Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Gen5DIY
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2013, 12:26 PM   #15
jrpimp00
 
jrpimp00's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Black/IOM Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fayetteville NC
Posts: 501
This is the reason I have my T/A. I can understand GM not warranting any car that's been tuned. Just like Samsung wont warranty a laptop that's been opened. Or a phone that's been rooted.
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS Black/IOM //// 1998 Pontiac Trans AM 819 RWHP @ 12 PSI (Turbo)
jrpimp00 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 09:00 AM   #16
Apex Motorsports
 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 25,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrpimp00 View Post
This is the reason I have my T/A. I can understand GM not warranting any car that's been tuned. Just like Samsung wont warranty a laptop that's been opened. Or a phone that's been rooted.
That is an excellent comparison.
Apex Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 01:31 PM   #17
vroomapunk
[COTW 5/12/14]
 
vroomapunk's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CRT NF Cammed 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NOLA
Posts: 6,105
I have a tune and my rear end was replaced under warranty.

I have a tune, headers, intake, tb, HF cats, and my rear end clunking noise could not be fixed by changing the fluid/friction modifier.

When the dealer decided they wanted to open up the rear end, they had to send the file to GM containing a snapshot or w/e of ecu. GM gave them the go ahead, even with my tune, and they replaced the ENTIRE rear end. Total would have been $1,750 and I got a new rear end with the rest of the car at 25k miles.

So dont give up hope if you think your mods or tune actually didnt cause the damage.
__________________
vroomapunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:55 PM   #18
Msmall143

 
Msmall143's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NOVA
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by RenegadeSS View Post
What if the tune just does speed corrections, and removes the governor?
It wouldn't matter, to them its 1's and 0's. They aren't going to start dissecting what the tune did, just that it was done. It's not open for interpretation from gm's point of view.
Msmall143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:57 PM   #19
Msmall143

 
Msmall143's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NOVA
Posts: 1,721
Nice write up chase. This is exactly why I'm looking at the kooks lt's with green cats and no tune. I don't mind voiding my exhaust warranty, but don't want to void entire powertrain for the time being.
Msmall143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 04:38 PM   #20
Apex Motorsports
 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 25,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroomapunk View Post
I have a tune and my rear end was replaced under warranty.

I have a tune, headers, intake, tb, HF cats, and my rear end clunking noise could not be fixed by changing the fluid/friction modifier.

When the dealer decided they wanted to open up the rear end, they had to send the file to GM containing a snapshot or w/e of ecu. GM gave them the go ahead, even with my tune, and they replaced the ENTIRE rear end. Total would have been $1,750 and I got a new rear end with the rest of the car at 25k miles.

So dont give up hope if you think your mods or tune actually didnt cause the damage.
Absolutely. Like I said in the opening post the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act (15 U.S.C. 2302(C)) still applies. They can not deny a warranty repair unless the issue in question is the direct result of the tune.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Msmall143 View Post
Nice write up chase. This is exactly why I'm looking at the kooks lt's with green cats and no tune. I don't mind voiding my exhaust warranty, but don't want to void entire powertrain for the time being.
Thanks.
Apex Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 02:22 PM   #21
SeriouslySinning
 
SeriouslySinning's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Chevy Camaro 2LT 3.6 V6
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 715
Has anyone looked into buying an additional ECM and tuning it is a good work around? Id think that switching that out would work.
__________________

Seriously Sinning - "Veronica"
Commandment 11 - Thou shall not travel slowly.
SeriouslySinning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 09:34 PM   #22
honor first
MURICA!
 
honor first's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS 1LE
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: RGV, Texas
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeriouslySinning View Post
Has anyone looked into buying an additional ECM and tuning it is a good work around? Id think that switching that out would work.
would be interested in this as well
__________________
Pro Amore Patriae
God gave three gifts to man; dogs, women, and the LS motor.
2014 Camaro 2SS 6MT RS 1LE Black on Black
AFE Intake, Stainless Power Headers + HFC, BadlanzHPE Electric Cutouts. 315/275 Nittos, Wheels. Debadged, Cosmetic Mods, Sound System, More
honor first is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 10:30 PM   #23
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeriouslySinning View Post
Has anyone looked into buying an additional ECM and tuning it is a good work around? Id think that switching that out would work.
Doesn't work.

There are too many variables that are synced between the ECM, BCM, and PCM. Once GM pulls the ECM they'll see none of the variables line up.

That and you'll be hard pressed finding a dealer that'll program a second ECM to your VIN
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 02:23 PM   #24
Mcarltonjr
 
Mcarltonjr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F150 STX
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stig View Post
Doesn't work.

There are too many variables that are synced between the ECM, BCM, and PCM. Once GM pulls the ECM they'll see none of the variables line up.

That and you'll be hard pressed finding a dealer that'll program a second ECM to your VIN
My dealer actually told me to do this. Mod friendly. They told me they would make sure all the numbers matched if I proceeded with a dyno tune and long tube headers for my car. The dealership stated they have done this on all the camaros in their performance department. If anything goes wrong with the car they will swap the computer with the stock one thats been untouched.
Mcarltonjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 05:40 PM   #25
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcarltonjr View Post
My dealer actually told me to do this. Mod friendly. They told me they would make sure all the numbers matched if I proceeded with a dyno tune and long tube headers for my car. The dealership stated they have done this on all the camaros in their performance department. If anything goes wrong with the car they will swap the computer with the stock one thats been untouched.
I'm willing to bet that GM won't care what they "told" you. They'll still void your powertrain warranty.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 05:59 PM   #26
strych9
Gone Euro!
 
strych9's Avatar
 
Drives: 6spd Manual Mercedes, Daytona 955i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 3,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcarltonjr View Post
My dealer actually told me to do this. Mod friendly. They told me they would make sure all the numbers matched if I proceeded with a dyno tune and long tube headers for my car. The dealership stated they have done this on all the camaros in their performance department. If anything goes wrong with the car they will swap the computer with the stock one thats been untouched.
That dealer is committing fraud. Good luck with that.
__________________
Bye bye, Bumblebee!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
strych9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 08:47 PM   #27
Apex Motorsports
 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 25,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcarltonjr View Post
My dealer actually told me to do this. Mod friendly. They told me they would make sure all the numbers matched if I proceeded with a dyno tune and long tube headers for my car. The dealership stated they have done this on all the camaros in their performance department. If anything goes wrong with the car they will swap the computer with the stock one thats been untouched.
Quote:
Originally Posted by strych9 View Post
That dealer is committing fraud. Good luck with that.
I would be leery of doing it even if the dealer told you to and that they would help. If push came to shove I doubt they would admit involvement. Sometime you just have to pay to play.
Apex Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 10:13 PM   #28
Firefighter


 
Firefighter's Avatar
 
Drives: Black '13 2SS/RS/1LE w/NPP/NAV
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tampa by way of Miami...
Posts: 4,573
I've thought about a spare ECU/PCM whatever you call it.

But then there is OnStar...

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk
__________________
Firefighter is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
tune, void warranty, warranty

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.