Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2014, 02:59 AM   #137
cradiaz
 
Drives: 2013 LS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by slick rick View Post
The PDIM comes with instructions on how to program. The dealer just needs to follow the directions.

A PDF: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...9&postcount=37
Does anybody know if there is a difference in the harness that goes from the radio to the PDIM wiring harness? I replaced everything as mentioned in this post, but the radio does not recognized th USB or aux port.
cradiaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 03:56 AM   #138
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '15 Corvette Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 16,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by justjoshin View Post
Yes brought it to the dealer and had it re programmed. Only thing I don't like is it has to index every time you start the car.
if that is true.....and I am sure it is.....I would be willing to bet that the PDIM they installed is NOT the latest/greatest HW/SW version available.

If it were the DB/DD version you would have that issue.

__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 11:34 AM   #139
HotelCali
Banned
 
HotelCali's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 RS
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 386
New York PDIM programming
Me and my friend installed the USB/aux pdim ourselves because dealership was charging 180-250 for install and programming. So I took my car to the dealership after DIY installation and their charging me more. Three different dealerships saying its gonna take hours to program. New Rochelle Chevy, la sorsa and central ave Chevy. I really needed the pdim because
As a young guy I'm always on my phone and like technology. I've seen on this forums that people are paying next to nothing or free to get there programming done by dealerships or dealerships are doing it because it's under warranty. Where can I go or what dealership will Not try to hurt my
Pockets just to charge my iPhone and play music
HotelCali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 09:29 PM   #140
Iangoth16
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2LS White
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tallassee, AL
Posts: 3
I need some help figuring what I need to do about my Camaro. I have 2013 2LS and I have hands free Bluetooth for phone calls, however; I want to be able to stream music through bluetooth on my IPhone. I know about this PDIM but is this just a USB installment or does this allow me to stream music? If this is what I'm looking for where should I get it from as far as websites go? Thank you'
Iangoth16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2014, 05:50 PM   #141
Tigerfan
 
Tigerfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Blue Ray Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Auburn AL
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iangoth16 View Post
I need some help figuring what I need to do about my Camaro. I have 2013 2LS and I have hands free Bluetooth for phone calls, however; I want to be able to stream music through bluetooth on my IPhone. I know about this PDIM but is this just a USB installment or does this allow me to stream music? If this is what I'm looking for where should I get it from as far as websites go? Thank you'

I have a 2LS also. I'm looking to put this in my car too. I found a link but I'm concerned that no one has really confirmed that it really will work for our cars.

http://www.rpidesigns.com/shop/item.aspx?itemid=2169
Tigerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 07:43 PM   #142
nikitis
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro Inferno Orange
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 27
So I just installed this pdim myself. The arm rest was a total b@#$h to get out. But besides that, not too shabby. Anyway it does not work yet, but does charge the phone. I know I need the radio flashed etc. But before I do that I cannot figure out how to check the version. Is it possible to check the version before the radio flash? Someone here said to go to USB mode and hold down menu to see, but I cannot figure out how to go to USB mode to check. Can some one clarify this?

Thanks
nikitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 07:12 AM   #143
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '15 Corvette Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 16,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikitis View Post
So I just installed this pdim myself. The arm rest was a total b@#$h to get out. But besides that, not too shabby. Anyway it does not work yet, but does charge the phone. I know I need the radio flashed etc. But before I do that I cannot figure out how to check the version. Is it possible to check the version before the radio flash? Someone here said to go to USB mode and hold down menu to see, but I cannot figure out how to go to USB mode to check. Can some one clarify this?

