Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 03-08-2019, 07:38 PM   #1
15RS2NV
Ponies are for girls

Drives: 2015 RS LFX Red Hot A6
Higher elevation tuning question

My elevation is about 2500-3000 feet, if I get a tune can they compensate for the thinner air and excessive heat? I'm loosing approximately 10% of my horse power from both of them.

I'm not used to computer controlled cars, so I'm still learning. Old school learning new school
H&R 1.8/1.7” drop, Overkill 80mm + intake ported by AFS, 1" insulator MACE, Accel Super Coils, THR cai, JET MAF sensor, Hurst shifter handle, GPP strut tower brace, CI ice cube tray hood vents (functional) @SemperFiCamaro
15RS2NV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 08:18 PM   #2
CamaroFred

Drives: Miss Con Ception
Between the MAF, the MAP, the IAT, and the O2 sensors everything should run well.
No more changing the jets in the carb or messing with the timing when tripping through the mountains.
I've been from sea level to 5733 feet. It had more effect on me than the Camaro.
Old 03-08-2019, 09:08 PM   #3
DSMer1

Drives: 14 and 15 SS's
But yes, the higher in elevation you go the less power you make, generally.
Old 03-09-2019, 12:27 AM   #4
CamaroFred

Drives: Miss Con Ception
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSMer1 View Post
But yes, the higher in elevation you go the less power you make, generally.
Turbochargers were invented for aircraft so men would have the justification to spend the money.
Old 03-09-2019, 01:26 AM   #5
gringo
Account Suspended

Drives: Camaro V6
No tune is going to compensate for thinner air. Thinner air is thinner air. How do you make it thicker? You force in more air than normal and that only comes with F.I.