Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Classic Industries
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Garage / Tools Discussions

Garage / Tools Discussions Discussions about garage setups and general tools discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2014, 11:48 AM   #1
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,919
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Buying a compressor... do NOT want to underbuy.

Yes I know these questions have come up plenty in this section. If it's a repeat please humor me.

I can run power to the garage if needed. Would rather not but making sure I have what I want is more important.

What is it that I want?

I want to be able to break lugs and remove a wheel (so 5 to 6 lugs) with the lugs at 120 lbs. of torque or more without having to wait for the tank.

I found a number of great compressors that are 30 gallon or even 20 but I do run my air ratchet and some of those bolts such as head bolts get long and require more air so I'd might want a bigger tank. Next tank after 30 is most of the time 60. Most 60g tanks have engines requiring 220 though I did find two compressors with 60g tanks and 2hp motors requiring only 115v. The bigger tanks have more CFM capabilities.

Pros and cons of the following. (all CFMs @90psi)

20 Gallon tank at 5 CFM and 115v / 2hp
26 Gallon tank at 7 CFM and 115v / 2hp
30 Gallon tank at 5 CFM and 115v / 2hp
30 Gallon tank at 5 CFM and 115v or 230v / 3hp
60 Gallon tank at 7 CFM and 115v / 2hp
60 Gallon tank at 10 CFM and 230v / 3.5hp

Came up with these two. 60 gallon tanks with 2hp motors so no running 220 and I'd have my higher CFM.

I might just run some 220 out and get the bigger engine anyway. I know I am not running a shop but the cost is essentially the same other than the romex. I have an unused 20A sitting in the breaker box.

http://www.aircompressorsdirect.com/...sor/p4786.html

http://www.aircompressorsdirect.com/...sor/p8160.html


The ultimate question here is can I break 6 - 120 lb lugs easily without having to wait for air at all on a 30 gallon 5cfm compressor?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 12:59 PM   #2
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,919
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Twisty View Post
Randy, think of it like this... your maggie is an air compressor. It was designed to keep 376 cubic inches of air compressed to ~6psi @~6000 rpm (the engine)

A Honda turbine (small body) can compress 100 cubic inches @ 6psi x 6000 rpm, but it would puke it's guts trying to compress 376 cu in.

#1 thing is spec the compressor, the compressor is factory spec'd with a minimum electric motor hp rating. The tank is only a storage device made to keep the compressor from running almost continuously.

Make sense?
.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 01:02 PM   #3
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,919
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
It does make sense. I just want to be able to have enough torque to break really tight bolts. I have used friends compressors and would break a couple lugs and have to wait a minute or so to get the others.

It would not be that big of a deal but for litteraly a hundred dollars more I can get the bigger ones if the little ones won't so it.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 01:08 PM   #4
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: LS-3 429 TT with other odds-n-ends
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 13,511
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
Always overbuy tools...

If one is just right, buy the next bigger one... Tools evolve and air demands change... As the compressor wears, it wont run quite as fast and the pistons will leak a bit more as cylinders widen out with time... I know that's easy to say, but it's true, with both the compressor and with the tools.

I've seen a 3/4 inch impact put out right at 1000 ft/lbs, and a 1 inch impact couldn't break the same nuts the next day... Tools wear and use more air over time... They will often still do the same job it just takes more air to do so...
__________________
If the car feels like it is on rails, you are probably driving too slow. -Ross Bentley

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

“If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.” Mario Andretti

If you can turn, you ain't going fast enough...
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 01:11 PM   #5
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: LS-3 429 TT with other odds-n-ends
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 13,511
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
As for the power, if you can get a 220 volt compressor for roughly the same money, go that route... It will save you money over time... If you have any room left in the breaker box, put a 2 pole breaker of recommended size based on the compressor you buy and be done with it... Yes the romex will cost a bit more but you will save money over time with electricity costs...
__________________
If the car feels like it is on rails, you are probably driving too slow. -Ross Bentley

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

“If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.” Mario Andretti

If you can turn, you ain't going fast enough...
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 01:22 PM   #6
Mr Twisty


 
Mr Twisty's Avatar
 
Drives: the 2nd amendment home
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OK
Posts: 14,379
The problem with DIY type compressors, the motors tend to be over-rated. I have an OLD Worthington industrial compressor that uses a 1.5hp 220v motor, that motor is a solid 1.5 hp. A true 1.5 hp 110v motor would draw almost 20 amps, and I think that's about the upper limit for household 110v wiring, most breakers are 15amp.

