Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Apex Paul
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2013, 12:07 PM   #126
DWALEX
 
DWALEX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS and ASAP my SS 6th gen
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: liberal, KS
Posts: 567
Congrats, you deserve it!
__________________
DWALEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 02:18 PM   #127
creedi
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: California
Posts: 19
FINALLY got my steering wheel controls working too, a Chevy dealer in Fremont, CA did it and for once they new what they were doing right away! Thanks everyone for your help!
Next project adding the MyLink!
creedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 04:42 PM   #128
Breezo22
 
Breezo22's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Chevy Camaro 2ls
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 10
So I went to the Chevy dealership and asked them if i could put this in my car, they said there is no way it could be done, is this true. Oh, i have a 2014 V6 LS 2!!!
Breezo22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 01:23 PM   #129
justjoshin

 
justjoshin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SW 1SS L99 Camaro
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 943
Thanks for the DIY, just installed the PDIM. Hope to get the dealer to reprogram the stereo tomorrow.
justjoshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 08:24 AM   #130
USCAMARO14

 
USCAMARO14's Avatar
 
Drives: 2LS 2014
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Staten ISland
Posts: 2,128
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by justjoshin View Post
Thanks for the DIY, just installed the PDIM. Hope to get the dealer to reprogram the stereo tomorrow.
Did you ever get it re programed?
__________________
USCAMARO14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 04:28 PM   #131
CallmeMacc
 
Drives: 2010 Black LS
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 40
installed my steering wheel controls and PDIM this weekend. I took it to Rosner Chevy in melbourne fl (for people familiar with the area) yesterday my steering wheel controls work fine my PDIM charges through the usb port but does not seem to connect through anything else. Took it back to them they told me that the part I purchased is defective and/or not compatible with my 2010 LS now i'm pretty sure from reading on here that it is definitely compatible with my car. They also told me that it is supposed to be plug and play and there is no way to reprogram my radio to get it to work. How valid is this. Does anyone know of a place I can go that can do it for sure in this area.
CallmeMacc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 09:52 AM   #132
meissen
Founder - Michigan FBody
 
meissen's Avatar
 
Drives: 1994 Camaro LT1, 2014 Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chesterfield Twp, MI
Posts: 2,553
After leaving my car with the dealership for a full day, they were unable to get my PDIM to work. I'm positive it's just a programming issue.

CallmeMacc -- it's not valid - the steps listed in the PDIM instructions specifically say you have to reprogram the radio (step #17). Insist they follow the instructions and it shouldn't be a big deal.

This is from one of the previous pages - I copied and sent it to my dealership tech:

"All they have to do is connect your car to the tech tool and talk to the GM mothership where your car information is stored. They have to navigate to the info about your options and under your stereo/sound/entertainment section they check that you now have a PDIM installed. They then just need to update your radio with this information so, the radio knows you now have a PDIM and voila... you should be in business."
__________________
2014 Camaro 1LT M6 - "Cherry Bomb" - Cold Air Inductions CAI, VMAX Ported Throttle Body, MGW Short Throw Shifter
1994 Camaro LT1 A4 - "Red Alert" - v6-to-LT1 Swapped Cruiser; Cammed, Stalled, Enjoyed

meissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 10:46 AM   #133
CallmeMacc
 
Drives: 2010 Black LS
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by meissen View Post
After leaving my car with the dealership for a full day, they were unable to get my PDIM to work. I'm positive it's just a programming issue.

CallmeMacc -- it's not valid - the steps listed in the PDIM instructions specifically say you have to reprogram the radio (step #17). Insist they follow the instructions and it shouldn't be a big deal.

This is from one of the previous pages - I copied and sent it to my dealership tech:

"All they have to do is connect your car to the tech tool and talk to the GM mothership where your car information is stored. They have to navigate to the info about your options and under your stereo/sound/entertainment section they check that you now have a PDIM installed. They then just need to update your radio with this information so, the radio knows you now have a PDIM and voila... you should be in business."
Thanks
CallmeMacc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 05:41 PM   #134
meissen
Founder - Michigan FBody
 
meissen's Avatar
 
Drives: 1994 Camaro LT1, 2014 Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chesterfield Twp, MI
Posts: 2,553
Well it appears the dealer wasn't able to program the radio with the right settings. He says I needed a serial number which tells gm which rpo to add to my car. So he was picking and choosing off of the factory radio tunes...

