Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Anthony @ LG Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V6

Forced Induction - V6 V6 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2012, 01:34 PM   #1
Nitro Dave
 
Drives: 2010 RS SS Juiced!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 235
Tach & TPS Wire Connections for V6

Hey guys I figured I would share this info. For those who are installing nitrous systems with a nitrous controller and need to know TPS and Tach signal connection points on the V6 camaro.

I installed a controller on the car to varify everything.

TPS- At throttle body connector. Most controllers will work of either rising or falling voltage.
Purple Wire = Rising Voltage
Green Wire = Falling Voltage

Tach signal- Passenger side, front ignition coil.
Its a flat 4 wire connector, 3rd wire from the left, (Pin C) Purple wire.

The Nitrous Outlet controller RPM setting should be on 00 for individual coil per cylinder.

Dave
Nitro Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 01:38 PM   #2
h2oplay
Winners find a way
 
h2oplay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,137
Dave,

Are you sure you're getting a good signal? I had to add a tach signal box to get it to work correctly, it also wouldn't work well for my shift light until I added the box....
__________________
Injen LT | Magnaflows | BBK LT & HFC | Mace 25mm & P Spacer |Richmond 3.73 | Trifecta Tune
RX Catch Can & Breather | Pedders Inserts | IDEALG Clutch MC & GTO Reservoir | JDP Colorshift Halos | Drake Bowtie Delete |
h2oplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 01:41 PM   #3
Nitro Dave
 
Drives: 2010 RS SS Juiced!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 235
I had a nice clean signal. I installed a controller, Played with the rpm settings and varified it was not erratic. The rpm read out on my controller matched the cars tach the entire time.

If you are using a T-tap connector that could be your problem. Best way to do it is tap into the wire and soldier the connection.

Dave
Nitro Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:06 PM   #4
h2oplay
Winners find a way
 
h2oplay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,137
well, I'm soldered up now with my add on box, perhaps that was my issue initially.... I'm using the nytrex controller which was a PITA to setup but has a lot of features.
__________________
Injen LT | Magnaflows | BBK LT & HFC | Mace 25mm & P Spacer |Richmond 3.73 | Trifecta Tune
RX Catch Can & Breather | Pedders Inserts | IDEALG Clutch MC & GTO Reservoir | JDP Colorshift Halos | Drake Bowtie Delete |
h2oplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 05:30 PM   #5
Nitro Dave
 
Drives: 2010 RS SS Juiced!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 235
Sounds good. Have you ran your car on the spray yet?
Dave
Nitro Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 08:45 PM   #6
manu_b
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro inferno orange 2LT RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: ONTARIO
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitro Dave View Post
I had a nice clean signal. I installed a controller, Played with the rpm settings and varified it was not erratic. The rpm read out on my controller matched the cars tach the entire time.

If you are using a T-tap connector that could be your problem. Best way to do it is tap into the wire and soldier the connection.

Dave
Hello Dave: is it required to use passenger side first ignition coil. I tried on the driver side first cylinder and my summit racing rpm switch did not work.
manu_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 10:15 AM   #7
MagnumForceGB

 
MagnumForceGB's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro V6 / 2014 Mustang 5.0
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, OK
Posts: 1,545
Good information, thanks. Will help me out when I get a progressive controller.
__________________
MagnumForceGB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 05:12 PM   #8
manu_b
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro inferno orange 2LT RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: ONTARIO
Posts: 29
Tried the passenger from coil did not work. Hopefully my switch is faulty
manu_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:10 AM   #9
ksspeed
 
ksspeed's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013, Camaro 2LS (BRM)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Eudora, Ks. 66025
Posts: 56
Im running an msd window switch, i used the driver side first coil, if im not mistaken, and your box is looking at a "single cylinder" set up, it shouldnt matter which coil you tap on to, as long as it is the purple wire on one of the coil wires of the four wire connector. I could be wrong, but thats been my experiance, so far.
ksspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:02 PM   #10
manu_b
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro inferno orange 2LT RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: ONTARIO
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksspeed View Post
Im running an msd window switch, i used the driver side first coil, if im not mistaken, and your box is looking at a "single cylinder" set up, it shouldnt matter which coil you tap on to, as long as it is the purple wire on one of the coil wires of the four wire connector. I could be wrong, but thats been my experiance, so far.
Stupid me,I bought cheap summit rpm switch and now bought MSD GMR but still nothing worked. Only problem is I can't check what is faulty.
manu_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 09:11 AM   #11
IneedAZ

 
IneedAZ's Avatar
 
Drives: not enough power
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tampa
Posts: 1,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by manu_b View Post
Stupid me,I bought cheap summit rpm switch and now bought MSD GMR but still nothing worked. Only problem is I can't check what is faulty.
Make sure you have the MSD set to 1cylinder not 6cylinder.
__________________
2012: Vmax TBody, CAI w/scoop, Solo HFC, ZL1 FP, Magnaflow TruX, Dynomax VT, RX catch can, HP Tune, BMR; Springs, Sways, Trailing Arms, Toe Ends, & Safety Loop, Koni str.t, Pioneer Z150bh, Phoenix Gold Sub, Hertz speakers & 5ch Amp, SS rear with 3.91 gears w/Eaton TrueTrac, and BMR bushings, Baer Decela Rotors, Goodridge brake lines, Brembo(GM) 4 piston calipers, Hawk Ceramic pads, and Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta Tires, Ny-Trex Nitrous, and more. 345RWHP/354lbsTQ 12.8@108
IneedAZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 11:42 AM   #12
manu_b
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro inferno orange 2LT RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: ONTARIO
Posts: 29
Its not msd switch that might be the issue. Its a summit racing rpm switch
manu_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 04:54 PM   #13
IneedAZ

 
IneedAZ's Avatar
 
Drives: not enough power
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tampa
Posts: 1,543
I just reread what u wrote. When I replied I thought bought the MSD switch after realizing the Summit doesn't work, missed the GMR part of your sentence. Yes, Summit switch wont work as it only goes down to 6 cyl. You can return the GMR too if u want..u need the MSD switch itself which does go down to 1 cylinder. I did the same as others buying the cheaper Summit thinking 6cyl is all we needed, but no, we need 1cyl option.
__________________
2012: Vmax TBody, CAI w/scoop, Solo HFC, ZL1 FP, Magnaflow TruX, Dynomax VT, RX catch can, HP Tune, BMR; Springs, Sways, Trailing Arms, Toe Ends, & Safety Loop, Koni str.t, Pioneer Z150bh, Phoenix Gold Sub, Hertz speakers & 5ch Amp, SS rear with 3.91 gears w/Eaton TrueTrac, and BMR bushings, Baer Decela Rotors, Goodridge brake lines, Brembo(GM) 4 piston calipers, Hawk Ceramic pads, and Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta Tires, Ny-Trex Nitrous, and more. 345RWHP/354lbsTQ 12.8@108
IneedAZ is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.