In other words, when they advertise a 2hp 110v electric motor they're WAY overrating the hp, 2hp 110v would need close to 30 amps to run.

If there are any electricians, please correct me if I'm off

{edit} they're probably also overrating their pumps cfm and volume, be aware.
__________________
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- Benjamin Franklin
Great Racing Quotes

"Never run out of real estate, traction and ideas at the same time."
"I was doing fine until about mid-corner when I ran out of talent."
"Don't brake until you see God, just don't meet him"
Mr Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 01:34 PM   #7
ModBargains

 
ModBargains's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro RS/SS, 996TT, E90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: 1721 E. Lambert Rd. Unit C, La Habra, Ca 90631
Posts: 517
Go big, I have this one in my shop at home and it never runs out of air:

http://www.lowes.com/pd_48365-1126-T...7C1&facetInfo=

__________________

Sales | Sales@Modbargains.com | (714) 582-3330
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00AM-6:00PM, Saturday 8:00AM-5:00PM (PST) | Our Blog
ModBargains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 02:08 PM   #8
CHMSC
ROAD COURSE JUNKIE
 
CHMSC's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 12,706
I have a 30 gallon and use it all the time with no problems doing what you ask and more. Now you know if you get a 30 you will wish you would of gotten a 60 so just get it over with. I would of gotten a 60 but I wanted mine to be somewhat mobile for moving. If i had a house I knew I was going to stay in I would get the 60 or 80 gallon compressor.
__________________
CHMSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 02:14 PM   #9
Supercharged Red
 
Supercharged Red's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS A6 Victory Red
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Snohomish WA
Posts: 182
Buy a 60 gallon 2 stage. You will always find uses for it.
__________________
2011 Camaro 2SS/RS A6/L99 Victory Red
SLP TVS2300 Supercharger 6psi & Coil Covers. Roto Fab CAI. RX Catch can ZL1 Fuel Pump
Kooks 1 7/8" LT Headers w/ High Flow Cats Corsa out the back! NT555R 305/35/20
472 RWHP 466 RWTQ 12.11 @ 114.3 MPH 1.81 60' Pacific Raceways Kent, WA 6/6/13
Supercharged Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 02:30 PM   #10
Mr Twisty


 
Mr Twisty's Avatar
 
Drives: the 2nd amendment home
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OK
Posts: 14,379
2-stage is money! But if you could find a used one, they're industrial quality. That's what I did, but had to change 3-ph motor woth single phase. Made in the 60's and still kickin'a$$

This looks nice...
http://www.amazon.com/Quincy-Single-...air+compressor

__________________
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- Benjamin Franklin
Great Racing Quotes

"Never run out of real estate, traction and ideas at the same time."
"I was doing fine until about mid-corner when I ran out of talent."
"Don't brake until you see God, just don't meet him"
Mr Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 03:01 PM   #11
Mr Twisty


 
Mr Twisty's Avatar
 
Drives: the 2nd amendment home
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OK
Posts: 14,379
Everyone is giving good advice, mixed with a little Tim Allen "MO POWAH!" attitude lol

Before you decide on tank size, just know a 60 gallon is large, 80 is HUGE! Takes up some real estate even vertical.
__________________
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- Benjamin Franklin
Great Racing Quotes

"Never run out of real estate, traction and ideas at the same time."
"I was doing fine until about mid-corner when I ran out of talent."
"Don't brake until you see God, just don't meet him"
Mr Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 03:40 PM   #12
69SSRS2013LS
 
69SSRS2013LS's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 SSRS Camaro 2013 1LS Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vincentown NJ
Posts: 14
It's not just the compressor that matters make sure you buy good air tools.
I have a Husky 220volt 60 gallon single stage ,drove me nuts with the lack of guts it had kept kicking myself I did not spend more on a 2 stage.. Then I bought a good air gun with 550 lbs of torque(Husky Air Tool 1/2 in. Impact Wrench model HSTC4140) I paid $100.00 3 years ago on sale now for $49.88
What a difference ,it has yet to hit anything it won't blast right off while using very little air. since then I have been replacing all my air tools with high torque better ones.
69SSRS2013LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 04:24 PM   #13
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,919
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
As far as portability I still have a 6 gallon overflow tank and a 3 gallon compressor that I have been using for tires and simple shit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SSE 4 2SS View Post
As for the power, if you can get a 220 volt compressor for roughly the same money, go that route... It will save you money over time... If you have any room left in the breaker box, put a 2 pole breaker of recommended size based on the compressor you buy and be done with it... Yes the romex will cost a bit more but you will save money over time with electricity costs...
I was thinking along those same lines. If I run the 220 then the decision is basically over.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Twisty View Post
The problem with DIY type compressors, the motors tend to be over-rated. I have an OLD Worthington industrial compressor that uses a 1.5hp 220v motor, that motor is a solid 1.5 hp. A true 1.5 hp 110v motor would draw almost 20 amps, and I think that's about the upper limit for household 110v wiring, most breakers are 15amp.

