Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Specific Packages / Variants > 6th gen Camaro 1LE

Bigwormgraphix

Old 12-15-2021, 11:20 PM   #1
2004YZFR1

Drives: 2020 Chevrolet Camaro Coupe 2SS 1LE
Goodyear Eagle F1 Super car 3 use on a cold track.

Ok track rats I've been trying to find threads on using these tires for a track day with a day time temp of probably a low of around 40 and a high of around 50.

I couldn't find anything about track use in these temps. I have my first track day on January 2nd here in Vegas. And it won't be getting warm here. I know the tires will warm up with use but I'm not sure how long or how many laps it will take or if they will actually be able to get up to a warm reading.

Im a car track newbie so I'm sure it will take me a few sessions to get up to some decent laps. I will set the tire pressure to 28 as per the performance supplement.

If any of you have used these tires in these temps I would appreciate your input.

Thanks!
2004YZFR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2021, 05:46 AM   #2
5.M0NSTER

Drives: 2018 Camaro 1SS 1LE
I'd start at higher pressure, perhaps 30-32PSI as they won't increase as much at lower temps. I would say depending on track, it will take 2-3 laps more to come up to temp than usual. At least 6-8 min of "hard" driving.

Be careful though, because these (and many other Extreme Performance tires) have little grip in the cold compared to warm grip. So you will slide around a lot more in the first few laps than towards the end of the session. But when they come up to temp they will bike hard, regardless of ambient temp.

EDIT: I just noticed you're talking about 50F. My notes apply more to temps in the 30s and 40s. 28psi cold will be a good starting point.

Last edited by 5.M0NSTER; 12-16-2021 at 10:23 AM.
5.M0NSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2021, 06:37 AM   #3
cdb95z28

Drives: 2022 1SS 1LE A10 BCD WCT+PDR