Once they do program the radio, how do I do the Bluetooth streaming audio feature? Is there a setting under aux that will say Bluetooth?
__________________
2014 Camaro 1LT M6 - "Cherry Bomb" - Cold Air Inductions CAI, VMAX Ported Throttle Body, MGW Short Throw Shifter
1994 Camaro LT1 A4 - "Red Alert" - v6-to-LT1 Swapped Cruiser; Cammed, Stalled, Enjoyed

meissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 08:32 AM   #135
justjoshin

 
justjoshin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SW 1SS L99 Camaro
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by USCAMARO14 View Post
Did you ever get it re programed?
Yes brought it to the dealer and had it re programmed. Only thing I don't like is it has to index every time you start the car.
justjoshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 02:21 PM   #136
meissen
Founder - Michigan FBody
 
meissen's Avatar
 
Drives: 1994 Camaro LT1, 2014 Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chesterfield Twp, MI
Posts: 2,553
Apparently it's been correct for the past few weeks - I just couldn't figure out how to access the bluetooth menu to connect my phone. I had to click the "Menu" button while in the Aux Input area to then connect my phone to the bluetooth. Streaming bluetooth rocks now that it's working!
__________________
2014 Camaro 1LT M6 - "Cherry Bomb" - Cold Air Inductions CAI, VMAX Ported Throttle Body, MGW Short Throw Shifter
1994 Camaro LT1 A4 - "Red Alert" - v6-to-LT1 Swapped Cruiser; Cammed, Stalled, Enjoyed

meissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 01:59 AM   #137
cradiaz
 
Drives: 2013 LS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by slick rick View Post
The PDIM comes with instructions on how to program. The dealer just needs to follow the directions.

A PDF: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...9&postcount=37
Does anybody know if there is a difference in the harness that goes from the radio to the PDIM wiring harness? I replaced everything as mentioned in this post, but the radio does not recognized th USB or aux port.
cradiaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 02:56 AM   #138
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '15 Corvette Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 16,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by justjoshin View Post
Yes brought it to the dealer and had it re programmed. Only thing I don't like is it has to index every time you start the car.
if that is true.....and I am sure it is.....I would be willing to bet that the PDIM they installed is NOT the latest/greatest HW/SW version available.

If it were the DB/DD version you would have that issue.

__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 10:34 AM   #139
HotelCali
SoCal
 
HotelCali's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 RS
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 421
New York PDIM programming
Me and my friend installed the USB/aux pdim ourselves because dealership was charging 180-250 for install and programming. So I took my car to the dealership after DIY installation and their charging me more. Three different dealerships saying its gonna take hours to program. New Rochelle Chevy, la sorsa and central ave Chevy. I really needed the pdim because
As a young guy I'm always on my phone and like technology. I've seen on this forums that people are paying next to nothing or free to get there programming done by dealerships or dealerships are doing it because it's under warranty. Where can I go or what dealership will Not try to hurt my
Pockets just to charge my iPhone and play music
HotelCali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 08:29 PM   #140
Iangoth16
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2LS White
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tallassee, AL
Posts: 3
I need some help figuring what I need to do about my Camaro. I have 2013 2LS and I have hands free Bluetooth for phone calls, however; I want to be able to stream music through bluetooth on my IPhone. I know about this PDIM but is this just a USB installment or does this allow me to stream music? If this is what I'm looking for where should I get it from as far as websites go? Thank you'
Iangoth16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2014, 04:50 PM   #141
Tigerfan
 
Tigerfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Blue Ray Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Auburn AL
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iangoth16 View Post
I need some help figuring what I need to do about my Camaro. I have 2013 2LS and I have hands free Bluetooth for phone calls, however; I want to be able to stream music through bluetooth on my IPhone. I know about this PDIM but is this just a USB installment or does this allow me to stream music? If this is what I'm looking for where should I get it from as far as websites go? Thank you'

I have a 2LS also. I'm looking to put this in my car too. I found a link but I'm concerned that no one has really confirmed that it really will work for our cars.

http://www.rpidesigns.com/shop/item.aspx?itemid=2169
Tigerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 06:43 PM   #142
nikitis
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro Inferno Orange
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 26
So I just installed this pdim myself. The arm rest was a total b@#$h to get out. But besides that, not too shabby. Anyway it does not work yet, but does charge the phone. I know I need the radio flashed etc. But before I do that I cannot figure out how to check the version. Is it possible to check the version before the radio flash? Someone here said to go to USB mode and hold down menu to see, but I cannot figure out how to go to USB mode to check. Can some one clarify this?

