Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > Site Related Announcements / Suggestions / Feedback / Questions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2017, 07:05 PM   #1
RideZX6R
The STIG's PNW cousin
 
Drives: 17 SS 1LE / 17 FZ10 / 08 Avalanche
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 533
The search is always intermittently failing..

Regardless of using a forum search or advanced search, I enter in parameters and 50-75% of the time get a failure with an error 500 attached to it.

The "vbulletin sucks" excuse is lost on me as I visit many other vbulletin board sites without this issue...

Why has this been allowed to be such a pain point for so long?
__________________
-Seven
'17 Yamaha FZ10
'17 Camaro SS 1LE MBM
RideZX6R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 09:25 AM   #2
DGthe3
Moderator.ca
 
DGthe3's Avatar
 
Drives: 05 Grand Am GT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Niagara, Canada
Posts: 24,159
Send a message via MSN to DGthe3
Getting errors certainly isn't part of the 'v-bull search is crap' thing.

Could you provide examples of the terms/parameters that you're using? It may help admin track down where the problem is coming from.
__________________
Note, if I've gotten any facts wrong in the above, just ignore any points I made with them
__________________
Originally Posted by FbodFather
My sister's dentist's brother's cousin's housekeeper's dog-breeder's nephew sells coffee filters to the company that provides coffee to General Motors......
........and HE WOULD KNOW!!!!
__________________

Camaro Fest sub-forum
DGthe3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 01:10 PM   #3
KenKat
 
KenKat's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2LT RS Summit White
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 83
I find if I use Google Search (second option down) from Search on the top menu, I get much better results than the built in site search.
KenKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 03:53 PM   #4
RideZX6R
The STIG's PNW cousin
 
Drives: 17 SS 1LE / 17 FZ10 / 08 Avalanche
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGthe3 View Post
Getting errors certainly isn't part of the 'v-bull search is crap' thing.

Could you provide examples of the terms/parameters that you're using? It may help admin track down where the problem is coming from.
Sure - Searched the 1le forum regarding it having the ZL1 fuel pump...

From forum search I'll enter the keywords, hit enter, wait a bit and I'm met with this page...


If I go to advanced search, I can select any parameters I want - I still get the same page.

Had the same experience yesterday (hence starting the thread) and intermittently for the last 6 months...
__________________
-Seven
'17 Yamaha FZ10
'17 Camaro SS 1LE MBM
RideZX6R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 04:10 PM   #5
DGthe3
Moderator.ca
 
DGthe3's Avatar
 
Drives: 05 Grand Am GT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Niagara, Canada
Posts: 24,159
Send a message via MSN to DGthe3
Well, I just tried it myself and didn't have any issue when I searched the Camaro6 1LE subforum for 'fuel pump'. I was going to suggest that the problem may be with your browser (I use firefox, not chrome) ... but then I thought to try searching for 'zl1 fuel pump'. Thats when I got a blank screen with the same URL: http://www.camaro6.com/forums/search.php?do=process

I tried different combinations of 'ZL1', 'fuel', and 'pump' as well as a few other terms in place of 'zl1', like '1LE' and '1SS'. The search behaved normally whenever I did NOT include 'ZL1'; it was fine with everything else I've tried.

So it looks like somehow, including the term 'ZL1' breaks the site's search function. And I have now reached the limit of my usefulness, I simply don't know enough (or have access to) the inner workings of the site's code to do any more than diagnose where the problem is. Now its up to Tran and/or MarkLS2.

I guess for the time being, either use google to do a site search or figure out a way to ask about the ZL1 fuel pump without actually using 'ZL1' as a search term.
__________________
Note, if I've gotten any facts wrong in the above, just ignore any points I made with them
__________________
Originally Posted by FbodFather
My sister's dentist's brother's cousin's housekeeper's dog-breeder's nephew sells coffee filters to the company that provides coffee to General Motors......
........and HE WOULD KNOW!!!!
__________________

Camaro Fest sub-forum
DGthe3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 04:13 PM   #6
mlee
www.CamaroFest7.com
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 A10 ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 31,126
I use Chrome 100% of the time and never get search errors.

Most of the time I'm searching titles only. Seems like it's a time out thing.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 07:03 PM   #7
h422694
 
h422694's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Z06 3LZ, 2014 Tacoma
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideZX6R View Post
Regardless of using a forum search or advanced search, I enter in parameters and 50-75% of the time get a failure with an error 500 attached to it.
500 errors are generally server side errors. There are several possible causes including memory shortages & corrupt files.
It's doubtful that any thing you can do on your PC will resolve the issue but you can try:

1 - Shutdown you browser
2 - Delete you cookies
3 - Restart you browser
h422694 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 07:46 PM   #8
jrhagen


 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2,438
I got stuck on "always intermittently". Which is it, always or intermittently?
__________________
I'm not a whiny little bitch.
jrhagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:19 PM   #9
ride98red
 
ride98red's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 Chevy Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NOVA
Posts: 159
for the love of all that is good PLEASE INVESTIGATE AND FIX THIS ISSUE!!!! Every time I try to search for posts or threads with "ZL1" or "1LE" I get that freakin 500 error!!! so annoying!
ride98red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:26 PM   #10
SSEssence
Instagram: Sangstah
 
SSEssence's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1SS RS SIM
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Buena Park, CA.
Posts: 749
I just go straight to google and search issue wanted + camaro5 at the end every time. Works like a charm!
__________________
2014 SS - L99 1SS/RS SIM - "AleSSandra"
K&N Blackhawk CAI / JBA Ceramic Shortys / JBA HFC / BDG O2 Sims / Muffler & Resonator Delete w/ Magnaflow Tru X Pipe / Taylor 409 Wires / Vitesse Extended Paddles / KMC KM775 (275/305) / BMR 1.25" Springs / BMR Strut Brace / Carbon Creations Circuit Hood/ Z28 Spoiler / ZL1Addons Stealth Wicker Bill & Rockguards / Ikon Lip / SCT Tuned by DynoSteve
SSEssence is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.