts: 1,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ringo64 View Post
Supposedly you can only have 2 working keys for our cars and both must be present to reprogram. If you relearn both with the car to a new frequency then that lost one is just a paper weight now.
Damn! Don't recall whether I knew that or not but it's good to be reminded, nonetheless. Thanks.
__________________
2011 Camaro 2LT RS Convertible
Summit White
Black Leather
3 Pedals
Build Date: 06/27/2011

Purchased: 07/30/2011
Title Received: 08/15/2011

1984 Camaro (3rd Gen.): Traded: 1987

"Meet the new boss. Same as the old boss."
Baba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 01:06 PM   #7
the_fast_one

 
the_fast_one's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 IOM 2SS, 05 SOM Colorado
Join Date: May 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 798
Short of changing out your locks and ignition there is not much that can be done other than what has already been mentioned.
__________________
Let the modding begin
466/436 - JRE Rough Idle blower cam, BTR push rods, PRC 6.75 springs, halltech CAI, K&N filter, SLP 25% UD pulley, Manley H/V oil pump, Kooks 1 7/8 headers w/o cats, ported TB, Npp exhaust. BMR 1.4"/1" drop springs, ZL1 Swaybars, 1LE strut tower brace, zl1 rockers, zl1 style splitter, night shades ns3 stripe kit.

Future mods
Dss 1000hp axels Dss aluminum driveshaft, bmr full bushings, ? Clutch, ? Supercharger, wheels/drag radials.
the_fast_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 01:08 PM   #8
SuperSport2011
 
SuperSport2011's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 camaro 2ss/rs rally yellow L99
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 659
If it goes missing then upgrade to a 2013
__________________


''Second place is a fancy word for a loser''
SuperSport2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 01:09 PM   #9
H8S FORD
Head Ford Harasser
 
Drives: '10 IOM 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fair Oaks, Ca
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ringo64 View Post
Supposedly you can only have 2 working keys for our cars and both must be present to reprogram. If you relearn both with the car to a new frequency then that lost one is just a paper weight now.
I have 3. After doing the turn the existing key on for three seconds, then turning off and inserting the new key, and turning it on for three seconds my car displayed something like "key programmed", "3 keys programmed". So it can be done. My wife and I each keep one, and one in the safe for a "just in case".
H8S FORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 01:11 PM   #10
dal022
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ringo64 View Post
Supposedly you can only have 2 working keys for our cars and both must be present to reprogram. If you relearn both with the car to a new frequency then that lost one is just a paper weight now.
Yeah wouldnt that intale doing somthing to the car cause right now 3 keys work my car
dal022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 01:23 PM   #11
dal022
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_fast_one View Post
Short of changing out your locks and ignition there is not much that can be done other than what has already been mentioned.
Not so much worried about them getting into car as i am they starting and stealing it i just called deal in pa that i bought the car they said you have to reprogram the security system in the car and then the keys
dal022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 01:50 PM   #12
dkp2LT


 
dkp2LT's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2LT/RS, '13 GT/CS, '10 Flex
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO & Del Mar, CA
Posts: 2,498
IMO if the dealer lost the key they should re-key your car w/ two new remotes. If they don't then I would think you'd have a good reason for them to cover your deductible if your Camaro does go missing within a reasonable time frame (maybe within 6 months - but not if it's 2 years from now).
dkp2LT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 02:03 PM   #13
Ringo64
Forever Pontiac
 
Drives: 2012 Black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by H8S FORD View Post
I have 3. After doing the turn the existing key on for three seconds, then turning off and inserting the new key, and turning it on for three seconds my car displayed something like "key programmed", "3 keys programmed". So it can be done. My wife and I each keep one, and one in the safe for a "just in case".
Oh cool! Guess my info is wrong then.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Ringo64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 02:51 PM   #14
zkdreads


 
zkdreads's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS V6
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,785
i have 4 keys that work 2 regular keys and 2 autostart keys
__________________
C-LO or Sonic
"Without Struggle there is no progress"
I am your best nightmare!
zkdreads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 07:28 PM   #15
Cheveey57

 
Cheveey57's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,425
That is what you have insurance for. Besides a cooked dealer would have access to many cars, what makes you think he wants yours?
__________________
If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space.
Cheveey57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 07:57 PM   #16
Heaven_is_inferno_orange
GM Technician
 
Heaven_is_inferno_orange's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 SS M6, 12 ZL1, 02 TA, 85 El Cam
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Fort Knox KY
Posts: 1,285
Send a message via MSN to Heaven_is_inferno_orange Send a message via Yahoo to Heaven_is_inferno_orange
It's simple. We go in with the Tech 2 scan tool and into the module and program the new keys. Usually takes 5 minutes tops. Old keys can be taken out of the module. Just make sure all keys are present at time of programming to make sure the tech programs in all keys that you physically still have.

I have three keys for mine. I believe up to four can be programmed in at one time for the Camaro.
Heaven_is_inferno_orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:55 PM   #17
dal022
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heaven_is_inferno_orange View Post
It's simple. We go in with the Tech 2 scan tool and into the module and program the new keys. Usually takes 5 minutes tops. Old keys can be taken out of the module. Just make sure all keys are present at time of programming to make sure the tech programs in all keys that you physically still have.

I have three keys for mine. I believe up to four can be programmed in at one time for the Camaro.
Ok so you do nothing to the car just program the keys how does the car know that keys are reprogramed i am so confused
dal022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 11:59 PM   #18
Comrando
SScalator
 
Comrando's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 CGM LS3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 6,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by dal022 View Post
Ok so you do nothing to the car just program the keys how does the car know that keys are reprogramed i am so confused
More than likely every key has an address and the car learns the address for each key.

There would be no reprogramming the key.

The key sends it's address and a command. If the car doesn't recognize the address it won't execute the command.

That's why HIIO wrote that keys can be deleted.
__________________
Give me fuel. Give me fire. Give me that which I desire.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v87/Slotict/Camaro/Wink-2_zpscd6910bd.jpg
Comrando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 11:22 AM   #19
Austin45
Poor College Kid
 
Austin45's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 LFX 45th Anniversary
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Jonesboro, AR
Posts: 869
I had to have my anti theft system reprogrammed once, which required reprogramming the keys. I only had one with me at the time, and when I got home the other key did not work.
__________________
Austin45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 04:19 PM   #20
PalmerGA


 
PalmerGA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SIM 1SS/RS L99
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southwest GA
Posts: 6,801
You got ripped off. Mine came with two fobs.
__________________
2013 1SS/RS Coupe L99
CAI Air Intake w/ Apex Scoop
VMAX CNC Ported Throttle Body
Solo Axle-Back Exhaust w/ J-pipes
RX Catch Can
Husky Splash Guards
Heritage Grille
Oracle Chrome Turn Signal Bulbs
Emblem Pros Retro SS Badges
Emblem Pros Custom Retro SS Kickplates
Emblem Pros Under-hood Bowtie
PalmerGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 11:31 PM   #21
dal022
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by PalmerGA View Post
You got ripped off. Mine came with two fobs.


what are you talkin about lol
dal022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 11:32 PM   #22
dal022
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin45 View Post
I had to have my anti theft system reprogrammed once, which required reprogramming the keys. I only had one with me at the time, and when I got home the other key did not work.

so then that's the answer have to get the antitheft reprogramed then keys and lost one will not work
dal022 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.