Thanks
nikitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 06:12 AM   #143
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '15 Corvette Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 16,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikitis View Post
So I just installed this pdim myself. The arm rest was a total b@#$h to get out. But besides that, not too shabby. Anyway it does not work yet, but does charge the phone. I know I need the radio flashed etc. But before I do that I cannot figure out how to check the version. Is it possible to check the version before the radio flash? Someone here said to go to USB mode and hold down menu to see, but I cannot figure out how to go to USB mode to check. Can some one clarify this?

Thanks
You can't check which version until you get the head unit flashed, it won't know its there, thus you can't get to the menu. right now its just getting power, thus you are able to charge your phone.

do you know which PN# you installed?
__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 03:48 PM   #144
nikitis
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro Inferno Orange
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 26
I installed the DB/DB. I just flashed at the dealer in Rock Hill, SC. Burns Chevrolet. Highly recommend them! They charged $40, which is what should be for this radio flash. The dealer in Charlotte, NC wanted $130 for any type of program. If you are in the near area it is worth the drive, and they know how to do this upgrade now with confidence. I told them that I know how to do it when I first got there and if they had any issues to let me know and I could help out, and they did call me back to the back. I went over it with them. They had already had the equipment set up properly but was only unsure of which update needed. They were also convinced that the upgrade was going to take 2+ hours because most radio flashes do for them. I explained that this will on take 5 to 20 mins. Mine did take 15 mins, but they did it through the OBDII interface which they prefer because wireless gets interrupted. To their surprise, it was way shorter then they thought, and I was out of there in 30 mins total for explanation and flash. The tech was an older gentleman who shot the breeze with me while it updated. Very friendly. They deserve high marks!

The module was tested today and is sweet! I love Bluetooth audio! Pairs fine with my nexus 5 phone and nexus 7 2013 model tablet. HW-DB / SW-DB works with no cackle or scratchy noise. Audio was engulphing and serene. I first tried the Tron Soundtrack, highly recommended test.

Thanks guys for you posts, and thanks Burns Chevrolet!
nikitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 02:28 PM   #145
436SS
 
436SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: INDY
Posts: 266
Where did you purchase the PDMI at?
436SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 01:26 AM   #146
nikitis
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro Inferno Orange
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by 436SS View Post
Where did you purchase the PDMI at?
Shopchevyparts.com
nikitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 09:46 AM   #147
HotelCali
SoCal
 
HotelCali's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 RS
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 421
I had the Pdim in my 2012 camaro and I took it out and put it in my 2013 but there's only one USB do I plug it in the box then there's one left and it goes to the radio
HotelCali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 09:51 AM   #148
HotelCali
SoCal
 
HotelCali's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 RS
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 421
you have 3 wires at the end 2 in the PDIM and one for the radio...i only have 1 i don't understand
HotelCali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 12:10 AM   #149
bigwayne3000

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,580
Do I need any additional wires or anything? I can find an old model #20840958 for dirt cheap, is it worth going this route? Can I still update to the new firmware with this old PDIM?
bigwayne3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 01:38 PM   #150
jmroslin
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2 LT
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10
Hi guys. Who else can update this? Im really lost
jmroslin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pfadt Race Engineering DIY Drop Spring installation procedure PfadtRacing Suspension / Chassis / Brakes 20 09-23-2011 09:31 PM
PDIM / USB port firmware update done in Houston? rolnslo USA - Texas 28 02-09-2010 03:46 PM
USB port stopped working philthy Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 85 11-11-2009 06:14 PM
USB port intermittent... shall we compile a list of PDIM failures? JDBeck23 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 49 09-01-2009 01:57 AM
USB Port location/relocation 2ssJB Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 15 05-01-2009 04:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.