Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
RDP Motorsport
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2014, 03:04 AM   #1
geforce
 
geforce's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS1
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fredonia
Posts: 14
Question SCT X4 Power Flash vs dynotune

Hey was wondering if anyone had any experience with SCT X4 Power Flash with a email tune. Was all set to take my Camaro to have it dynotune next week after talking to a really reliable tuner I was told I can get a better tune with a custom tune using the SCTX4. Also reading the information on the new tuner you can save your factor information and switch back if there is a warranty issue without leaving a footprint so a gm dealer would not be able to tell it was tuned. Hoping someone has ran across this them self and would have some insight. The custom email tune with the SCTX4 $509 / Dynotune $340. Thanks
geforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 08:39 AM   #2
bmbbl be

 
bmbbl be's Avatar
 
Drives: camaro ss 2013-street glide
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: tallmadge, ohio
Posts: 1,156
dyno tune is better if you have a lot of engine work , for instance cam/blower,, if it is just a tranny tune and headers use the SCT.. even though you can go back and forth on the SCT,,, it will still be seen if GM checks for that
bmbbl be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 10:24 AM   #3
Cyber Gray
Wind Rider
 
Cyber Gray's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS/RS 2014; JK Wrangler 2011
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Muscat
Posts: 2,040
Depends on your car modifications !!
__________________
Im not Gray any more !!
Cyber Gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 10:29 AM   #4
geforce
 
geforce's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS1
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fredonia
Posts: 14
Just had long tube headers installed Dynotech with high flow cats and a cold air intake CAI, thanks
geforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 03:17 PM   #5
Cyber Gray
Wind Rider
 
Cyber Gray's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS/RS 2014; JK Wrangler 2011
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Muscat
Posts: 2,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by geforce View Post
Just had long tube headers installed Dynotech with high flow cats and a cold air intake CAI, thanks
You can go for both, but dyno tune will give you better results. However, you should go for a well known tuner. The forum is full of good tuners like JRE, GPI,
__________________
Im not Gray any more !!
Cyber Gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 04:51 AM   #6
geforce
 
geforce's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS1
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fredonia
Posts: 14
thanks for the help to bad about the hand held tuner was hoping if a warranty problem ever came up I could switch back to factory oh well. still not sure what way I am going to go have to do something though with the engine light on because of the headers going to be hard to pass inspection. like to get a good cam over the winter. Thanks again
geforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 07:23 AM   #7
stoopid
 
Drives: Modless 2014 2LS
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Albany NY
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by geforce View Post
thanks for the help to bad about the hand held tuner was hoping if a warranty problem ever came up I could switch back to factory oh well. still not sure what way I am going to go have to do something though with the engine light on because of the headers going to be hard to pass inspection. like to get a good cam over the winter. Thanks again
I believe the engine module (ECM) Trifecta tunes aren't detectable by the dealer. Unfortunately the transmission (TCM) tune is.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=214570
stoopid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 11:40 AM   #8
geforce
 
geforce's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS1
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fredonia
Posts: 14
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoopid View Post
I believe the engine module (ECM) Trifecta tunes aren't detectable by the dealer. Unfortunately the transmission (TCM) tune is.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=214570
yeah I think the 2010 ss Camaro m6 has no TCM could be wrong definitely interesting. Thanks
geforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 11:56 AM   #9
1KillerSS
Too Much is never enough!
 
1KillerSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1SS LS3
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cape Coral,fl/Toledo,OH
Posts: 756
Send a message via Skype™ to 1KillerSS
GM can tell if ANYTHING has tuned your car. read the sticky on top.
__________________
2012 1SS LS3 Cold Air Inductions CAI / ADM race scoop / SLP 25% under drive pulley / VMAX ported TB / Kook's Stepped headers / Catless midpipes / Borla S-Type axleback / Elite Engineering catch can / R1 premiere cross-drilled and slotted rotors / Hawk HPS street pads / Hurst short shifter / Vitesse Throttle Controller / HPTuners / Remote tuned by Matt@FSP / 420WHP/401WTQ on a Mustang Dyno .
Coming soon to a theater near you, AGP Twin Turbo Kit, and Alky control
1KillerSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 01:52 PM   #10
stoopid
 
Drives: Modless 2014 2LS
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Albany NY
Posts: 389
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=263992

I have no horse in this race. I do have experience with Trifecta and knew a lot of other happy customers. They do not claim to be entirely invisible, the flash count goes up a tick with each flash, but GM cannot see the changes (only sees 'stock' settings). That's the transparency part. They don't have a way of proving you were running anything other than stock settings. In this case it's up to the conscience of the owner to determine if they should be paying for the fix because the tune messed up the car. As has been discussed several times (from what I could tell in a search) the odds of a well tuned car failing as a result of the tune is low. But tuning does technically void the warranty and I can't say I blame GM for their policy.
stoopid is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.