Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Old 04-21-2010, 12:56 AM   #1
Buhmblbe
Growing Up=Optional

Drives: 2010 Camaro Transformers 2LT RS
Lightbulb Key Fob Mod LED - My First Mod...

So I'm up late and thought "what can I do with the kids' toys that they don't play with anymore and my conclusion...attempt a mod for my key fob and not totally break the thing in the process. Bear in mind I have little to NO experience with electronics or doing mods so be gentle on the comments. That said...here's what i did...I decided to add an LED light to the keyfob for night time use. Why you ask...why not, it seemed cool to me.

Step 1: I removed a small red LED from a dragon's mouth from my son's unused toy...I used red because it doesn't damage night vision.

Step2: Carefully drill holes in the key fob to thread the wires from the LED from the top of the key fob into the battery compartment...therefore you need to drill two holes...one on the outside top corner and one on the inside within the battery compartment.

Step 3: Thread the wires through the holes you made

Step 4: Route the negative wire around the top of the battery compartment and then into the battery compartment. You'll need to snip some plastic away to get the wire through and into the battery compartment itself...see the pictures(sorry for the blurriness). Secure the wire at the snipped pass through with some Krazy glue so it doesn't move out of place.