Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions

Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions External and Internal cosmetics modifications.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2013, 02:26 AM   #1
Rigzo510
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro Ls3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bay area, ca
Posts: 209
Exclamation Oracle halo/fog wiring help!

Before anybody tells me to use the search button I've already tried that and nobody wants the same uses as me lol.

I just received my red plasma halos/fogs today but am confused on how to wire these. These will be mostly for carshows so I need a power source that'll stay on without the keys in it or the DRL's or factory halos on so I don't know what to tap into. I still would also like to be able to turn them on if I drive.
__________________
Dynatech LT headers/Hi-flow cats/Jannetty rough idle blower cam/Full BMR suspension/3" magnaflow catback 442rwhp-410rwtq
Rigzo510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 02:37 AM   #2
Knockoutpie

 
Knockoutpie's Avatar
 
Drives: 1LT RS Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 830
Sounds easy enough. Ground + wire to positive battery and put a switch in so you can turn on whenever.
Knockoutpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:18 PM   #3
Rigzo510
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro Ls3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bay area, ca
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knockoutpie View Post
Sounds easy enough. Ground + wire to positive battery and put a switch in so you can turn on whenever.
would I need a fuse on it or wire it direct?
__________________
Dynatech LT headers/Hi-flow cats/Jannetty rough idle blower cam/Full BMR suspension/3" magnaflow catback 442rwhp-410rwtq
Rigzo510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 01:18 PM   #4
Knockoutpie

 
Knockoutpie's Avatar
 
Drives: 1LT RS Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rigzo510 View Post
would I need a fuse on it or wire it direct?
The only time you need fuses is to be safe. You don't ever really need a fuse, but if you get a surge you're ****ed on those lights. I say to with a fuse.

It's really quite a simple mod. I assume you put them in normally with the harness they give you. Theres probably a black and red wire. Black ground red is power +, hook it up normal. Then to have them on you run a wire from the + post on the battery and tap it to the main wire for your fog lights power. In the wire you will have a fuse, and then a switch. So you can turn it on or off. I mean I may be wrong though but it sounds easy.
Knockoutpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 06:58 AM   #5
DraggnFrameGMC

 
DraggnFrameGMC's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Synergy Green Camaro LT
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 830
Always always always use a fuse if coming straight off the battery. Preferably around 18 inches from tje battery
DraggnFrameGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 07:39 AM   #6
CruznSS

 
CruznSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Camaro ABM - Silver Ralleys
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gloucester VA
Posts: 1,768
I have the halo's with the remote box. I have a fuse between my battery & switch. For same reason to cut on at shows. Inline fuse to protect your lights & car.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
CruznSS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
aac, halo wiring, halos, oracle halo

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.