Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2014, 03:47 PM   #18
Chaxce
Under construction...
 
Chaxce's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2012 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Uvalde Tx
Posts: 241
Just a clarification: in cars with manual transmissions do you have to press clutch and brake for push to start?
__________________
2012 2SS/RS, mods coming soon
Chaxce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2014, 04:56 PM   #19
layzurguy
Ride On!!!!
 
layzurguy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SS Ragtop
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Race City USA
Posts: 585
__________________
layzurguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2014, 05:32 PM   #20
TofuDragon
 
TofuDragon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaxce View Post
Just a clarification: in cars with manual transmissions do you have to press clutch and brake for push to start?
Yes, mine is a manual transmission and I have to hold both the clutch and brake like normal.
__________________
Self-installed all mods with help from Camaro5 forums! HUD, Front & Rear View Cameras, VMax Ported Throttle Body, Vararam Intake, VMax Black ICE-olater, Eibach Front Sway Bar, Extended Vinyl Stripes
TofuDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 11:46 AM   #21
YoungMulaBaby
 
Drives: Camaro 2014 2LT
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by TofuDragon View Post
From what I can gather from the Fortin website (http://fortin.ca/), yes it does (99% sure)! I've edited my info above accordingly. It doesn't say anything about v2 though, so I'm assuming it's all v2 now for the GM1 T-harness. If you want to be 100% sure though, feel free to email them directly.
I emailed Fortin.. This is basically the reply I got (in case anyone else that wants to follow the DIY):
"The THAR-GM1 is the old model of the THAR-GM1v2. This harness is to be used with an EVO-ALL and is wired to allow the addition of a remote start system or using the EVO-ALL to remote start the vehicle using the OEM remote."
YoungMulaBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 12:23 PM   #22
calinkaos
Army EOD Vet
 
calinkaos's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS blk/blk/blk
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Centreville, MD
Posts: 522
I assume its like ACD174's set up, or at least sounds similar enough, would the button be able to be place in the original key ignition location as he did?

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=153796
__________________
2010 2SS/RS Blk/Blk Camaro F1A Procharger
calinkaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 02:29 PM   #23
YoungMulaBaby
 
Drives: Camaro 2014 2LT
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by TofuDragon View Post
In order to leave the cut key in the ignition without draining the battery, there is some extra wire cutting/splicing to do. I did all the cuts on the t-harness instead of the actual car wires. Oh, and the cut key is removable if needed to re-enable steering lock... and then you can use your normal key as a failsafe.
When you said you did the extra wire cutting/splicing, do you mean the cutting the extra wires off of the CAN bus and splicing the brown wire with the green wire?
YoungMulaBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 04:28 PM   #24
TofuDragon
 
TofuDragon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by calinkaos View Post
I assume its like ACD174's set up, or at least sounds similar enough, would the button be able to be place in the original key ignition location as he did?

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=153796
From what I could gather from that initial post from ACD174 in 2011, they installed an earlier version of the same kit. Although they hooked it to a Viper alarm system, apparently, and the current Advanced Keys kit has alarm functionality built in.

To put the button where the original ignition used to be, you'd need to remove/relocate the original key ignition somewhere. It's a large metal piece which I didn't look into how to remove. It's also not recommended by Advanced Keys because unless you do it right, you could lose key functionality altogether and not have a backup way to start the car. Up to whoever installs it though.
__________________
Self-installed all mods with help from Camaro5 forums! HUD, Front & Rear View Cameras, VMax Ported Throttle Body, Vararam Intake, VMax Black ICE-olater, Eibach Front Sway Bar, Extended Vinyl Stripes
TofuDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 04:29 PM   #25
OUTATIME
 
OUTATIME's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 625
How does remote start work on a manual transmission?
OUTATIME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 04:36 PM   #26
TofuDragon
 
TofuDragon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungMulaBaby View Post
When you said you did the extra wire cutting/splicing, do you mean the cutting the extra wires off of the CAN bus and splicing the brown wire with the green wire?
As of 8/16/14, I haven't posted that step of the install yet (disabling the Keysense from the ignition so a cut key can be left in there). I was just answering the question asked earlier; it has nothing to do with the CAN bus section. Sorry if it was confusing.

During the week I don't have much free time with my job, and sometimes I'm even more busy on weekends. However I'm already committed and WILL finish this DIY. I'll answer any extra questions about the setup or install as I go.
__________________
Self-installed all mods with help from Camaro5 forums! HUD, Front & Rear View Cameras, VMax Ported Throttle Body, Vararam Intake, VMax Black ICE-olater, Eibach Front Sway Bar, Extended Vinyl Stripes
TofuDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 04:39 PM   #27
TofuDragon
 
