Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Jason 98 TA
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2011, 10:14 AM   #939
Darth_Emma
Psssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhh!
 
Darth_Emma's Avatar
 
Drives: under contruction
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marysville, Ohio
Posts: 13,153
After reading those threads it seems that the tune could very well be the issue. I think you are headed in the right direction (toward the tuner!).
Darth_Emma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 10:18 AM   #940
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,778
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ


But I'd sure like to hear a tuner here say that. lol





I forgot Brandon called me back and left a message the other day. Damn.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 11:00 AM   #941
GSUNCSU
Watch This!
 
GSUNCSU's Avatar
 
Drives: Super Charged 1SS/RS, M6, CGM
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 777
A tune with your mods, is not doubt a good thing...

But I still am leaning to something, not plugged (pulled loose) or crossed, I took my gas, anti-freeze, blood-stained, and greasy instructions back out to the car last night and went through it again. More plugs, connections, and wires than I initially remembered on the packs and wiring harnesses, several opportunities to pull something loose (which I did on the AC pressure sending unit). But anyway, you'll be getting a great tune and hey, mine fired up fine and I'm having it tuned next week, so no big deal, just frustrating. Good luck, hopefully the tuner will find your trouble shooting boring and get to making torq and HP for you in a hurry.
__________________
K&N CAI, Wet Okole Seat Covers, MagnaFlow Street Perf. Ex. (Axle Back), MPD Hood, Gary's Customz ZL1 Fascia/Vented Fenders/Custom Stripes/Paint, AAC Afterburners/Fog Light Halos/Side Markers/Misc LEDs, Bee-Otch Air Freshener, Hurst Shifter and Line-Loc(APEX), RPI Splash Guards, MagnaCharger (Texas-Speed)(Installed by ME), Rx Catch Can and Breather, Billet Pulleys (SC2150), ARH Headers, LPE Twin Fuel Pump, Custom Blower Cam, Custom Tune TBArwhp, TBArwtorq, Boost Gauge and Single Pod (MTI)
GSUNCSU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 11:20 AM   #942
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,778
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSUNCSU View Post
A tune with your mods, is not doubt a good thing...

But I still am leaning to something, not plugged (pulled loose) or crossed, I took my gas, anti-freeze, blood-stained, and greasy instructions back out to the car last night and went through it again. More plugs, connections, and wires than I initially remembered on the packs and wiring harnesses, several opportunities to pull something loose (which I did on the AC pressure sending unit). But anyway, you'll be getting a great tune and hey, mine fired up fine and I'm having it tuned next week, so no big deal, just frustrating. Good luck, hopefully the tuner will find your trouble shooting boring and get to making torq and HP for you in a hurry.
I'm hoping he just reads his instruments and tells me it's all tune.

But, ya, I've gone through that book 10 times by now. I gaurantee you I could install one of these things with no book at this point. lol

Oh, I'd look at the book to make sure, but I pretty much have looked at every part over and over again.

The wiring harnesses up and around the coil packs are so tight, I'd hate to think something came loose iside one of them. I'd never find it. Slim chance though. Espec. with all That's going on.

I've had a Traction Control light stay on, I've had all of them on once, I've had the CEL not come on, I've had the trouble codes, and the car running poorly. Gotta be a connection.

I hope I didn't fry my ECU somehow. I had to interupt a transfer once. If it were bad I'd assume it would not transfer now but ya never know.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 11:35 AM   #943
GSUNCSU
Watch This!
 
GSUNCSU's Avatar
 
Drives: Super Charged 1SS/RS, M6, CGM
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 777
I know you've become one with this install and I hope it is the tune and/or something we all go, oh yea. Either way sometime this weekend, it'll all be over with. WifeSS said something about seeing Pat Benatar and/or the Doobie Brothers at the HardRock in Biloxi in MAR (and of course make our semi-annual/quarterly donation), last time down (on the Harley) they were having the Cruise the Coast event down there (there were some very nice cars, and I got fleeced by the Hard Rock Casino, but the Isle did me pretty good), y'all live in pretty interesting part of the world, definitely always something to do. Anyway good luck!
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I'm hoping he just reads his instruments and tells me it's all tune.

But, ya, I've gone through that book 10 times by now. I gaurantee you I could install one of these things with no book at this point. lol

Oh, I'd look at the book to make sure, but I pretty much have looked at every part over and over again.

The wiring harnesses up and around the coil packs are so tight, I'd hate to think something came loose iside one of them. I'd never find it. Slim chance though. Espec. with all That's going on.

I've had a Traction Control light stay on, I've had all of them on once, I've had the CEL not come on, I've had the trouble codes, and the car running poorly. Gotta be a connection.

