Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Kraft Werks
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2014, 08:44 AM   #176
2012LS3VERT
 
Drives: 2012 2SSRS Vert, Black w/M6
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by EDFHOBBIES View Post
Awesome thank you..

I ordered the ZL1 pump, IDS 850 and a smaller puller.. 281.00 to the door for the pump, $722.00 for the injectors, and 40.00 for the pulley.

there is a special of 1787.00 ( cam of your choice and parts included) plus 500.00 for the Matt S. Tune.

I have a lift but I'm still gonna cut the hatch for the pump.. Unless there is a video of what needs to be done to do the tank.. All the shops here want $400.00 for the fuel pump swap..

I found 2 devices to cut with in the ole tool box.. see pic
I used only the cutoff wheel when I did mine. Just watch out near the front edge of the rear seat pan, there is some wiring right there. I couldn't change mine with the screwdriver and hammer method. I had to make my own tool as no one local had the OTC type tool to rent or buy. I still recommend the ADM module to go along with the ZL1 pump to keep up with those ID850s.
2012LS3VERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 08:58 AM   #177
EDFHOBBIES
 
EDFHOBBIES's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS BumbleBee
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 314
Send a message via Skype™ to EDFHOBBIES
ADM module do you got a link? And cheapest place? Also I can install it with out messing with tune til I do cam correct?
EDFHOBBIES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 09:50 AM   #178
2012LS3VERT
 
Drives: 2012 2SSRS Vert, Black w/M6
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 480
Their website seems to be all messed up, just PM Andy (ADM Performance is his username). And yes, just hook it up, it just won't do anything until you have it tuned.
2012LS3VERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 11:34 AM   #179
camarossdusk
 
Drives: 2013 camaro ss dusk special edition
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: West Texas
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012LS3VERT View Post
Their website seems to be all messed up, just PM Andy (ADM Performance is his username). And yes, just hook it up, it just won't do anything until you have it tuned.
I called andy to order mine, very easy deal with, combined with Zl1 fuel pump and low boost made good power with no problems running out of fuel.
camarossdusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 08:06 PM   #180
camaro-heater
22 years of slammin gears
 
camaro-heater's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS M6
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayrcr3 View Post
You add the ZR1 MAP sensor and it tells the ECM when you are in boost which increases the PW to the pump. I have the BAP also.
Do you need to re tune after putting in the ZR1 map sensor?
camaro-heater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 08:09 PM   #181
yotaman96


 
yotaman96's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, 2000 Trans Am WS6
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Portland, TN
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro-heater View Post
Do you need to re tune after putting in the ZR1 map sensor?
Yes
__________________
2010 IOM Camaro 2SS/RS manual trans
(formerly Whipplecharged, then twin turbo, now just heads and cam)
Magnacharged 2000 Trans Am WS6 manual trans
2010 Dodge Ram Crew Cab Sport 4x4
yotaman96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 08:09 PM   #182
camaro-heater
22 years of slammin gears
 
camaro-heater's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS M6
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 311
Does anyone have just the ZL1 fuel pump without any problems? ( just pump without adm fpcm or zr 1map sensor)
camaro-heater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 08:18 PM   #183
camarossdusk
 
Drives: 2013 camaro ss dusk special edition
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: West Texas
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro-heater View Post
Does anyone have just the ZL1 fuel pump without any problems? ( just pump without adm fpcm or zr 1map sensor)
I have the adm fpcm with zl1 fuel pump zero issues, whipple supercharged.
camarossdusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 08:20 PM   #184
camarossdusk
 
Drives: 2013 camaro ss dusk special edition
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: West Texas
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarossdusk View Post
I have the adm fpcm with zl1 fuel pump zero issues, whipple supercharged.
Meant to say without adm
camarossdusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 08:21 PM   #185
camarossdusk
 
Drives: 2013 camaro ss dusk special edition
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: West Texas
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarossdusk View Post
I have the adm fpcm with zl1 fuel pump zero issues, whipple supercharged.
Meant to say without adm I added the adm later but ran with just zl1 before upping the boost.
camarossdusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 09:10 PM   #186
camaro-heater
22 years of slammin gears
 
camaro-heater's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS M6
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 311
How much boost were you running without the adm?
camaro-heater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 09:38 PM   #187
Bubble85
 
Drives: 2012 SS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Deale, MD
Posts: 180
I'm running 10# with a zl1 and msd bap with very very little drop in fuel pressure. But still debating getting the adm if it does work better than the bap. But from what I understand they're doing the exact same thing
Bubble85 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 09:46 PM   #188
camaro-heater
22 years of slammin gears
 
camaro-heater's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS M6
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubble85 View Post
I'm running 10# with a zl1 and msd bap with very very little drop in fuel pressure. But still debating getting the adm if it does work better than the bap. But from what I understand they're doing the exact same thing
Icic, i Should be good then at my 8# until i move up. Might get one just to be safe?
camaro-heater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 09:58 PM   #189
2012LS3VERT
 