TofuDragon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by OUTATIME View Post
How does remote start work on a manual transmission?
Sorry, I haven't figured this part out yet. Other forum members who installed other remote starts have been able to do so with a clutch bypass method, using some resistor somewhere... but I don't know how they did it exactly. Then there's the question of even if I could, should I, etc, etc, which I'd rather not get into. For this Advanced Keys kit though, if wired up correctly, you'd just hold the remote start button on the fob and the car starts.
__________________
Self-installed all mods with help from Camaro5 forums! HUD, Front & Rear View Cameras, VMax Ported Throttle Body, Vararam Intake, VMax Black ICE-olater, Eibach Front Sway Bar, Extended Vinyl Stripes

Last edited by TofuDragon; 08-16-2014 at 05:24 PM.
TofuDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 11:31 AM   #28
TeelsBlack
 
TeelsBlack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Black-on-Black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Williamsport, PA
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by TofuDragon View Post
Sorry, I haven't figured this part out yet. Other forum members who installed other remote starts have been able to do so with a clutch bypass method, using some resistor somewhere... but I don't know how they did it exactly. Then there's the question of even if I could, should I, etc, etc, which I'd rather not get into. For this Advanced Keys kit though, if wired up correctly, you'd just hold the remote start button on the fob and the car starts.
Exactly, imo it's almost not worth it to have a remote start in a manual. You'd have to leave your car parked in neutral at all times for it to work. I don't have enough faith in the parking brake for that.
__________________
Performance Mods: CAI intake, BBK 95mm TB, 1-7/8 SP LT Headers, Comp Cam. 466rwhp
TeelsBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 10:33 PM   #29
neetan
 
Drives: IOM M6 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 26
waiting impatiently on the rest of the diy....
neetan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 12:44 AM   #30
Blownfogger540
 
Blownfogger540's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Langley B.C
Posts: 700
next on the list of mods
Blownfogger540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 10:43 AM   #31
TofuDragon
 
TofuDragon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 185
I finally heard back from Advanced Keys on some of the minor inconsistencies I've been having (that I mentioned briefly in the first post), and will be adjusting my wiring in the next few days to hopefully resolve them. I was kind of holding off on posting more on the wiring because I didn't want to tell you all something that was incorrect and potentially dangerous to your Camaro (this is how your car starts, after all). If anyone knows for sure that they'll be all in on doing this mod and the only thing they're waiting for is the wiring, I'd recommend you purchase the items now as it takes a few weeks to ship. You're also free to figure it out via the supplied instructions they give you, especially if you have experience with car wiring. Otherwise, I thank you for your continued patience in waiting for the rest of the DIY!
__________________
Self-installed all mods with help from Camaro5 forums! HUD, Front & Rear View Cameras, VMax Ported Throttle Body, Vararam Intake, VMax Black ICE-olater, Eibach Front Sway Bar, Extended Vinyl Stripes
TofuDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 09:34 PM   #32
TofuDragon
 
TofuDragon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 185
I just spent a good 8 hours on my Saturday trying to resolve the inconsistencies with the wiring; ended up right back where I started. Pretty frustrating. I'm still emailing the support staff at Advanced Keys to resolve it...

The short of it is, somehow I got the wiring so that everything "works" from an operational standpoint ... it just doesn't work exactly like it's supposed to. One issue is that I'm supposed to be able to push-button start from any ignition state, but if I turn on the ACC mode (the equivalent of turning your key one click), it won't crank with the button. So even though I've been driving around with this setup, it still bugs me that something with the wiring is not quite right.

I'm sure you guys would rather have a DIY that shows how to wire it up the right way, so when I am able to work it out with support (hopefully sooner rather than later), I'll get the DIY info up. Until then, if you are doing the install and want help on getting it to the working state I have mine in right now, just contact me.
__________________
Self-installed all mods with help from Camaro5 forums! HUD, Front & Rear View Cameras, VMax Ported Throttle Body, Vararam Intake, VMax Black ICE-olater, Eibach Front Sway Bar, Extended Vinyl Stripes
TofuDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 12:50 PM   #33
Bad@ssCamaro
Rogers' Rocks :-)
 
Bad@ssCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 1SS/1LE
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Western MA
Posts: 5,644
Just a side note on, which may not have any impact, but has to do with the remote start, is that if you have the Evo-all installed, you can remote start the vehicle by hitting the lock button three times. I have the Evo-all installed on my DD (not a Camaro ), but it's an automatic. I'm curious to see if there is a procedure listed in the manual of the Evo-all to ensure the safety of a start of a manual car. Also wondering if there is another tech device that needs to be installed for the manual to work with the Evo-all. Needless to say, Subscribed.
__________________
2015 CRT 1SS/1LE RS/Recaro's/NPP/Nav/Rear vision pkg./BA speaker upgrade.

Bad@ssCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 04:14 PM   #34
VII
 
Drives: Jeep
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Minneapolos, MN
Posts: 2
I can help

Hey Tofudragon.
I created this account specifically to help you guys out.
I install systems professionally and I can help you out with any issues that you are running into 24/7

My number is 619*754*3176
Call or text with any questions what so ever and I'll help you get this and any other electrical project wrapped up!
VII is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.