Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 09-30-2014, 12:59 PM   #1
Jasper

Drives: 2011 Summit White Camaro SS (LS3)
Gears for quicker launch?

Hi Everyone,
About a month ago I bought a lightly used 2011 SS LS3. I’ve been poking around the forum ever since and this is my first post. So far I have installed a Vararam intake as my only mod. I am also a newbie when it comes to manual trans. I love the car so far but am a bit disappointed in one thing. I find the “off the line” acceleration to be poor until the rpm’s climb to over 3K r.p.m.
In my research it seems that a 3.91 diff gear would help in this regard so I’d like to hear from people with similar mods and understand exactly how the car feels compared to pre-gear change. It’s not cheap so I want to make sure it feels how I want it to. I have a 300hp Grand Prix GXP LS4 as my daily driver and i’ve done an intake, catback exhaust and tune. When i begin to roll in first and stomp on it, I can easily break the front tires loose and I’m pushed back in the seat noticeably harder than the Camaro. The camaro is heavier but has a lot more power. The grand prix falls flat after I get to about 70km/hr and the Camaro would come out on top of course. Is this difference due to gearing, engine differences or manual v.s. auto? If I could pull in first like my Grand Prix I’d be happy. My buddy told me that first gear is similar in both cars but I haven’t spec’d the Grand Prix yet to see.

Thanks for your input
Jasper
Jasper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 06:38 PM   #2
Dimitrim
Dimitri

Drives: 68 GTO 455 Ram Air; 2014 Camaro ZL1