Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 07-02-2012, 12:14 AM   #1
snaphappy

Drives: 2011 Camaro Convertible SS2/RS LS3
First 0-60 Attempts!

I'm a novice driver. I've been taking it really easy on my SS for the last month as I got to know it. I've never gone above 3500 rpms. So what follows will no doubt bore more experienced drivers

Tonight my wife and I put the top down and drove way out onto some back roads in Mississippi. There was a lot of dust in the air because we haven't had rain in forever.

So I stopped, turned off my TC with one tap and I told my wife "on the forums, they say all I have to do is push the accelerator to 3000 rpms and then let the clutch out just like I would at any other stop sign." She said ok, and she even watched the tach with me, haha, and when I hit 3000 she said go! It was amazing! There was one chirp and we were off like a rocket. I shifted at 5000 to second and again at 5000 to third, I don't know I was around 80 at that point. We were literally cheering and hollering!

So we stopped and I tried again. This time there were two chirps from the tires, or maybe a longer chirp, and it wasn't as fast, it was pretty obvious. The next 7-8 times exact same story, two chirps, not as fast of a takeoff.

So I turned the TC on, hoping to get less spin. Honestly, as a novice, I couldn't tell the difference between TC on or off. I never double tapped it to put into competitive mode.