Thanks
You can't check which version until you get the head unit flashed, it won't know its there, thus you can't get to the menu. right now its just getting power, thus you are able to charge your phone.

do you know which PN# you installed?
__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 04:48 PM   #144
nikitis
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro Inferno Orange
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 27
I installed the DB/DB. I just flashed at the dealer in Rock Hill, SC. Burns Chevrolet. Highly recommend them! They charged $40, which is what should be for this radio flash. The dealer in Charlotte, NC wanted $130 for any type of program. If you are in the near area it is worth the drive, and they know how to do this upgrade now with confidence. I told them that I know how to do it when I first got there and if they had any issues to let me know and I could help out, and they did call me back to the back. I went over it with them. They had already had the equipment set up properly but was only unsure of which update needed. They were also convinced that the upgrade was going to take 2+ hours because most radio flashes do for them. I explained that this will on take 5 to 20 mins. Mine did take 15 mins, but they did it through the OBDII interface which they prefer because wireless gets interrupted. To their surprise, it was way shorter then they thought, and I was out of there in 30 mins total for explanation and flash. The tech was an older gentleman who shot the breeze with me while it updated. Very friendly. They deserve high marks!

The module was tested today and is sweet! I love Bluetooth audio! Pairs fine with my nexus 5 phone and nexus 7 2013 model tablet. HW-DB / SW-DB works with no cackle or scratchy noise. Audio was engulphing and serene. I first tried the Tron Soundtrack, highly recommended test.

Thanks guys for you posts, and thanks Burns Chevrolet!
nikitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 03:28 PM   #145
436SS
 
436SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: INDY
Posts: 266
Where did you purchase the PDMI at?
436SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 02:26 AM   #146
nikitis
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro Inferno Orange
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by 436SS View Post
Where did you purchase the PDMI at?
Shopchevyparts.com
nikitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 10:46 AM   #147
HotelCali
Banned
 
HotelCali's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 RS
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 386
I had the Pdim in my 2012 camaro and I took it out and put it in my 2013 but there's only one USB do I plug it in the box then there's one left and it goes to the radio
HotelCali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 10:51 AM   #148
HotelCali
Banned
 
HotelCali's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 RS
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 386
you have 3 wires at the end 2 in the PDIM and one for the radio...i only have 1 i don't understand
HotelCali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 01:10 AM   #149
bigwayne3000

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,697
Do I need any additional wires or anything? I can find an old model #20840958 for dirt cheap, is it worth going this route? Can I still update to the new firmware with this old PDIM?
bigwayne3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 02:38 PM   #150
jmroslin
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2 LT
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 22
Hi guys. Who else can update this? Im really lost
jmroslin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 01:19 PM   #151
zoom2d
 
Drives: Camaro SS 2011
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5
My dealer is telling me that they can't locate an authorization number that tscs is asking for so they can't do it. Anyone know what can be done about it
I can't see any labels stating authorization number
zoom2d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 02:23 PM   #152
zoom2d
 
Drives: Camaro SS 2011
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5
I was able to figure it out. Basically when tech went on to flahsing software under radio/system there are options for antenna, pdim and antenna and pdim only. We flashed anetenna(it'd about trunk antenna on verts or roof on coupes) and pdim. That worked immediately

They don't have any idea how to get it working. They thought pdim flashing is what's needed and tcsc were not giving right responses. Tell them to flash software for whatever antenna config you have plus pdim
zoom2d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 08:57 AM   #153
Wikedwil
Co-founder of CDCNY
 
Wikedwil's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 2LT Hyper Blue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Latham N.Y.
Posts: 829
2012 LS

Here are my codes.
Attached Images
 
Wikedwil is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pfadt Race Engineering DIY Drop Spring installation procedure PfadtRacing Suspension / Chassis / Brakes 20 09-23-2011 10:31 PM
PDIM / USB port firmware update done in Houston? rolnslo USA - Texas 28 02-09-2010 04:46 PM
USB port stopped working philthy Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 85 11-11-2009 07:14 PM
USB port intermittent... shall we compile a list of PDIM failures? JDBeck23 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 49 09-01-2009 02:57 AM
USB Port location/relocation 2ssJB Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 15 05-01-2009 05:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.