Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Old 07-12-2014, 06:51 AM   #1
BADBUSA1

Drives: 2012 SS CAMARO
L99 TUNE

I race bikes and I am new to camaro scene. I know the importance of tuning we dyno tune all of our bikes. My camao is a 2012 SS L99. It has BBK cold air, and BBK short headers. I took it to the track with just those 2 modifications and the car went 12.92 @ 108 mph. I then installed a flowmaster american thunder cat back system (3in pipes out thru mufflers )I took the car out last night and it went 13.30 @105. Here is where I am baffled. 4 tenths and 3 mph from bolting on better flowing exh?? After so many modifications do these cars have to be tuned . I cant believe with all the sensors on these cars that it would not see that it is lean, or what ever the case is and add fuel ? Let me know what you guys think from your experience, and also where is a good tuner in the orlando fla area, I dont mind driving for someone that knows what they are doing, and i mean tuning on a dyno, not just slapping a tune in it and saying that will work, i want to see the sheet before and after, just like the dragstrip is always the lie detector.. Thanks for any input.

Thanks Eric.
BADBUSA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 07:32 AM   #2
white ZL1

Drives: none
Sixty foot and weather could easily explain the 4 tenths and 3mph.
From a horsepower perspective, the car might benefit from a tune. But being an L99, a good tune will completely change the way the car drives. But you have to find a good tuner who is willing to work with you.