In other words, when they advertise a 2hp 110v electric motor they're WAY overrating the hp, 2hp 110v would need close to 30 amps to run.

If there are any electricians, please correct me if I'm off

{edit} they're probably also overrating their pumps cfm and volume, be aware.
Yup, the guy at compressors r us (or whatever they are) on the phone this morning basically told me the same thing. He said that I'd save money on electric because the 220s use less juice than the 110s in the long run. I had specifically asked him what the benefit was to opting for the 220 even on the ones that take either 110 or 220.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ModBargains View Post
Go big, I have this one in my shop at home and it never runs out of air:

http://www.lowes.com/pd_48365-1126-T...7C1&facetInfo=
I saw that one too. I think 60g is all I want to make room for. I may actually put it outside and house it in so 80 isn't out of the question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHMSC View Post
I have a 30 gallon and use it all the time with no problems doing what you ask and more. Now you know if you get a 30 you will wish you would of gotten a 60 so just get it over with. I would of gotten a 60 but I wanted mine to be somewhat mobile for moving. If i had a house I knew I was going to stay in I would get the 60 or 80 gallon compressor.
I fear you may be right. If the 30 will do what I need I'd be fine though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supercharged Red View Post
Buy a 60 gallon 2 stage. You will always find uses for it.
This was one of the 'cons' in the pros and cons lists that Bonnie said. She said if I buy the big one that I'm going to want to go buy more pneumatic tools.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Twisty View Post
2-stage is money! But if you could find a used one, they're industrial quality. That's what I did, but had to change 3-ph motor woth single phase. Made in the 60's and still kickin'a$$

This looks nice...
http://www.amazon.com/Quincy-Single-...air+compressor
Saw that one too. Decisions decisions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Twisty View Post
Everyone is giving good advice, mixed with a little Tim Allen "MO POWAH!" attitude lol

Before you decide on tank size, just know a 60 gallon is large, 80 is HUGE! Takes up some real estate even vertical.
If I house it and put it outside in the backyard it won't matter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 69SSRS2013LS View Post
It's not just the compressor that matters make sure you buy good air tools.
I have a Husky 220volt 60 gallon single stage ,drove me nuts with the lack of guts it had kept kicking myself I did not spend more on a 2 stage.. Then I bought a good air gun with 550 lbs of torque(Husky Air Tool 1/2 in. Impact Wrench model HSTC4140) I paid $100.00 3 years ago on sale now for $49.88
What a difference ,it has yet to hit anything it won't blast right off while using very little air. since then I have been replacing all my air tools with high torque better ones.
The ones I have are not a bottleneck. I just need more power.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 05:10 PM   #14
Batmanntexas
 
Batmanntexas's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS (2SS)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 443
I was given a Husky 2-stage 220V compressor about 2 years ago, which presented me with a similar problem. I didn't want to run a 220V circuit through the finished walls in the garage. My solution was to install a double pole breaker into one of the unused slots in the breaker box, and locate a 220 outlet right below the box. I bought some remnant cable from Lowe's, wired one end to the compressor, and put a 220V plug on the other end. I think I spent about $50 parts and cable all combined.
__________________
630RWHP/565RWTQ Sycho Tuned

COTW 9/8/14
Batmanntexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 05:32 PM   #15
motorhead
bars suck
 
motorhead's Avatar
 
Drives: ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: central, Pa
Posts: 7,803
Not sure if it's been mentioned above, but your better two stage compressors allow for higher air pressure. This allows for running better air tools at higher pressures to give you the power to break tight bolts. Most cheaper two stage compressors still only go to just above 100psi. Also when talking real Hp instead of "advertised" a two Hp motor is the biggest you will run on a 20 amp 110v circuit without tripping breakers. This is why 110 units are just toys for any kind of real garage work. If you want to run a nailer or do small projects they are fine.

