Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Old 09-14-2012, 02:45 PM   #1
DMC1805

Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS RS
Carbon fiber dash & door trim DIY

I posted a write up about this in a different part of the forum and figured it would be better suited here in the DIY section.

Now let me preface this thread by saying that though the carbon fiber materials are relatively cheap, the labor process in applying, coating and generally getting the carbon fiber to look perfect, is very long and tedious. I am going to take you step by step through this process and try to give you as much information as possible to help you with your own project if you decide to tackle it yourself.

I will also tell you that I am not a professional installer of carbon fiber. This is from the perspective of someone who just wants to save some money, but has an eye for detail. I have done work with fiberglass in the past molding a stereo system surround in my old car and some repair work on my motorcycle. I then decided to try carbon fiber about a year ago on another old car of mine and that is it, so not a ton of experience.

Now without any further delay, let me show you what I am doing.

After removal of all the pieces, I started by sanding everything down. One for good adhesion and two to reduce the thickness of the parts since the carbon fiber and resin will add up too a mm of thickness.

Next, since the parts are clear with the silver backing, I sprayed a light coat of black paint on the, just in case the fibers become separated at all and some of the plastic underneath shows through (I am using a 2x2 20 oz weigh fiber which is very dense and it's not likely that anything would show through).

After the light coat of paint, I lightly sanded it again for adhesion purposes.