Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2013, 11:12 AM   #15
thxultra
 
thxultra's Avatar
 
Drives: Mean ass V6
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 128
Nice setup, do you have to go through windows startup though and shutdown every time you drive? Think my lack of patience would be a problem if I had to wait for it to start up and shut down. Looks really slick though and flac support is a big bonus
thxultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 01:55 PM   #16
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 393
The carpc boots and is playing music where it left off faster than the My link can do the same thing, thanks to the i7 and ssd.

This morning I started getting glitches on my speedo an tach, flat tire warnings, and general mayhem. I suspect the metra heater control module. Troubleshooting after work.

-Robert
__________________
If you see it, get it, for tomorrow it may be gone!
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 02:18 PM   #17
stt816
 
Drives: 2012 Black 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Stamford, Connecticut
Posts: 584
nice songs/artists love sound remedy & adventure club
stt816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 02:33 PM   #18
Padre
Only drives on Sundays
 
Padre's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 2SS/RS, Black/Inferno, L99 A6
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dalton, GA
Posts: 2,416
Very impressive. My carputer is mainly for tuning and very amateur. Wish I had your mad skillz!

Padre
__________________

The "Heretic": '11 2SS/RS L99 A6 Black/Inferno. Build Journal, Videos
D1SC GT9 JBA-LT = 720/680 | 10.330 @ 133.61, 1.546 sixty... Camaro King at ECS V, Darlington.
Padre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 03:10 PM   #19
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 393
I got a reply back from Metra based off the glitched I experienced, they suspect the heater control buttons part, and not the onstar/steering wheel box, and gave me a list of items to verify and reply after work tonight.

Let's hope it's easy as just a flash of the heater controller with different firmware and recover. They also suspect the pink wire between the 44 pin connector and the heater controller as loose. Those guys respond fast!
__________________
If you see it, get it, for tomorrow it may be gone!
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 03:40 PM   #20
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by stt816 View Post
nice songs/artists love sound remedy & adventure club
Yesterday on the way home I was streaming Adventure Club from https://soundcloud.com/dubstep in 320Kbit with only 2 dropout/stalls between San Jose and Fremont using my phone's 4G hotspot (Cyanogenmod on a Samsung GS3). I was actually pretty surprised at the connection stability.


Quote:
Very impressive. My carputer is mainly for tuning and very amateur. Wish I had your mad skillz!

Padre
Don't sell yourself short, I did absolutely NOTHING fancy, I used a Metra kit, and all off the shelf PC stuff to slapp this thing together. Anyone can do it, it's just a matter of getting familiar with all the car pc hardware that's available like cases, power supplies, and USB devices. Only 1 software program to learn, the front end software, which in my case is Driveline.
__________________
If you see it, get it, for tomorrow it may be gone!
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 10:45 AM   #21
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 393
Update on the Metra glitch, after force flashing the Metra boxes, I installed them last night and they worked fine then. On the way to work the DIC screen glitches again, and the Speedo and Tach glitches, then recovered for the rest of the drive.

The carpc played fine the whole time, so I will replace the Metra buttons and LCD parts tonight. I have a version 1.1 firmware heater controls buttons from an older Metra kit where only the green color of the RGB screen led works.

-Robert
__________________
If you see it, get it, for tomorrow it may be gone!
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 05:53 PM   #22
chris7488
 
chris7488's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 camaro ss
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: miami
Posts: 224
I'll buy your old my link how much??
chris7488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 09:15 PM   #23
45thCamaro


 
45thCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 45th Anniversary RS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris7488 View Post
I'll buy your old my link how much??
He said he's not selling it.
45thCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 07:06 AM   #24
Eich
 
Drives: '11 SW/Beige 2SS RS Manual
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 674
Nice work. Very cool setup. I like everything except for the need to use the Metra kit. That kit is notorious for LEDs going out in the display. Metra support is quick to respond but the only response they give for LED display going out is to flash the firmware (which isn't the problem) or replace the entire kit (which is generally out of warranty when the LED display goes dark).

Would be nice if there was a way to make your car PC handle all the HVAC controls and then have a custom dash kit made that looks better than Metra.
Eich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 01:57 PM   #25
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 393
Yes, that's exactly the response I got from Metra. First I flashed both parts, and then when I asked if the sell replacement parts they said No, buy a new kit. I already have 2 bad kits now. Both out of warrantee.

-Robert
__________________
If you see it, get it, for tomorrow it may be gone!
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 12:23 PM   #26
Bildo

 
Bildo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 1,304
I would love to have the info on how to tap into the OEM backup camera, getting ready to install a Kenwood DNX890HD and would love to display the camera on the mirror and the head unit.
Bildo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 02:46 PM   #27
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 393
I'm sure it's easy enough once you find out which pins the video + and - go to. There are guys on this forum who had their mirror monitor relocated to their aftermarket head unit, so you just have to find out which connector and pin numbers, then leave them wired and tee in.
__________________
If you see it, get it, for tomorrow it may be gone!
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 09:00 PM   #28
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 393
Today I worked on getting the door speakers off the stock wires through the doors. I had detected some kind of quiet buzz from the tweeters when everything is off, and suspect the factory wiring is picking up noise from the factory amp. Currently the door speakers were tapped in to the a factory amp speaker out.

So goal is to first find a way to drill the door and door jamb for wires, and go with solder connections on the speakers instead of theose spade lugs that tend to vibrate and make poor connections over time.

I found a place to drill for door speaker wire passthrough. The wires don't get pinched, but I had to drill through 2 layers of metal, and could only get 1 grommet on:


I had to wrap electrical tape around 6 inches of the wire on the door jam side of the wire, then fish it through. It wedged inside the grommet pretty tight, and the tape is thick where the wire contacts the inner metal panel, about 1/4 inch back. The exit side is smooth, but I am going to find a bigger grommet for the oval pass through. I could also seal the holes with RTV, but I want to wait a year and see how robust the flexing of this wire is over time, and replace it if necessary.
__________________
If you see it, get it, for tomorrow it may be gone!
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.