Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Cam Motion
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2013, 09:55 AM   #18
DarkCry956
 
DarkCry956's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas RGV
Posts: 749
That's when I first installed my YSi. It wasn't complete but was drivable
Attached Images
 
DarkCry956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 10:07 AM   #19
DarkCry956
 
DarkCry956's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas RGV
Posts: 749
As the car sits now. I'm currently rewiring the engine bay and adding a few things for looks. Ill post pics when I'm done
Attached Images
 
DarkCry956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 10:13 AM   #20
DarkCry956
 
DarkCry956's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas RGV
Posts: 749
Before
Attached Images
 
DarkCry956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 08:31 PM   #21
the rich dude

 
Drives: Getting 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,154
Any of those ysi with cog drives running a manual transmission? Trying to find out if the cog belt will live under violent manual shifts? I've heard yes and no. Also want to be able to drive my car to lake country which is 4-5 hours each direction 8)
the rich dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 10:33 PM   #22
sycraft
COTW 5/06/2013
 
sycraft's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Corvette Stingray Z51-Ho-Vette
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 3,117
Sycrafts "Hot Blown Six"
Attached Images
   
__________________

2015 Corvette Stingray Z51, 7 Speed, Competition Seats, Red Calipers, Carbon Flash Badges and Trim, Adrenaline Red Interior, Custom Stripes, Tint, Lowered on stock bolts, Z06 Grill, Z06 Splitter, Borla Exhaust (soon)
sycraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 11:38 PM   #23
Bo White



 
Bo White's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Summit White 1SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vance Alabama
Posts: 4,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@RMCR View Post
His car always pulled high numbers. Not sure why. Every other car we have done with those mods have been about 40 RWHP less.
Also, what pulley setup does it have to get 7.5lbs? My car with 2 more lbs makes 570 but the tune is super safe.
__________________
OK, OK.....Ive been sweet talked into 1 more year.
Bo White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 12:34 AM   #24
blake-b

 
blake-b's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 2,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by the rich dude View Post
Any of those ysi with cog drives running a manual transmission? Trying to find out if the cog belt will live under violent manual shifts? I've heard yes and no. Also want to be able to drive my car to lake country which is 4-5 hours each direction 8)
I was running an M6 and didn't have any belt issues but then again, I wasn't beating on the car all the time and dragging it every weekend.

I drove mine across the state ~3 hour trip for the initial tune and back again with no issues.
blake-b is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 12:47 AM   #25
the rich dude

 
Drives: Getting 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake-b View Post
I was running an M6 and didn't have any belt issues but then again, I wasn't beating on the car all the time and dragging it every weekend.

I drove mine across the state ~3 hour trip for the initial tune and back again with no issues.
Do u not have this setup anymore?? How many miles did you put on that setup? Thanks.
the rich dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 01:24 AM   #26
blake-b

 
blake-b's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 2,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by the rich dude View Post
Do u not have this setup anymore?? How many miles did you put on that setup? Thanks.
I am switching to twin turbos. I put 5k on the ysi setup.
blake-b is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 02:02 PM   #27
ModBargains.com
 
ModBargains.com's Avatar
 
Drives: Widebody 2013 Mustang GT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: 1721 E. Lambert Rd. Unit C, La Habra, Ca 90631
Posts: 2,848
Got a set up that you'd like to share? Post up pictures or dyno graphs, videos of your drag runs or even videos of your dynos! Please post it up and share your knowledge of what you've got!
ModBargains.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 12:11 AM   #28
ace2777
 
ace2777's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS Inferno Orange
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 383
Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalkHD1384924272.777256.jpg
Views: 223
Size:  174.3 KB


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
__________________
IOM 2SS / RS / LS3 / IO INTERIOR

VORTECH V3 SI SUPERCHARGER
JRE UPGRADE KIT
AMERICAN RACING HEADERS
SOLO MACH-X CAT BACK EXHAUST
JRE CUSTOM TUNE
EIBACH PRO SPRINGS AND SWAYS
CATCH CAN
604 RWHP / 547 TQ
ace2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 02:10 PM   #29
ModBargains.com
 
ModBargains.com's Avatar
 
Drives: Widebody 2013 Mustang GT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: 1721 E. Lambert Rd. Unit C, La Habra, Ca 90631
Posts: 2,848
Anyone else to contribute? Post it up!
ModBargains.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 08:20 PM   #30
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 228
I'm looking at DarkCry956's set up, or for that matter the one in tkrupinski's post. Can he, or anyone else, tell me where I can get the adapter that he is using between the supercharger and air filter? I have the V7 and am currently using the Vortech intake ducting. I am wanting to try a rear mounted air filter and see if any gains are to had.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 10:31 PM   #31
blake-b

 
blake-b's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 2,091
If you get a K&N filter with a 4" opening, it will fit perfectly on the blower inlet. I know autozone sells them. I ran my filter on the inlet with no adapter and didn't have any issues making power.
blake-b is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 09:49 AM   #32
DarkCry956
 
DarkCry956's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas RGV
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaCamaro View Post
I'm looking at DarkCry956's set up, or for that matter the one in tkrupinski's post. Can he, or anyone else, tell me where I can get the adapter that he is using between the supercharger and air filter? I have the V7 and am currently using the Vortech intake ducting. I am wanting to try a rear mounted air filter and see if any gains are to had.
Like Blake said, you can get the filter at Autozone as long as it has the 4" opening. It's the same filter you get with the JRE Vortech upgrade by the way. It works fine if you put it on the blower itself. I did mine the way I did because I like the look. It's just an aluminum pipe with a 45 angle. I then measured it and mocked it up to where I wanted it and it would clear everything just fine. Oh and you will need 4" coupling and clamps to attach the pipe to the blower itself.
DarkCry956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:51 PM   #33
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 228
I have the four inch filter now from the Jannetty upgrade kit. I know that it will fit directly onto the compressor, but like you, I find the extension better looking, and it will give me a place for the PCV fitting. Maybe it will also get the filter a little farther away from the headers.

Does anyone have any before and after power numbers using the Vortech ducting VS rear mount filters?
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:57 PM   #34
Bo White



 
Bo White's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Summit White 1SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vance Alabama
Posts: 4,422
Yes, someone tested the tube vs just the filter. My Paxton 1500 has a 3 3/4" inlet so my 4" filter on my tube wont work but I will buy another K&N for this purpose.
__________________
OK, OK.....Ive been sweet talked into 1 more year.
Bo White is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.