Drives: 2012 2SSRS Vert, Black w/M6
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubble85 View Post
I'm running 10# with a zl1 and msd bap with very very little drop in fuel pressure. But still debating getting the adm if it does work better than the bap. But from what I understand they're doing the exact same thing
I'm at 10.5# with my zl1 pump and ADM module. I don't have any fuel pressure drop even when I have a boost spike to 11+. They do both increase fuel pressure when under boost, the BAP does it by increasing voltage and the ADM module just does it like in the factory boosted cars, by PWM.
2012LS3VERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 10:13 PM   #190
camarossdusk
 
Drives: 2013 camaro ss dusk special edition
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: West Texas
Posts: 118
Was running stock boost
camarossdusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 10:14 PM   #191
camarossdusk
 
Drives: 2013 camaro ss dusk special edition
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: West Texas
Posts: 118
Have no fuel pressure drop with added boost either with, both zl1 and adm.
camarossdusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 12:34 PM   #192
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,879
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Someone explain why you need a different fpcm when a BAP can get you extra flow with a ZL1 pump.

Lingenfelter does it with just ZL1 pump and BAP.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 12:50 PM   #193
2012LS3VERT
 
Drives: 2012 2SSRS Vert, Black w/M6
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Someone explain why you need a different fpcm when a BAP can get you extra flow with a ZL1 pump.

Lingenfelter does it with just ZL1 pump and BAP.
Don't think anyone said you need the FPCM if you have a BAP. As I said above, they are different means to the same end, without getting into opinions about which is the better route. I went with the FPCM because of ease of installation. I felt that I preferred to just swap the FPCMs instead of splicing a BAP into my wiring and running a boost reference line.
2012LS3VERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 07:59 PM   #194
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,879
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012LS3VERT View Post
Don't think anyone said you need the FPCM if you have a BAP. As I said above, they are different means to the same end, without getting into opinions about which is the better route. I went with the FPCM because of ease of installation. I felt that I preferred to just swap the FPCMs instead of splicing a BAP into my wiring and running a boost reference line.
I was not necessarily talking about you or even this particular thread. But I've read in other areas that you have to get the controler and tune it.

I"m going to tune it before anything and keep an eye but just want clarity on exactly what is or is not possible.

I also know a few that did the straight swap with no different tune.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 12:33 AM   #195
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I was not necessarily talking about you or even this particular thread. But I've read in other areas that you have to get the controler and tune it.



I"m going to tune it before anything and keep an eye but just want clarity on exactly what is or is not possible.



I also know a few that did the straight swap with no different tune.

I'm pretty sure if you don't change the tune, it will not ramp the pump up like it is supposed to. Basically, they swapped it for no reason.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Powered by Cunningham MotorSports
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 06:30 AM   #196
EDFHOBBIES
 
EDFHOBBIES's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS BumbleBee
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 314
Send a message via Skype™ to EDFHOBBIES
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarossdusk View Post
I called andy to order mine, very easy deal with, combined with Zl1 fuel pump and low boost made good power with no problems running out of fuel.
adm module? I didn't see it is that the same as the kenne bell boosta pump?
EDFHOBBIES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 10:49 AM   #197
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,879
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010SSRSM6 View Post
I'm pretty sure if you don't change the tune, it will not ramp the pump up like it is supposed to. Basically, they swapped it for no reason.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok I get that. But my point was you should be able to swap it and drive the car, just not expect the fuel pressure to be any different?

Reason I ask is I want to be able to drive the car to the tuners if needs be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDFHOBBIES View Post
adm module? I didn't see it is that the same as the kenne bell boosta pump?
No. The KB BAP is what I have on mine. The module is different. Not sure in what way but it is.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 03:30 PM   #198
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Ok I get that. But my point was you should be able to swap it and drive the car, just not expect the fuel pressure to be any different?



Reason I ask is I want to be able to drive the car to the tuners if needs be.



No. The KB BAP is what I have on mine. The module is different. Not sure in what way but it is.

Yup, you can drive the car after the swap. I just don't think it will be able to ramp up without the tune changing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Powered by Cunningham MotorSports
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 03:39 PM   #199
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,879
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010SSRSM6 View Post
Yup, you can drive the car after the swap. I just don't think it will be able to ramp up without the tune changing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cool. Ya, I just would like to be able to ease it to the tuners. Comporession is a little lower and cam is a bit bigger so I might not be able to anyway. Plus my injectors I can swap out when I get to the tuners.

I can trailer it if I have to but would rather not have to. lol
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 04:54 PM   #200
2012LS3VERT
 
Drives: 2012 2SSRS Vert, Black w/M6
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 480
There is nothing to change in the tune unless you change the module also. Running just the ZL1 pump, you just drop it in and go.
2012LS3VERT is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.