My suggest would be to get a good professional two stage in the 5hp range. If you can afford to buy high end wheels and superchargers you should be able to afford a good compressor. Lol
motorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 06:03 PM   #16
CHMSC
ROAD COURSE JUNKIE
 
CHMSC's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 12,706
You are right PQ. Another member said already quality air tools makes a huge difference. I have no problem with my 30 gallon compressor and good air tools.
__________________
CHMSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 06:13 PM   #17
Mr Twisty


 
Mr Twisty's Avatar
 
Drives: the 2nd amendment home
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OK
Posts: 14,379
As far as couplers, (quick connects) Milton brass 1/4" is what dad always used, and they were pretty durable. 1/4" couplers with 3/8 hose and 1/4" fitting ends should give all the volume you need.

Not all couplers are exactly the same, make sure you get matching males & females. Most smaller air tools are 1/4 npt, including your air ratchet, unless you have a superduper high torque model.

Also, don't skimp on your air line, I bought some Chinese craponacracker hose that cracked & leaked in less than a year. ....

__________________
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- Benjamin Franklin
Great Racing Quotes

"Never run out of real estate, traction and ideas at the same time."
"I was doing fine until about mid-corner when I ran out of talent."
"Don't brake until you see God, just don't meet him"
Mr Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 09:11 PM   #18
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,919
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batmanntexas View Post
I was given a Husky 2-stage 220V compressor about 2 years ago, which presented me with a similar problem. I didn't want to run a 220V circuit through the finished walls in the garage. My solution was to install a double pole breaker into one of the unused slots in the breaker box, and locate a 220 outlet right below the box. I bought some remnant cable from Lowe's, wired one end to the compressor, and put a 220V plug on the other end. I think I spent about $50 parts and cable all combined.
I may go this route. However when I replaced my entire power mast and electric box on the house the week after Katrina I made sure to leave myself an easy upgrade plan. I could have this run and done in an hour if I choose.

Quote:
Originally Posted by motorhead View Post
Not sure if it's been mentioned above, but your better two stage compressors allow for higher air pressure. This allows for running better air tools at higher pressures to give you the power to break tight bolts. Most cheaper two stage compressors still only go to just above 100psi. Also when talking real Hp instead of "advertised" a two Hp motor is the biggest you will run on a 20 amp 110v circuit without tripping breakers. This is why 110 units are just toys for any kind of real garage work. If you want to run a nailer or do small projects they are fine.

My suggest would be to get a good professional two stage in the 5hp range. If you can afford to buy high end wheels and superchargers you should be able to afford a good compressor. Lol
The cost is really not much more at all. I have a hundred foot of romex already so I should be fine. My good compressor died recently so I've been using this small one. When I say my good compressor it was not even 5cfm so kinda sucked anyway.

The plan is to move in the next couple of years from this house but I will still run the wires if needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHMSC View Post
You are right PQ. Another member said already quality air tools makes a huge difference. I have no problem with my 30 gallon compressor and good air tools.
I do plan on some painting as well. I hear that uses the air pretty good too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Twisty View Post
As far as couplers, (quick connects) Milton brass 1/4" is what dad always used, and they were pretty durable. 1/4" couplers with 3/8 hose and 1/4" fitting ends should give all the volume you need.

Not all couplers are exactly the same, make sure you get matching males & females. Most smaller air tools are 1/4 npt, including your air ratchet, unless you have a superduper high torque model.

Also, don't skimp on your air line, I bought some Chinese craponacracker hose that cracked & leaked in less than a year. ....
I always did buy good fittings. And plenty of them. I have a bucket full.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 09:21 PM   #19
motorhead
bars suck
 
motorhead's Avatar
 
Drives: ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: central, Pa
Posts: 7,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Twisty View Post

Also, don't skimp on your air line, I bought some Chinese craponacracker hose that cracked & leaked
Agree here. I always buy Goodyear air line. I still have the first one I ever bought over 25 years ago.
motorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 09:22 PM   #20
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,919
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by motorhead View Post
Agree here. I always buy Goodyear air line. I still have the first one I ever bought over 25 years ago.
You mean I shouldn't tape a bunch of straws together and use that?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 09:30 PM   #21
motorhead
bars suck
 
motorhead's Avatar
 
Drives: ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: central, Pa
Posts: 7,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
You mean I shouldn't tape a bunch of straws together and use that?
Haha! Just get a good garden hose.
motorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 11:06 PM   #22
Mr Twisty


 
Mr Twisty's Avatar
 
Drives: the 2nd amendment home
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OK
Posts: 14,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
You mean I shouldn't tape a bunch of straws together and use that?
You could just BLOWHARD.....