I hope I didn't fry my ECU somehow. I had to interupt a transfer once. If it were bad I'd assume it would not transfer now but ya never know.
__________________
K&N CAI, Wet Okole Seat Covers, MagnaFlow Street Perf. Ex. (Axle Back), MPD Hood, Gary's Customz ZL1 Fascia/Vented Fenders/Custom Stripes/Paint, AAC Afterburners/Fog Light Halos/Side Markers/Misc LEDs, Bee-Otch Air Freshener, Hurst Shifter and Line-Loc(APEX), RPI Splash Guards, MagnaCharger (Texas-Speed)(Installed by ME), Rx Catch Can and Breather, Billet Pulleys (SC2150), ARH Headers, LPE Twin Fuel Pump, Custom Blower Cam, Custom Tune TBArwhp, TBArwtorq, Boost Gauge and Single Pod (MTI)
GSUNCSU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 11:43 AM   #944
Camaro21


 
Drives: SOLD - 2013 M6 ZL1
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,043
Randy,

Here is something that I found on the AC Delco TechConnect website.

http://service.gm.com/gmspo/mode6/pd...iagnostics.pdf

Just do a search in the .pdf document for the P0650 code.. On Page 26.

Hope this helps..

Keith
Camaro21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 12:26 PM   #945
Russell James


 
Russell James's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaros
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toes in the water, ass in the sand
Posts: 4,096
I found this blurb below when I googled - ECM reprogramming interrupted. It was an article pertaining to the Pickups E86 ECM. I'm not sure which ECM the Camaro has, but a reprogramming interruption can mess up the ECM. Depending on when the interruption occured.

TIP: During programming, the download to the ECM should not be interrupted for the first 10% to 15% of the information transfer, or the ECM may not be recoverable for service.
Russell James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 12:26 PM   #946
GTAHVIT
Blessed
 
GTAHVIT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Sonic RS MT
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saint Augustine FL
Posts: 28,511
Got the ZR1 map sensor.

GTAHVIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 12:49 PM   #947
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 10,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
... As long as you stay stock other that the SCer. lol
i'm starting to think i might just do that for the time being. then save up for headers, cam, etc & then dyno tune it.
i've got an LG intake, but it ain't as big an increase as the fastlane

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTAHVIT View Post
Got the ZR1 map sensor.

that's a 3bar sensor, right? are y'all really planning on making more than 30lb of boost to max out a 2bar? what exactly's the advantage of the new one?

(assuming that's how they work...)
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 12:51 PM   #948
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,778
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Name:  New Picture.jpg
Views: 290
Size:  47.4 KB
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 12:54 PM   #949
GTAHVIT
Blessed
 
GTAHVIT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Sonic RS MT
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saint Augustine FL
Posts: 28,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra View Post
i'm starting to think i might just do that for the time being. then save up for headers, cam, etc & then dyno tune it.
i've got an LG intake, but it ain't as big an increase as the fastlane



that's a 3bar sensor, right? are y'all really planning on making more than 30lb of boost to max out a 2bar? what exactly's the advantage of the new one?

(assuming that's how they work...)
I think technically it's a 2.5 bar..

But the reason they use it is to get a better read on the tune. When the tuner is dialing in the tune he can get a true boost reading that is much better for getting the tune just right vice trying to read an anolog boost guage...

That's my understanding anyway...
GTAHVIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 12:56 PM   #950
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,778
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell James View Post
I found this blurb below when I googled - ECM reprogramming interrupted. It was an article pertaining to the Pickups E86 ECM. I'm not sure which ECM the Camaro has, but a reprogramming interruption can mess up the ECM. Depending on when the interruption occured.

TIP: During programming, the download to the ECM should not be interrupted for the first 10% to 15% of the information transfer, or the ECM may not be recoverable for service.
It was interupted over half way through. I was oblivious to the fuel pump pressurizing during the uplaod and at one point fuel was gushing. lol, I had no choice, it was coming out like a cannon. lol

I called SCT and explained it to them and he told me it was certianly fine. He said if it weren't I'd know it because it would give me an error.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra View Post
that's a 3bar sensor, right? are y'all really planning on making more than 30lb of boost to max out a 2bar? what exactly's the advantage of the new one?

(assuming that's how they work...)
HELL YA............. 30 pounds....... I'll be flying then.........

I"m not sure how it really works, Chris can explain.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 01:02 PM   #951
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 10,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTAHVIT View Post
I think technically it's a 2.5 bar..

But the reason they use it is to get a better read on the tune. When the tuner is dialing in the tune he can get a true boost reading that is much better for getting the tune just right vice trying to read an anolog boost guage...

That's my understanding anyway...
oh, so it's basically a digital on-board boost gauge for the ECM?
and the stock one ain't configured to accurately read boost, right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
...HELL YA............. 30 pounds....... I'll be flying then.........

I"m not sure how it really works, Chris can explain.
more like engine parts flying through the hood!

and he did explain... while you were telling me that he would...
y'all must really be married or something - to always be on the same brainwave like y'all are
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 01:06 PM   #952
GTAHVIT
Blessed
 
GTAHVIT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Sonic RS MT
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saint Augustine FL
Posts: 28,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra View Post
oh, so it's basically a digital on-board boost gauge for the ECM?
and the stock one ain't configured to accurately read boost, right?


That is how I understand it yes... I'm sure Doc will explain it to us on Sat.

GTAHVIT is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to get engine cover modified after a Maggie install? 1meanss Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 5 03-05-2011 10:00 PM
Another Maggie install .... Luvpilot Forced Induction - V8 9 06-20-2010 10:00 PM
maggie install, hose routing suggestions please n2oSS Forced Induction - V8 6 05-31-2010 04:59 PM
DIY : Install catback on 2010 Camaro SS Nine Ball Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 3 08-09-2009 05:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.