Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 06-19-2014, 03:15 PM   #1
NJBourne23
Master of Nothings

Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2LT/RS
Lag in pedal pressure and power

So i'm not an expert but when you hit the gas a good amount and you get a small timing delay from the time you gun the pedal to the reaction from the action....is this caused by the fuel pump? Would upgrading the pump help at all? I guess did I explain what I experience correctly? LOL

2010 Chevrolet Camaro 2LT/RS
NJBourne23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 04:18 PM   #2
kjkjr27
COTW 9/16/13

Drives: 2011 2LT/RS Camaro IOM
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJBourne23 View Post
So i'm not an expert but when you hit the gas a good amount and you get a small timing delay from the time you gun the pedal to the reaction from the action....is this caused by the fuel pump? Would upgrading the pump help at all? I guess did I explain what I experience correctly? LOL
Installing a ported throttle body helps eliminate that dead spot and makes the car react much quicker.
Old 06-19-2014, 04:22 PM   #3
GretchenGotGrowl

Drives: 11 F150 EB/13 Sonic RS/15 Z06
Also, turn off traction control and see if it responds differently .
Old 06-19-2014, 08:09 PM   #4
horizon670

Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2LT / RS / Auto
No, it's the way GM programed our Throttle Response. When you push the Gas pedal by a certain percentage, it translates to a signal that goes to the ECU that will send another signal to the Throttle motor and opens it by how much the ECU thinks it should open.

In other words, if the ECU thinks it's safer not to open Full Throttle under some conditions even if you have pushed all the way the Gas Pedal, you wont get 100% Throttle response.