Wouldn't even need a compressor

Try this, let me know how it works

http://www.rockler.com/flexzillareg-...ngths-air-hose

You guys were talking about connectors and what-not doohicky things in the other thread, didn't know if it was covered or not.
__________________
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- Benjamin Franklin
Great Racing Quotes

"Never run out of real estate, traction and ideas at the same time."
"I was doing fine until about mid-corner when I ran out of talent."
"Don't brake until you see God, just don't meet him"
Mr Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 11:20 PM   #23
gotroost

 
gotroost's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS RS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 832
Just my 2 cents.

Air compressor - big volume and quick recovery. You may decide you may want to paint or air sand an entire vehicle some day. I was lucky and inherited mine from my Dad's diesel shop. Must be 40 years old, but still strong with regular maintenance.

Noise - If you end up running power, I would recommend building a noise insulated dog house in or out of your shop. Much more pleasant for the operator.

Dry air - Get an air dryer for the life of your tools. Mo is better for any type of painting or tool life. I live in AZ, but the air tank still builds up water.

Hoses - NAPA paint hose work for me for general use. Kink proof and durable. But I make sure I keep the true paint hoses oil/contaminant free.

Tools - I've had my Chicago Pneumatic 3/4 air wrench for 20 plus years. Rated for more torque than most and still running strong. My Dad's one got away from me over the years, but its still in operation after 35 years. Just keep them oiled and dry.
__________________

Mods: JRE 470 cam kit, Dynatech long tubes/hi-flo cats, SLP underdrive pulley, CAI intake/ADM scoop, Pfadt Stage 2 suspension, Hotchkiss strut tower brace, Proven Wicked tow hook and end links, DBA rotors, some bloody knuckles, still in progress...
gotroost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 11:31 PM   #24
gotroost

 
gotroost's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS RS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 832
Just for fun - check out an air nibbler and a "zip gun" (aka air hammer). Zip gun makes short work of stodgy bolts and concrete if needed. Zip gun has saved from firing up the torch on several occasions. Nibbler makes short work of shaping aluminum.

Your post just reminded me that I need to get my toys out and lube them up.
__________________

Mods: JRE 470 cam kit, Dynatech long tubes/hi-flo cats, SLP underdrive pulley, CAI intake/ADM scoop, Pfadt Stage 2 suspension, Hotchkiss strut tower brace, Proven Wicked tow hook and end links, DBA rotors, some bloody knuckles, still in progress...
gotroost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 12:15 AM   #25
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,919
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Twisty View Post
You could just BLOWHARD.....

Wouldn't even need a compressor

Try this, let me know how it works

http://www.rockler.com/flexzillareg-...ngths-air-hose

You guys were talking about connectors and what-not doohicky things in the other thread, didn't know if it was covered or not.
OOOooooooooOOOOoooooo..... those couplers are pretty on that page.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gotroost View Post
Just my 2 cents.

Air compressor - big volume and quick recovery. You may decide you may want to paint or air sand an entire vehicle some day. I was lucky and inherited mine from my Dad's diesel shop. Must be 40 years old, but still strong with regular maintenance.

Noise - If you end up running power, I would recommend building a noise insulated dog house in or out of your shop. Much more pleasant for the operator.

Dry air - Get an air dryer for the life of your tools. Mo is better for any type of painting or tool life. I live in AZ, but the air tank still builds up water.

Hoses - NAPA paint hose work for me for general use. Kink proof and durable. But I make sure I keep the true paint hoses oil/contaminant free.

Tools - I've had my Chicago Pneumatic 3/4 air wrench for 20 plus years. Rated for more torque than most and still running strong. My Dad's one got away from me over the years, but its still in operation after 35 years. Just keep them oiled and dry.
All good info. It is humid as hell here so I may just do that. I have to drain water every time I use my compressor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gotroost View Post
Just for fun - check out an air nibbler and a "zip gun" (aka air hammer). Zip gun makes short work of stodgy bolts and concrete if needed. Zip gun has saved from firing up the torch on several occasions. Nibbler makes short work of shaping aluminum.

Your post just reminded me that I need to get my toys out and lube them up.
Glad I can help.

Ya, I will be buying a paint gun soon. I have a few projects I'll be working on and I was told that the last thing you want is for the tool to get low and sputter.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.